Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in centre of town

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Warm welcome when we arrived. The room was large, cool and comfortable on a very hot day with all the facilities we needed. The staff were friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfast was excellent and although we only stayed one night we would certainly stay again if the opportunity arose
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Recommended hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2016
The staff was very kind. We were able to stay comfortably. There is the location in the very convenient place within the range of the station, the supermarket, foot including the sightseeing spot, too. Breakfast was delicious by a hot meal, too. We are going to stay at this hotel next time also.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

One night stay

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Central, friendly,easy parking, comfortable, good breakfast .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Looking forward to visiting again!

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: The warm welcome and the staff, the comfortable hotel, room and facilities, the location.
Location: The hotel is perfectly central to the township and all the shops.
I can't praise the staff and this lovely hotel enough. Our stay here was so very comfortable and enjoyable. The location is perfectly central to the township. The room was clean, comfortable and very spacious. The restaurant had a lovely ambiance and comforting English meals. The staff were exceptional and they couldn't be more helpful or welcoming. I look forward to visiting this part of England again and will definitely be staying here again!
4 out of 5
by Jeremy from Wigan

Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed over for a wedding nearby. Staff very friendly and put on a good breakfast. Very old building but rooms have been refurbished.
3 out of 5
by Lindsey from Mossley

Posted Mar 5, 2016 on Hotels
The full English breakfast was lovely. Staff were friendly, approachable and helpful. The room was comfortable and the decoration was pleasant however the furniture didn't seem to match the modern design and layout that didn't affect our stay as there was more than enough storage.
3 out of 5
by Susan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Paul from Bolton

Drugs found in room

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
On arrival in our room, we discovered a wrap of white powder. I took it to reception & asked to speak with the manager. I was told that the manager was busy cooking in the kitchen. During our one night stay, there was no acknowledgement or contact made to us by the manager. On checking out, I pointed out to reception the implications had a small child found the wrap. Again, the manager didn't attempt to make any contact with us. In fact, I don't know if the manager is male or female? Had I received an apology from the manager, I wouldn't have written this review!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly and very helpful staff.

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Pros: Clean and tidy room. Great location.
Location: Great castle
Only stayed one night but was very enjoyable, clean and friendly environment. Breakfast was amazing! Would stay there again when in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Convenient for what we wanted.

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: Very convenient. Helpful friendly staff. Excellent breakfast - 3 egg omlette
Cons: Quality of the bed and all that goes with it
Just booked for the bedroom really. Disappointed re quality of the bed / bed covers / mattress.