Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unexpected pleasure!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Location: Great value for hotel close to the Rock of Cashel. (15 minutes) Didn't spend much time in Clonmel; probably missed out on interesting opportunities.
Very nice accommodations, blending old with the new. Staff extremely pleasant & helpful. The buffet breakfast had lots of options, including gluten-free.
5 out of 5
by Chris from Reading

Great Leisure Centre

Posted Nov 7, 2013 on Hotels
Good location, close to Clonmel centre which has very good restaurants (try Befannis), a bit more expensive but worth it if you use the pool, sauna and gym.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barb from New Jersey

Lovely hotel with a very helpful staff.

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Pros: Staff could not have been more professional and helpful.
We loved our stay at Hotel Minella. It is in a lovely setting, has a very helpful, welcoming staff, rooms are large and homey. Would have loved to have stayed even longer.
4 out of 5
by Rick Edger

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels
It was very good. We extended an additional day.
5 out of 5
by Mike from Gloucester

Great Hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2013 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay due to the excellent service, great family room, good leisure facilities and friendly atmosphere.
3 out of 5
by Conor from Dublin

Expensive for its location

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: The staff were helpful and friendly. The family pet dog had a lovely temperament and was very popular with children. Breakfast was good.
Cons: The dining room beside the bar needs to be made more comfortable for bar food. We thought it was expensive and we had high expectations at that price
Location: On the outskirts of Clonmel (10 mins walk). Lovely countryside but you'd need a car.
This hotel is popular with the locals for Weddings, funerals, christenings and birthday parties or at least seemed to be when we visited. We struggled to find parking when we arrived on a Saturday evening. For this reason it's not perfect for getaways or relaxing breaks. We tried both bar food and the restaurant. The room off the bar where we ate was uncomfortable. Hard to understand why but it just didn't seem to fit. The restaurant was nicely fitted out but very quiet on the Sunday night. Both the bar food and the restaurant food were nice but unspectacular. The leisure centre was nice although the shower area could do with refurbishing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shelagh from London

Peace and quiet

Posted Aug 20, 2013
Pros: The peace and quiet. Made to feel you are the most important person in the world!
Cons: Perhaps have the breakfast room upstairs to enjoy the garden views?
Location: Ten minutes from Clonmel or you can visit various historic sites or drive many scenic routes such as the vee valley
Beautiful hotel, ten minutes walk from town but off the beaten track away from it all. Everything excellent and staff cannot do enough for you. The gardens are stunning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Robert from Germany

Hidden gem!

Posted Jul 26, 2013
Pros: Service, food, appearance, solitude.
Cons: Not too much! Great stay.
Location: The castle in Cahir is a MUST see. Next to King John's castle in Limerick, this is the best we've seen. Blarney has the stone, Cahir has history!
Off the beaten path perched above the River Suir, the Hotel Minella promises a very accommodating, restful stay. Beautiful grounds and old world styling meet you as you drive up and enter. It's elegant and sophisticated but not ultra modern. Neither is it a gaudy or tired, run down dump...which many older hotels seem to become after years of neglect. We'd made online reservation for a room with two doubles but upon check-in, the deck attendant offered up a double with two singles...perfect for our two children. A proactive staff! Hotel is already rising in my estimation. They offered tea/coffee upon arrival, which I expected would be a pot if hot water and a few tea bags. Was surprised when I answered the knock af the door to find a large tray with steeping tea and a plate full off fruited cake slices. The room itself was well appointed, nice view if the river, large flatscreen TV, wireless was easily connected throughout the hotel and bathrooms were clean and tidy. Plenty of storage space, too. We had dinner in the hotel pub lounge. Food was superb and filling. Breakfast buffet had a large hot and cold selection with all of the Irish favourites. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone with or without children. Very accommodating, very friendly and competent staff, well kept, clean, charming hotel. You should stay here if ever in the Clonmel, Cahir, Cashel areas!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Danny from Israel

A very nice hotel, comfortable rooms and clean.

Posted Jul 14, 2013
Cons: Add refrigerator !
Location: a little off center, although town is not that big so everything is close by.
Only one thing left me somewhat surprised - the was no refrigerator in the room !!!