Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Superb country hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Delicious food and very comfortable bed
Cons: Nothing
Country hotel set in beautiful grounds, but modern and comfortable inside, friendly helpful staff and delicious food made for a relaxing short break. This was made even more special by a large delightful room and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chester le Street, UK

A lovely hotel set in beautiful grounds

Posted Sep 4, 2016
The main building at Stirk House Hotel was stunning inside and out. The gardens were well maintained. We stayed in the side building, attempts had been made to update the accommodation with a lovely clean modern bathroom, however the decor in the main room was in need of freshing up. On arrival the room was quite hot, a massive window overlooking the beautiful countryside only had 2 small windows that opened, I would imagine it being uncomfortably stuffy if the weather had been any hotter. We had room service, the food was presented well and it tasted amazing. Breakfast was also of a high standard in a lovely decorated dining area and the service was friendly and professional. Managed to use the leisure facilities before we left, the swimming pool is in need of a re-grouting, the steam room and sauna were relaxing and well maintained. The showers were ok however the water pressure fluctuated and some needed cleaning as there was hair on the floor and talc in the changing room. Even with these slight snags we left refreshed and with smiles on our faces.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic House now Cosy Hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Comfort, food & certious staff
This Historic house converted into a cosy hotel is beautifully presented & sits in a garden setting with rooms overlooking fields and walks abound.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Doncaster

Good Quite base.

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Good hotel.
Cons: Requires more attention to detail.
Location: Good quite base for exploring the yorkshire dales etc.
Good quite base for exploring the yorkshire dales etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bolton

Gorgeous Location and Building but let down

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Clean and spacious room
Cons: The customer service in the restaurant particularly at breakfast (more staff needed)
Location: Gorgeous scenic location, perfect for walks and a nice relaxed time
The hotel is set within a gorgeous stone building full of charm and character and the setting is perfect out on the edge of the moors so if you want to get away from the city then this is a perfect relaxing location. The room was well presented spotlessly clean with good views over the hills and everything you would expect was available. The only let down was the service we received from the hotel restaurant, while the food was very good in its quality the service did not match. We went for an afternoon tea and were left waiting for over 20 minutes before or order was finally taken, we were then left waiting another 30mins before the food arrived, when it did it was excellent but the wait was a big let down. The following morning at breakfast which was included in our package was again a complete let down, we entered the restaurant for breakfast but there were no staff to greet us so we found our own table and sat down some 15mins later we had to search out a member of staff to order coffee and breakfast, when the the food was served it seemed to have been rushed so was not of the quality we were expecting and one of our orders was forgotten completely. Overall its a good hotel that was let down by the restaurant service, (maybe we caught them on an off day) for this reason we would be in no rush to go back
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Hotels
all was very very good will go back
5 out of 5
by David from Scarborough

Gem of a hotel in the countryside

Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel in picturesque surroundings. Friendly staff, great leisure facilities and amazing food. Treat yourself to a stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincs

Great location - with Pendle Hill in view

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: Location; friendly staff; great breakfast
Cons: Central heating in the rooms at the far end of the house itself.
Location: Brilliant location for visits to Pendle Hill, the Forest of Bowland, and also not far from the Yorkshire Dales, Lake District and Morecambe Bay.
This was our first visit to Stirk House, which is located in a great position for visits to Pendle Hill and the Forest of Bowland, but also not far from the Yorkshire Dales, or the Lake District. Friendly welcome from very helpful staff, who sought out a little heater for us, as the weather had suddenly turned chilly and the CH wasn't on in our room, which was in the main building. Wonderful selection on the menu for breakfast. Would definitely recommend!
5 out of 5
by Chek Lan

Good

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel amenities eg, gym, sauna, steam room
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels