Ratings based on 1,747 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing experience at the castle!

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Felt like princesses at the castle. Absolutely beautiful and amazing experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Posted Jan 11, 2018
I want to thank all personnel for making my stay fabolous, especially Adam at the front desk. He was absolutely wonderful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kitchener, Canada

Staff went above and beyond call of duty

Posted Jan 6, 2018
I spent 3 nights at Clontarf. I was sadly taken down with a dreadful flu but the staff not only checked on me while there but delivered medicinal ice cream gratis and were not only dutiful but truly kind. I felt better on the 2nd day and took many photos of the hotel... gorgeous fanciful combination of original architecture and modern magical whimsy. Truly worthy of a visit for the decor alone! Price was accessible, amenities delightful and location an oasis of calm in the busy city. I'll return!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Jason Ormston, Hotel Management
Dear Thea, On behalf of everybody here at Clontarf Castle, I would like thank you for your very kind comments regarding your recent stay at Clontarf Castle. I am very sorry to hear you were taken down by the flu during your first night with us. It is however wonderful to hear that the team took care of you and were truly kind. Thank you for your lovely comments about the Castle's décor and architecture being modern magical whimsy. Thank you again for you kind comments and we hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Jason Ormston General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient if you want to stay in Clontarf!

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Pros: Convenient
Room comfortable and services available despite it being Christmas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2017 by Jason Ormston, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your kind review about your recent stay at Clontarf Castle. I am delighted that the rooms were comfortable and that you could enjoy all of the services within the Castle during Christmas. We hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and thank you again for your review. Jason Ormston General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Incredible Experience

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Absolutely loved our stay here. Kind staff, comfy beds, incredible atmosphere, decadent afternoon teas, the list is endless! Would definitely recommend!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Jason Ormston, Hotel Management
Dear Lindsey, On behalf of everybody here at Clontarf Castle, I would like thank you for your very kind comments regarding your recent stay at Clontarf Castle. It is wonderful to hear that you absolutely loved your stay with us and that you found the team to be kind. I am delighted that you found the atmosphere to be comfortable and that you would recommend us. We hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and thank you again for your review. Jason Ormston General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa, canada

Swanky AF

Posted Dec 20, 2017
Lovely place, food, staff, bar, etc. A little out of the way for exploring Dublin, but the classiness factor more than compensated
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2017 by Jason Ormston, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, Many thanks for your kind review about your recent stay at Clontarf Castle. I am delighted that to hear that your entire experience with us was lovely. It is true that being located in Clontarf means we are away from the hustle and bustle that is on offer downtown. Clontarf offers many little boutiques and wineries within walking distance, perhaps on a future visit you will avail of these or venture down by the waterfront for an evening stroll. Thank you again for your review and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege and the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Jason Ormston General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL

Amazing!

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Pros: Beauty! Such a cool place! And the staff were awesome!
Location: 10 min. walk to the bus station or 15 min. cab ride to the city center where all the action is :)
Beautiful hotel! The staff is amazing! Will definitely be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2017 by Jason Ormston, Hotel Management
Dear Karen, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Clontarf Castle.the time to review your recent stay at Clontarf Castle. Many thanks for you kind comments, I am delighted that you found the Castle to be beautiful and that the team were amazing. It is true that being located in Clontarf means we are away from the hustle and bustle that is on offer downtown. Clontarf offers many little boutiques and wineries within walking distance, perhaps on a future visit you will avail of these or venture down by the waterfront for an evening stroll. Thank you again for your review and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege and the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Jason Ormston General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel close to the center of Dublin

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable and a great setting.
We were only there for one night, but we would definitely go back for a longer stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2017 by Jason Ormston, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your kind review about your recent stay at Clontarf Castle. I am thrilled that you found it to be very comfortable and in a great setting. Thank you again for your review and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege and the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Jason Ormston General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado USA

Top Tier Accomodations

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Pros: Beautiful and ornate. Friendly staff. Everything you need.
Cons: Restaurant and pub are a bit on the pricey side. They certainly demand tourist rates. Would be nice if it were more inline with local pubs.
Location: Not a lot to do nearby, but taxi service is fast to the Castle and cabs get around quite fast. Only 20 minutes from Temple Bar and shopping.
I was upgraded to a suite and had the most beautiful room I have had in my 40 years of travel. Being in Clontarf with outstanding Irish hospitality at The Castle was a dream come true. I hope I live long enough to get to experience it again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2017 by Jason Ormston, Hotel Management
Dear Dean, Many thanks for your kind review about your recent stay at Clontarf Castle. I am delighted that you found the Castle to be beautiful and ornate. Thank you for your feedback regarding the prices of the food and beverage. Rest assure this will be taken into consideration. I am however thrilled that you enjoyed your upgrade and that it was the most beautiful room you have stayed in your 40 years of travelling. Thank you again for your review and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege and the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Jason Ormston General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Excellent food but make sure you reserve your table st the Fahrenheit restaurant ... else you will be eating in the Knight’s bar which is excellent but not the same menu choices
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2017 by Jason Ormston, Hotel Management
On behalf of everybody here at Clontarf Castle Hotel, I would like thank you for your very kind comments regarding your recent stay at Clontarf Castle. I am delighted that you dining experience in the Fahrenheit restaurant and Knights Bar was excellent. Thank you again for your review and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege and the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Jason Ormston General Manager