Ratings based on 1,852 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Friendly employees
Cons: A lot shpold be improved
Location: A lot of restraints around
First room was not clean, had food on floor, tv smeared up, couch bed frame was broke and there were bugs in the couch bed, supposed to be on smoking, room smelled badly of smoke, and had burns in carpet. Second room was clean. Went to pool and hot tub was broke and water was cold. Wanted to swim a little bit Sunday before leaving but pool was also closed for repair and was being drained.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
I requested a handicap accessible room due to being an amputee. I was given a room on the 2nd where there are stairs to get up to the room. Its not easy taking a wheel chair up stairs!!! They did find me a different room on the 1st floor. I did call in advance and tell them of my disability that even if I didn"t get a handicap room to at least put me on the first floor. Not sure why you would have handicap rooms upstairs in a hotel with no elevators!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Ulm MN

Posted Aug 15, 2017
The cleaning service lady had a cigarette in her hand as she was on the job. This was supposed to be a non smoking room, however the sheets smelled like smoke thanks to the cleaning lady smoking on the job. Liked the overall space of the room nice and big to accommodate my family. Lots of ants in the bathroom and counter tops. Dishwasher rack was broken. Not enough kitchen ware in the room, we had to go buy paper plates and plastic to feed all five of us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Walked in and checked out in 5 minutes. Probably the most run down ghetto hotel I've ever been to.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mt Pleasant, IA

New Managemant?

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Good location
Cons: Upkeep, paint and clean.
We stayed here a year ago and loved it. A little dated,but clean and well cared for. When we pulled in this stay. I walked in at around noon. There was a gentleman at the front desk on the computer. Since he was the only person in view I told him I would like to check in. He looke up and said "They just let me use the computer" I said Oh sorry I thought since you were at the only one at the checkin desk at the checkin computer that maybe it was you lol. At that time I noticed the fresh baked cookies that used to be there at check in were absent and the coffee had been out at one time, but was an empty circle amongst the sugar packets. Turns out the manager was talking to another person in th dining room. When she was done she asked if she could help. I said I would like to check in and she said checkin was not until 3, but for $20 she could have a room ready in an hour. I declined, but asked if she could call when a room was available. She took my number. I mentioned I had some flowers that were delivered that morning for my wife. She said they had come and they would put them in the room. I noticed on th e way out weeds growing and the need for new mulch. It had always looked nice before. I thought no big deal. I received no call and checked in at 3. Our room was vacumed and the bed was made. That was the extent. Floor was sticky in kitchen, something spilled on counter and there was something white all over the top and side of the footstool. Bathroom was not cleaned.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax, NS

Posted Aug 5, 2017
It was a great deal for the price. We would definitely stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from council bluffs IA

Posted Aug 5, 2017
1st room hadn't been cleaned. Major confusion at front desk after we were moved to a different room. Just crummy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Suited our needs

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Courteous staff, efficiency kitchen was nice
Cons: Efficiency kitchen could have had 4 place settings of silverware, cups, glasses
Location: Conveniently located to a multitude of restaurants in walking distance.
Sterling suited our needs. I believe the Sterling Hotel was VERY short staffed. The staff were very cheerful and helpful, but you could tell they were stresssed. Housekeeping staff needs to be trained alot better. I had to go get the sheets at 1a.m. from the office and put the sheets on our pullout couch myself, housekeeping did not come 2 X, pool was closed on a Monday due to having to have maintenance, stairways and handrails outside were sound, but needed to be painted. Grounds were maintained well. The extended continental breakfast was very good. Dining area was very clean. The room seemed like it could use updating, but was acceptable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delhi Ontario

Nice and close to downtown easy access

Posted Aug 1, 2017
We had a great time. The place was better then I expected, lots of room, clean & friendly staff. We attended an international convention for Life Leadership we were helping so many people get out of debt, pay less taxes and make more money. Truly making a difference in so many lives all around the globe. www.mainhomepage.com/61238485
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

So many mixed feelings.....

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Great access to get anywhere with a bunch of places close by and within walking distance.
Cons: Definately use an update outside to inside. Carpets were well stained, decks were nice but dirty and full of wolf spider webs,
Location: food place, tourist attractions, etc, etc, historic towns with neat businesses, great parks and walking areas,,,
Ok - Check in was awesome, super friendly staff.. Pool and Sauna very clean, though getting into the sauna was difficult, saw alot of people because there was no step down into it, mis judge by not realizing the bench you sit on was the step and set down a bit further, fall into awkwardly, other than that, super nice.... ONLY because of the kitchen, especially pans, dishes, silverware, totally kewl, the bed and pillows, super comfortable,,,, Again, pretty awesome presence of police driving through during evening hours, and a few times saw foot patrol monitoring parking areas quite frequently...