Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to the heart of the city

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Excellent position close to all activities, clean, comfortable with a good breakfast included
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Très bon hotel !!!

Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Hotels
Très bon hotel, parfait !!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Andreea Nitescu, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and happy to see that our efforts are appreciated. Looking forward to having you back as our guest.
5 out of 5
by FREDERIC from Wentzwiller

Un Hotel au top du rapport qualité/prestations

Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
En séjour pour 3 jours, un Hotel avec une literie au top, une grande chambre, un buffet petit déjeuné vraiment de qualité, et un personnel aux petits soins du client.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Andreea Nitescu, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Frederic, Thank you very much for your visit in our hotel and for your kind review. It is our pleasure to offer the best services in Cluj Napoca, and it brings us high satisfaction to read reviews such as yours. We are looking forward for your next visit where we plan to surprise you with good news and improvements. With respect, Opera Plaza***** team.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Close to downtown!

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: The very friendly staff and the spa area.
Cons: The heating; we could not cool the room without opening the window and there was a weird perfume smell in the room.
Location: It`s in a few minutes walk from downtown Cluj. Wonderful location!
We had a nice time at the Opera. Unfortunatelly we realized that it`s not quite as we expected it to be. Probably it was great 10-15 years ago but now, with all the new hotels being built, Opera is a little bit behind. The staff was very helpful and extremely nice!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2016 by Cristian Netin, Hotel Management
Dear Cristina K., Thank you for your kind review. We are working hard to make the necessary improvements in the next years, so that our beloved guests will not face any issues during their stay. We would like to thank you for your visit with us and look forward to greeting you again in Cluj Napoca. Best regards, Cristian Netin
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Beautiful Hotel Near Center of Cluj

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: Its central location.
Cons: The restaurant would be more interesting if it featured Romanian cuisine.
This hotel was easily reachable from the train station by a short taxi ride. The lobby was very attractive, and the desk staff were very welcoming. The room was large and well decorated. The restaurant was classy and featured "international" cuisine, rather than Romanian. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the central square, major churches, theaters, and the famous university.
4 out of 5
by Jonas from Helsingborg

Ett bra, men slitet, hotell

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
Jag bodde här i fyra nätter då jag var ner och jobba i Cluj. Hotellet är fint, men slitet. Rummet (standardrum) var stort, med ett stort badrum. Sängen var skön att sova i, det fanns en del kanaler på TVn, men jag såg mest på CNN Europe. Möblerna i rummet kändes gedigna, gjorda av trä. Hotellet erbjuder gratis wi-fi, men det fungerade så där för mig på rummet. Jag gick ner i lobbyn och använde wi-fit där istället. Frukosten var sparsam, jag är van med större bufféer. Men kvaliteten på frukosten var hög. Servicen på hotellet (och i Rumänien i stort, verkar det som) är "så där". Jag har rest mycket i Polen och de har betydligt högre servicegrad. Ber du hotellets personal boka en taxi, ordna en dubbel espresso, .. så gör de det men utan det där lilla extra. Jag bokade hyrbil hos AVIS i lobbyn, det fungerade smidigt. Åker jag hit igen? Jag gillade hotellet, trots att det var slitet (påminner nog om de gamla glansdagarna) och servicen var så där. Jag kan tänka mig bo här igen.
3 out of 5
by Amanda from Skipton

Tired decor, great gym.

Posted Sep 4, 2015 on Hotels
Overall a decent hotel, albeit needs an update. Decor in our room looked like 1980/90's. On the plus side, the room was large, with plenty of space for suitcases. There was an excellent gym, with the best treadmill I have ever used. Breakfast was really good, with a large selection.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to share your Opera Plaza experience with fellow members that use Expedia. I am delighted that you enjoyed our newly equipped gym - you are lucky to have stayed with us after an extensive refurbishing of our Health Center. Maybe in the future you will be able to enjoy our indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi, as well. Regarding the rooms, they are being refreshed as we speak and I can assure you that by the time you will return they will have a fresher, chic look. However, the design of the rooms is meant to compliment the Romanian National Opera that is 5 minutes away from our hotel. This design is classic elegant, and our rooms reflect those years when the furnishing was as it is in our hotel - we will remain true to our style. Once again, thank you for your time and I hope we will have you with us in the future. On behalf of the Opera Plaza team, I wish you a wonderful day! Best regards, Andreea Nitescu Sales & Marketing Manager Opera Plaza Hotel
4 out of 5
by Jaroslaw

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by DAN from London

Pleasant stay

Posted Jul 19, 2015 on Hotels
We had a lovely stay, attentive staff, will stay again. One improvement on breakfast: they could add some gluten free options.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback! Your time is valuable, so we appreciate your effort of sharing your Opera Plaza experience with fellow Expedia members. I am delighted to know that your stay with us was pleasant and perhaps on a future stay you could try our Health Center services, as well, which are included in the accommodation (indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, fitness room). Regarding our breakfast, we have plenty of gluten free products, such as freshly-made omelettes, cold cuts, grilled vegetables, meat products, etc. Our staff is always ready to assist people with gluten intolerance and guide them towards safe options. Once again, thank you for your stay and I hope we will have you with us again in the future. Have a lovely day! Best regards, Andreea Nitescu Sales & Marketing Manager Opera Plaza Hotel
5 out of 5
by Robert D from Bedford

Quality & Comfort At A Reasonable Price

Posted Jul 7, 2015 on Hotels
My wife & I stayed here whilst attending a friend's wedding.The rooms are spacious, the staff courteous and helpful, and the breakfasts plentiful.ut'sakso a stone's throw frothed city centre and has a nice pool and small gym. Ideal Base for exploring the beautiful Transylvanian countryside.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2016
Dear Mr. Robert D., Thank you for sharing your Opera Plaza experience with fellow Hotels.com members. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us - I hope you also enjoyed the party. Our staff is, indeed, dedicated to make our guests as comfortable as possible, always true to our boutique hotel philosophy. I hope to have you back with us in the future and wish you a lovely day, on behalf of the Opera Plaza team! Best regards, Andreea Nitescu Opera Plaza Hotel