Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Wonderful honeymoon hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2017
We stayed at the Opera Plaza for our honeymoon and it was beautiful! They were kind enough to set our room out with their 'romantic package', which meant we had a lovely bottle of sparkling wine, rose petals and a complimentary massage each in the hotel spa. The room was lovely with very comfy bed and the service was fantastic. It was close enough to Cluj city centre to be able to wander around and pop back to our room when we needed to get out of the heat. The hotel bar was lovely for an evening drink outside, and the pool was very relaxing. The restaurant was really good too, with huge portions! The only slight drawbacks were the shower was quite tricky to get it to stay in the right place to avoid it spraying the floor, and the air conditioner could be a little noisy sometimes. But these were minor things. All in all it was a brilliant place to stay and excellent value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Central hotel with good rooms

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms simple but well appointed. Good location. Not a chain hotel experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Delightful and helpful staff

Posted Apr 16, 2017
I stayed 2 weeks and was very impressed with the friendliness and quality of the staff. At arrival a glitch in the reservation system had deleted my prepaid reservation and it was a very busy week for the hotel. Nonetheless, the reception was able to resolve the problem and I was in a room. Mid-stay, the hotel upgraded my room to cimpwnsate for the initial difficulty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Wonderful 1900's style hotel! Great charm.

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: The staff is very kind and helpful. The huge restaurant room with its high ceiling. Very classy.
Cons: The room is a little bit small and the mattress was ok but it is really not a big deal.
Location: The location is ok. Besides the opera, you need a car from the hotel to access to interesting parts of the town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
We had a room adjoining another by a wooden door. There was no sound proofing and we could hear everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to the heart of the city

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Excellent position close to all activities, clean, comfortable with a good breakfast included
4 out of 5
by Thomas

Old-fashion but clean!

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
We had the transfer from the hotel from the airport. More expensive than a taxi but much more relaxing, just walk out of customs and get in the van. The personnel is very friendly in the hotel and supports whereever they can! The room is perhaps a but outdated as for the complete hotel. However all is very clean!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Close to downtown!

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: The very friendly staff and the spa area.
Cons: The heating; we could not cool the room without opening the window and there was a weird perfume smell in the room.
Location: It`s in a few minutes walk from downtown Cluj. Wonderful location!
We had a nice time at the Opera. Unfortunatelly we realized that it`s not quite as we expected it to be. Probably it was great 10-15 years ago but now, with all the new hotels being built, Opera is a little bit behind. The staff was very helpful and extremely nice!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2016 by Cristian Netin, Hotel Management
Dear Cristina K., Thank you for your kind review. We are working hard to make the necessary improvements in the next years, so that our beloved guests will not face any issues during their stay. We would like to thank you for your visit with us and look forward to greeting you again in Cluj Napoca. Best regards, Cristian Netin
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Beautiful Hotel Near Center of Cluj

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: Its central location.
Cons: The restaurant would be more interesting if it featured Romanian cuisine.
This hotel was easily reachable from the train station by a short taxi ride. The lobby was very attractive, and the desk staff were very welcoming. The room was large and well decorated. The restaurant was classy and featured "international" cuisine, rather than Romanian. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the central square, major churches, theaters, and the famous university.
3 out of 5
by Amanda from Skipton

Tired decor, great gym.

Posted Sep 4, 2015 on Hotels
Overall a decent hotel, albeit needs an update. Decor in our room looked like 1980/90's. On the plus side, the room was large, with plenty of space for suitcases. There was an excellent gym, with the best treadmill I have ever used. Breakfast was really good, with a large selection.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to share your Opera Plaza experience with fellow members that use Expedia. I am delighted that you enjoyed our newly equipped gym - you are lucky to have stayed with us after an extensive refurbishing of our Health Center. Maybe in the future you will be able to enjoy our indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi, as well. Regarding the rooms, they are being refreshed as we speak and I can assure you that by the time you will return they will have a fresher, chic look. However, the design of the rooms is meant to compliment the Romanian National Opera that is 5 minutes away from our hotel. This design is classic elegant, and our rooms reflect those years when the furnishing was as it is in our hotel - we will remain true to our style. Once again, thank you for your time and I hope we will have you with us in the future. On behalf of the Opera Plaza team, I wish you a wonderful day! Best regards, Andreea Nitescu Sales & Marketing Manager Opera Plaza Hotel