Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Wolfgang from Darmstadt, Germany

Far exceeded expectations

Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Hotels
What a pleasant surprise! My hotel not only included a very good breakfast, but dinner as well. Dinner was a near-gourmet 3-course meal served with style. Staff was super. Location was a bit out of town up the hill, but the views were great. I would definitely book here again.
4 out of 5
by Mary from chandler, AZ

great Breakfast

Posted Jun 14, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay was very nice. The hotel is located in a residential neighborhood above the Moselle River. The room was immaculately clean but very small. We under the impression that the hotel was located in an isolated area and to reserve our spot for dinner; however, it would have been easy enough to go to a local restaurant for dinner. The hotel's dinner was OK, but nothing special and very average. The highlight of our stay was the breakfast. It was a buffet with a wide variety of items - meats, cheeses, cereals, breads, fruits, and lots of local jams and honeys. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Christo from London

A lovely hotel with a personal touch

Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels
We were warmly welcomed and treated like friends from the moment we checked in until we left. It was half board and I was impressed with the choice of food for dinner. It was also very filling. There was a huge choice for breakfast too. The facilities included a gym, sauna and activity centre which we used and were very relaxing. I've not been to a hotel where I felt so welcomed. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. It's a bit of a walk to the centre of town but well worth the small effort.
3 out of 5
by Peter from Singapore

great location

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels
unfortunately bathrooms not up to todays standard. Everything else nice.
3 out of 5
by American tourist from USA

Great stay... once you get there

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel itself was great, but getting there was a bear. We took the train to Cochem, and the train station is on the opposite side of the river from the hotel. We could not find a taxi, so we had to hike up the steep hill with our luggage to get to the hotel. When we got there, they said they would have paid for a taxi... but we had no way of getting a hold of the hotel. So, plan in advance. We did not eat the included dinner because of limited seating times and a less-than-appealing vegetarian option. But the breakfast buffet was fantastic, and the service was really, really good.
5 out of 5
by Greg from Eagle River, Alaska

Beautiful area

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels
I arrived a little late after a 150km bike ride from Trier so I nearly missed dinner which ends at 19:00 so arrive early if you plan on eating dinner at the hotel. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The food is excellent. The hotel itself is beautiful as is the entire area around Cochem. The hotel sits high above the Mosel and is very quiet. I only had a short stay as I was on an airline layover. Plan to spend some time in this area if you visit the Mosel and if you like quiet settings that are also convenient, check this hotel out.
3 out of 5
by Tom from London

Fine overall

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels
Good hotel up the hill a bit from Cochem central town. Lovely view. Room perfectly fine, if a little old. Staff very helpful and attentive. Reasonably priced. Would stay again. Town of Cochem quitelovely and worth a stop.
4 out of 5
by Alfred from Burlington, Vermont

Lovely but romantic?

Posted Jul 23, 2013 on Hotels
The staff is excellent and the location is equally fine, if one loves hiking, as do I. The hotel is located several kilometers from the town center but only a few meters away from a network of hiking paths. The view from the hotel's terrace is spectacular, looking down as it does on the Mosel and surrounding vineyards. Breakfast, which includes sekt, is lovely--especially if one wishes to imbibe sparkling wine that early in the day. I did. As one who rises early and wants coffee immediately, I found the 8:00 AM start of the breakfast time disquieting, but many others will be happy to sleep in until this late hour. Two things (other than the lack of an immediate caffeine fix) bothered me--both quite seriously. First, the bed in our room was super soft, giving me an uncomfortable night. Second, the view from our room was spectacular, but it also overlooked the terrace, where smokers repaired to light up because this hotel is otherwise a no-smoking hotel. We had to close our window on three occasions in order to avoid noxious tobacco smoke from coming in. I wish the terrace were also a no-smoking area--many hotels across the world (and I travel extensively around the globe) are making outdoor dining areas equally non-smoking. This hotel should follow that example.. The smoke on the terrace also disturbed us when we went there for evening drinks. Because of these two disquieting factors, I cannot call this a "romantic hotel," but it is a good one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by John & Jane from Birmingham, UK

Stay at Cochem overlooking river Mosel

Posted Sep 2, 2012
Pros: position overlooking Mosel river, excellent staff
Cons: Quite an uphill walk from the town, 10 mins and fine if you are a regular or occassional walker.
Location: Excellent views over river, adjacent to footpaths through vineyards
Extremely friendly and welcoming staff, who could speak English fluently. Well organised, rooms ready and clean, very nice food in restaurant and plenty of it. Pleasant footpath walking right outside and overlooking river and castle.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Oct 20, 2011 on Hotels
Great hotel, very clean. I had beakfests only, good food. Only down side was, that all info about intresting places in the area, given from reception was in German, so was not usefull for me. Otherwise, great stay.