Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Lovely small hotel in a quiet village.

Posted May 19, 2016
Found hotel to be one of the best we have stayed in for a long time. Staff, room, facilities, food, cleanliness all first class.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just what the doctor ordered

Posted Apr 29, 2016
My wife and I had not had a weekend off since the beginning of February and when we got a weekend off at the end of April we made good use of it at Black Lion we enjoyed it so much we will be going back on our next weekend off together. Fantastic food fantastic beer fantastic company made to feel very welcome
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely Hotel and a great landlord.

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: Clean and freindly
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great walks and Golf
very happy with visit and will go again soon. Had a great time Lovely Village.
5 out of 5
by Tom

Posted Feb 3, 2016 on Hotels
A great place to stay! Lovely countryside, great staff and the hotel was very welcoming and the food fantastic.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cannock staffs

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Excellent stay .the staff were very helpful especially john the manager.food was excellent and plentiful.will be staying again soonm
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely setting, would return

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Lovely stay, John couldn't have been more helpful. Evening meal was delicious and the breakfast served until 11 was great for a lay in!!!
4 out of 5
by trinity rose from Welshpool

Hotel by the river

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
I was ill at the time so it was difficult to judge. Staff were very friendly and the resturant food was excellent. The room was quite cold and we did ask for the heating to be put on, it took three requests to the bar before we had constant heat in the room. The view from room was a bit dismal overlooking a back yard. Overall we were pleased with the stay and the breakfast was first class.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Great scenic location

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Pros: Great location, love the local walk, quiet at night. Great restaurant.
Cons: Some cosy corners for a pre-dinner drink or relax after an afternoon of sightseeing would be welcome. Eg: In front of the fire place or poolroom
Location: Bodelwyddon Castle, Conwy Castle are both great stops and totally different. Afternoon tea in the little cafe opposite Tesco in Abergele...yum!
Not in the middle of Abergele, but better. Small village with a great walk, creek an countryside on the doorstep. Only a short and easy drive to the lovely scenic attractions in the area. Highly recommend staying here. I think the property is about to change hands....
5 out of 5
by Christine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2015
They said there was wifi, but could not pick it up in the bedroom.