Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Very nice B&B! I enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, IA

Cute bed and breakfast, great for a romantic stay

Posted Jun 28, 2016
My wife and I stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening dessert, breakfast, and the facilities. Our room, Harriet Squiers' room, exceeded our expectations. Very impressed. If you're looking for something with character and charm, this is your place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Very nice place

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: nothing
This was an excellent choice to stay!!! Very clean, friendly staff, extremely nice rooms and great food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel-Charming, Friendly, Historic

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: I liked warmth and history.
Cons: Nothing
Overwhelming visual experience of the preservation and display of this time appropriate historic B&B. Cathy and Verl are the outstanding hostess and host. Friendly conversation about thing to do around the area and historic information about the hotel filled the dinning area while you ate a delicious desert of breakfast. Rooms are clean and full of history. I have all ready recommend it to my friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Wonderful b & b. Best in eastern Iowa! Only place to stay in Maquoketa. Also incredible breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

It was like stepping back in time

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Pros: It was clean, welcoming, and felt like we were stepping back in time.
Location: There was anything to do and nothing was open on the holiday. It was exactly what we needed.
We loved quiet Maquoketa. Reminded us a bit of "Pleasantville". Our hosts were welcoming and went above and beyond when I left a keepsake behind to return it to me. It was a great little get away!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful place to stay

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: We always feel very welcome there. A great place to stay.
Location: The Maquoketa Caves are close by. There is an art studio nearby as well as antique shops. The rolling hills and farm fields make it a real nice dri
If you want a warm homey place to stay that is very classy, this is the place for you. Kathy is a wonderful meal planner. Her meals are very diversified and and show great imagination. The home is full of antiques. There is always a new discovery in a nook or cranny. Everything is clean and effficiently run. Evening deserts are absolutely fabulous and always different with 3 or more choices. We have stayed there 3 times and look forward to returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Very comfortable and clean rooms each with individual character. The hosts were very welcoming and the food excellent. Will definitely recommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermillion sd

Memorable, best overnight stay for the money

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: The building, on the national registry of historical places, is well cared for and tended. Accommodations are comfortable, staff cordial & helpful.
Very pleasantly surprised by the sumptuous appointments of our room, the welcoming atmosphere and the historicity of the building and the surrounding area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful home.

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Cons: Different coffee choices for breakfast.
If you like old houses with beautiful woodwork, you'll love this place. Comfortable bed.