Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mixed feelings

Posted Sep 7, 2017
I find it very hard to believe that this is one of the top hotels in a gorgeous place like Coburg. On a trip of four cities (the other three each being part of the former eastern bloc), this was by far the least comfortable, least clean room. The timy bathroom had no washcloths or hair conditioner; there was no help available with bags--though full of winding stairs; parking is not onsite and confusing to first-time visitors; minor inconveniences but they take away from the overall enjoyment. The most disturbing part of our stay was finding hairs all over our bed when we checked in; a perfunctory, insincere apology then required us to move to a lesser room and, having hauled suitcases upstairs to the fourth floor, pack and move all of our belongings again. Any other hotel we have ever stayed in would have 1) upgraded the room for the inconvenience; 2) sent a bellmen to help move our luggage; 3) offered a drink voucher or even a comp'ed night (since we were staying four.) They were not even able to find us a seat at dinner once the whole escaped wrapped up at 9:30pm. Although the following day we found grape juice and gummi bears in our room, this is not a place I'd recommend to friends or that I'd look forward to returning to. Unfortunate, too, since Coburg is a charming place. Would love to hear suggestions for places to stay upon future visits.
4 out of 5
by Tim

Posted Aug 2, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice. Comfortable and good price. Struggled to find a decent restaurant in the area and should have tried the hotel one - it looked much better. Will definitely stay again if in Coburg.
5 out of 5
by Werner

Great hotel for business or romance.

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
A wonderful small hotel in the centre of town. Very friendly staff, great food. The restaurant has a Michelinstar but the service is very down to earth, but first class. The room was small but cosy, internet worked well, but no air condition. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Lovely hotel close to central Coburg

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Location, restaurant, staff
Cons: a lift to all rooms but that probably is not practical given the layout of the building
Location: see above
This hotel is a few steps from the Marktplatz and the Schloss and has a welcoming friendly feel to it. Anyone with any links to Britain or Belgium should find Coburg and interesting place given its intimate links with both sets of Royal Families. The garden below the fortress provides an enchanting walk up to the Fortress itself (we saw a hedgehog!) and this hotel provides a good base for operations. The small opera company performs to an extraordinaily high standard, all things considered, and the hotel itself contains an excellent * Michelin restaurant. We recommend the entire experience ie a couple of nights at the hotel, dinner in the restaurant, a night at the opera and a good look at the palace in the city (hourly tours) and the castle over 1 km up the hill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very nice hotel, conveniently located

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Friendly service and a high-quality offering. Good breakfast. Robust free wifi.
Location: 10 minutes walk from the railway station, and just outside the old city wall. Within walking distance of everything in the centre.
Friendly, efficient check-in. Comfortable room and good breakfast. Would like to stay here again. I felt that I only scratched the surface in an overnight visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Familie Glauben, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. We are looking forward to your next Coburg visit. Best regards - Romantik Hotel Goldene Traube
4 out of 5
by Talya

Good Spa and fitness center opens only afternoon

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels
Very Romantic and clean. But the Soa and fitness center opens only in the afternoon
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017
Dear Taya, thanks for rating us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is centrally located, about a five minute walk from the train station and very close to the town center. The staff was very helpful in providing local bus information. The room was fine - not huge, but by no means a shoebox. It was plenty spacious for what I needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. Great to hear that everything was fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient to the centre of Coburg.

Posted Aug 31, 2013
Although convenient, Coburgs church bells can wake you up early if you are a light sleeper !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cathy from California

Lutherstadt hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2012
Pros: The charming room and the wonderful restaurant
Location: Just outside the alte stadt an easy walk from everything.
The hotel is just outside the alte stadt, a short walk from the marktplatz and shopping areas. Two blocks farther and you are at a castle to tour or the spot to catch a bus or tram to the Veste Coburg where Luther hid out. Our hotel room was charming with a view over the rooftops of the old town. The restaurant served good food and its staff was great. The breakfast provided was fine, a typical German breakfast buffet.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dresden

Erholung pur, alles perfekt!

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: Wunderschöne Inneneinrichtung, Sauberkeit und sehr höfliches Personal
Cons: Nein:)
Location: sehr zentral gelegen, Schloß, Burg, Museen, Innenstadt alles zu Fuß zu erreichen, nicht weit
Hotel ist zentral gelegen, alles zu Fuß erreichbar. Das Personal ist sehr freundlich,zuvorkommend und hat immer ein Lächeln auf den Lippen. Wir haben uns sofort heimisch gefühlt. Räumlichkeiten sind wunderschön, sauber, sehr gemütlich und mit Liebe zum Detail eingerichtet. Das Frühstücksbuffet war sehr reichhaltig mit guter Qualität.Wir kommen definitiv wieder.Großes Lob an Alle!