Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Overall, a nice place to spend a night

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: McDonalds, some gas stations. Not sure what else as I really did not explore here much.
I stayed here for only one night and I used my Expedia points to cover the majority of the cost (which really was on par with other hotels of this star rating). It is close to a few fast food places and gas stations, which is very convenient. The owners (they looked like a husband-wife team) were quiet for the most part but seemed polite and were quick to give us our keys and such. They did not really give any other information but I suppose they do not need to. There is not much to do in this town. The room was nice and appeared to be clean. Not a lot of channels on their TV but it was there with 2 beds, a side table with reading lights, a little desk and some drawer chests. They had a few towels on a rack which was unique for me. The sink was not in the bathroom, nor was a trash can but that is trivial. WiFi is free and seemed to work just fine. Breakfast starts at 6 am which was nice. They had the usual continental style breakfast, waffles and waffle maker, muffins, cinnamon rolls, toast, two different cereals, bananas, yo plait yogurt, orange juice, apple juice, coffee and tea. There did not appear to be many people at the hotel, there were not very many cars in the parking lot and I did not see many people wandering around, but I cannot complain about that. As far as I was concerned, that meant parking was easy and little excessive noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St.Louis, MO

room was extra clean. have been here many times

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: better breakfast.
Location: I did a Doll show in Maquoketa, but I gladly drive the extra 20 miles to De Witt.
excellent service. close to hi way. everything is clean inside /out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2016 by Peter, Hotel Management
Dear sir, Thank you for taking the time to report the survey of your stay with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from V

Only hotel in town

Posted Feb 7, 2016
I chose this hotel because it was the only hotel in town, making it the closest hotel to my contract site. The "continental breakfast" was a joke, the bed was one of the worst beds I've ever tried to sleep in, the hotel staff seemed annoyed when I checked in and when I checked out, and the TV channels didn't match up to the guide in the room at all. I should have stayed 15 miles away in the next, larger city.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The room was clean anyway.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
I was in a room where you could not open the door with the card access unless you could master a series of lift of hard on the handle, jam it down hard, and then repeat. Nor does the deadbolt work. Could use a little maintenance here. Bathroom ceiling was water stained. However, if you like a very, very firm bed, this is the motel for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago,IL

Convenient right off the highway

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: The room was very clean, we had a non smoking room and though there were smoking rooms nearby, we did not smell smoke at all in the halls or our room.
Cons: The front desk says NO PETS on a big sign. However there were several dogs there, which barked and roamed the halls without a leash. stricter policy?
Location: There wasnt much to do in DeWitt, but about 20 minutes away in Maquoketa there was a beautiful caves park, canoeing, Clinton and Davenport also near.
Initially the woman who was at the front desk when we arrived was not pleasant and stared at us and didnt seem to want to help. We tried for an early check in but were not able to, so we came back a few hours later and the man who checked us in (the owner I presume) was helpful, and nice, fast. The hotel and the room were very clean, and the free breakfast was acceptable (waffles, cinnamon rolls, cereal, oatmeal, coffee juice).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Poor experience
Cons: Proper care an maintaining the condition of the rooms. The room I was in had a bed removed with exposed patched areas in the wall, unpainted.
Location: Awakened at 11 with a train passing.
Room is in poor condition, with patched walls and no paint. The bed was in horrible shape and very uncomfortable. I definitely will NOT stay at this Super 8 again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2015 by Peter, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to report the survey of your stay with us. We are sorry for your experience was anthing less then satisfying. We hoping to serve you better in future. Thank you again. Gen. Mgr.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My son's wedding day

Posted Oct 30, 2014
I booked two rooms through expedia at this hotel for out of town family for my sons wedding. when they arrived they said they did not have the reservations. they said they were cancelled. I contacted expedia. Expedia still had the reservations confirmed. We tried on several occasions (myself and expedia) to contact the manager about this. He was unavailable. When he was he stated that my guest had already booked another room.. and that my reservations had been cancelled. I was forced to spend an hour on the phone with expedia trying to work with the hotel to resolve on my son's wedding day. In the end I had to visit the hotel in person to try to straighten out. Adding a lot of unnecessary stress to one of the most important days of my life. Last year we booked at the Quality Inn in Eldridge for a family wedding and it was perfect. Nicer accomodations and friendly staff. If you have a choice drive another 10 miles to Edridge and stay at the Quality Inn.. I will never booked the DeWitt hotel again - which is sad since I live in DeWitt and would like to support local business. The manager was unprofessional and unresponsive to the problem. Expedia credited their charges and I paid full price for my two out of town guests rooms because their was no other vacancies available for that night at the time. I have used expedia many times with no problems.. I believe this was the fault of the Super 8 Hotel in DeWitt.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2015 by Peter, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We do apologize for you suffer the inconvenience becouse of our new hired employee. But we asssure you will get excellent service in future. So please forgive us for your suffer.Thank you for your cooperation. Gen. Mgr.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor staff

Posted Oct 7, 2013
When I checked in I couldn't understand the man and he was not pleasant. Very poor breakfast and the old lady working the desk asked what my room number was...like I was stealing food...very rude!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2014 by Peter, Hotel Management
Dear sirs, We do appologize for your inconvience But it was a great stayed right, isn"t it. We will make better than it. Thank you for your time for survey. Gen. Mgr.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cortez from Kansas City, Kansas

Great hotel

Posted May 7, 2013
Pros: I was very impress how kind the staff were and the room was perfect.
Cons: Military Discount would help. I am a retiree
Location: Not to much to see nearby our location.
Great hotel and the room was excellent. The atmosphere was very relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kris from St. Louis, MO, USA

very good

Posted Mar 16, 2013
hotel clean, room smells good,finally a good TV,parkinglot clean