Ratings based on 1,562 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft lauderdale, Fl.

Beautiful castle hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Everything, it's beautiful, beds comfortable, rooms nice size with all amenities, staff great, and food in pub perfect. It is also in a nice locations
Cons: I couldn't say- we had no complaints.
Location: It's near the bay so you can walk down and enjoy the view and beautiful park area and a short cab ride to center city. It's also close to airport -
Really enjoyed our stay here, we stayed a total of 3 nights 2 at beginning of our trip and one at the end, this was our favorite hotel in Ireland and it wasn't the most expensive but by far the nicest in every way decor, comfort, food at restaurant, staff very friendly and helpful. We highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Washington

Great hotel with a really funky/offbeat vibe

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: 12th century tower inside the lobby. Great restaurants. Interesting décor. Helpful staff. Easy parking.
Cons: Shower controls are finicky and easy to break. Apparently I am not the first to mess one up.
Location: Clontarf waterfront is beautiful in the sunshine. Lots of walking and history nearby. Quiet location and neighborhood.
We had a really nice, clean, comfortable room. Staff were very helpful. Breakfast was wonderful, as it was at almost all of the places we stayed in Ireland. The shower controls are very finicky, be careful with them. Bring your Prince records, they would go great with all the purple décor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA, USA

Quiet, beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Room, staff, atmosphere, cleanliness
Cons: Breakfast buffet
Location: There is a short walk down to the water and there is a nice path that runs along the waterway. The bus stop to town is about an 8 min walk away.
Clontarf was a really nice remodeled castle style hotel on the outskirts of Dublin. You can easily take the bus or a taxi into the city center but it is not walkable to anything really. The room was very comfortable and the hotel staff were extremely helpful with information about the area and how you should spend your time in Dublin. Our only complaint would be about the breakfast buffet. When we checked in we were told that it was 12 euro each, but when we had the breakfast we were charged 18 euro. I believe it was probably just a mistake, but the front desk person did not inform us that to get the 12 euro price you had to pay at the front desk, versus paying at the buffet. Also, the buffet was just ok, not nearly worth the 18 euro each. This is a very minor complaint, considering the rest of the hotel experience was great, including dinner at their pub, The Knights Bar, I think it was called. It really was beautifully set up so some of the old castle walls can be seen from the inside lobby area, with full knights armor displayed around the hotel .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Louis

Beautiful castle hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2017
The staff there is very pleasant. Super tasty room service food. Very clean and luxurious. Lovely room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night

Posted Jul 19, 2017
This hotel is one of the nicest ones I've ever stayed at. I would highly recommend it and it has a lot of Kodak moments
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Jason Ormston General Manager, Hotel Management
Good morning, Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I do hope that we get an opportunity to welcome you back to the Castle in the near future. Many thanks, Jason Ormston General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, feels like a castle.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Beautiful hotel, great staff, good food. Quiet location but convenient between airport and Dublin city center.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Jason Ormston General Manager, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I do hope that we get an opportunity to welcome you back to the Castle again in the near future. Many thanks, Jason Ormston General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mildura Australia

great hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Everything was perfect. Great staff, great room, nice breakfast. Nothing too much trouble. Staff very helpful especially the conceriage. Loved it would definitely recommend for anyone. Close to public transport
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Jason Ormston General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Rose, Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I do hope that we get an opportunity to welcome you back to the Castle again in the near future. Many thanks, Jason Ormston General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant and comfort in a quiet neighborhood by the

Posted Jul 9, 2017
This castle has loads of modern upgrades so convenient features for modern times are not lost in this very elegant and stylish castle. The restaurant in hotel is Michelin-starred! Enjoyed a walk in the neighborhood and along the bay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from buckingham

pre ferry stop

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: impressive looking and clean and efficient
Cons: we thought the dress code in the formal resteraunt a bit lax
Location: nice and close to the ferry terminal
Found it easily good parking no problems food was well served and good
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Jason Ormston General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mick, Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I do hope that we get an opportunity to welcome you back to the Castle again in the near future. Many thanks, Jason Ormston General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Fare from the Dubiln pub beerfest....perfect for 50 plus and very good for us....Merci
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Jason Ormston General Manager, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I do hope that we get an opportunity to welcome you back to the Castle again in the near future. Many thanks, Jason Ormston General Manager