Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice traditional hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Nice and peaceful
Cons: They don't clean the room unless you leave your key and ask them
Location: Didn't venture out much, but Fort Kochi a 30 min drive (INR 500 in taxi or INR 200 in tuk tuk). Most of them don't know the hotel so take a map!
Staff very welcoming, although not much English (can't complain about that though being in India!). My room was ready when I turned up at 10 am and when I discovered bugs in my bed the first night, they were horrified and quick to change my room which was fine the rest of my stay. Food very good and sitting by the lake in the evening was lovely. Quite a breeze off the water so didn't have to worry too much about mosquitoes. The pool looked great, but being a single female traveller I didn't feel comfortable in my bikini with a lot of the staff sitting around
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by Mona from Sverige

Lugn oas

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Den gamla kolonialstilen, fräsch pool, utomhus servering på egen liten gräsmatta vid vattnet.
Location: Ligger lite off, finns inget speciellt i dess närhet, dock billigt och enkelt att ta taxi.
Litet lugnt hotell med personlig service, vi blev fantastiskt väl omhändertagna av samma kypare varje dag.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by george eapen from sheffield, UK

pleasant heritage hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2013
Pros: FOR: old heritage house converted to hotel, few miles from from fort kochi, clean facilities , pleasant staff, good kerala authetic cooking, AGAINST
Cons: FOR: old heritage house converted to hotel, few miles from from fort kochi, clean facilities , pleasant staff, good kerala authetic cooking, AGAINST
Location: boating/fishing/swimming ; 20 minute auto ride from from fort kochi
FOR: old heritage house converted to hotel, few miles from from fort kochi, clean facilities , pleasant staff, good kerala authetic cooking, AGAINST: got ripped off in the the extra facilities like the boating arragned by the hotel but provided by another agent, promised housebnoat at 2500 Rs for 1 hours but went in a asmaller boat for a small trip in the lake;could do with more coffee/tea facilities in room, stay if u want to experience an old kerala house with decent facities away from the hustle of fort kochi
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A from SYDNEY

Our stay Nov 2013

Posted Nov 13, 2013
The hotel staff and the hotel met with what i had expected . Hotel is secluded away from the main bustle of city yet only a short auto ride into the main attractions . We did not want to stay in the city so we're very happy with the location.auto readily available. Food was good .nothing fancy but tasty . The best part was having breakfast on the lawn and watching the fishing nets (though not in use anymore there) . The rooms were clean and spacious. Staff extremely hospitable . Could not do enough to make sure we were looked after. The downside is that it is a long way from the airport. As mentioned in the other reviews although the hotel advertises airport shuttle available at a cost this was not the case. When we rang the hotel we were advised to take a taxi from the airport. Luckily i had the hotel phone number on me as taxi driver had no idea of location . Second issue was the impression given free wifi. Whilst no problem when connection but one has to use the hotel lobby to use it. No connection in the rooms. Also discovered that rooms are made fresh everyday if we leave the keys at the front desk. Did not realise this until our second night.
5 out of 5
for Couples
by Abhay from Bangalore, Karnataka, India

An excellent experience!

Posted Nov 1, 2012
Pros: The ambiance.
Cons: Nothing much on Kumbalangi Island itself, I felt.
Location: Idyllic, but not at the center of Kochi. Which is a good thing IMO.
The hotel is on the Kumbalangi island, which is about 45 minutes from Fort Kochi. We took the bus everywhere after walking from our hotel to the other side of the Kumbalangi bridge.The food was not only good but also reasonably priced. The staff was attentive. The rooms themselves felt like I was back in my ancestral home in Ottapalam. Every room is named after a flower and smells of it too. And the view is to die for! We sat in the pool almost every evening during our 2 day stay and just watched the plants float by on the backwaters. A great place for couples.
4 out of 5
for Families
by RIjesh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2012 on Hotels
2 out of 5
for Personal Event
by Joana


Posted May 28, 2012 on Hotels
Optei por ficar nesse hotel para usufruir da piscina, uma vez que o hotel fica longe de tudo. Entretanto, não é possível usar a piscina, pois, esta numa obra que segundo os funcionários não termina nunca..... o hotel não informou isso no site! me senti lesada e a qualidade de serviço precisa ser melhorada e muito.Banheiro sem ventilação. Não indico esse hotel espero NUNCA mais ir para lá!!!Resultado, passei dois dias trancada no quarto!!!
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by Ellen from Belgium

Nice hotel. Good value for money

Posted Mar 13, 2012
Pros: The swimmimg pool , the kerala style and nice food
Cons: Rooms a bit small, especially if you have children staying in the same room
Location: Very nice location, on the waterfront. Away from the city of Cochin, but close enough to get there easily ( about 10 km)
The hotel was clean, well maintained , and staff very friendly. It has also a very good but small restaurant. The food is freshly prepared, which also means that it can take a while before you get your food. The swimming pool is nice and clean. The rooms are not very big, but are clean and in Kerala style, which makes it charming. Overall we had a good experience with this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from France

Heritage Methanam - near Fort Kochi, with a pool

Posted Feb 24, 2012 on Hotels
There didn't seem to be many hotels within striking distance of Fort Kochi with a pool, so we chose this one for our last few days before flying home. We were not disappointed. The pool was just right for some relaxation in the sun and our room was very comfortable and clean. The staff are very pleasant and food in the restaurant very good. The hotel wasn't very busy while we were there (just as well as there were only 3 sun beds) but there is a 'locals' bar next door, which seemed to keep the many staff occupied. The hotel is tastefully decorated and well maintained. Fort Kochi and Mattancherry were only a 150-rupee rickshaw ride away. I would definitely stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Poor Service

Posted Feb 6, 2012 on Hotels
We recently stayed at this hotel after reading some good reviews. However, although the hotel was very well presented and good value we were more than disappointed with the service. When we arrived we were not given any information about the facilities of the hotel e.g breakfast times, and really struggled to get any local information out of the staff due to very poor English. The room we were given was very nice, only problem was the shower was not working properly and for most of out stay we did not have hot water. My main issue with this hotel was the basic lack of understanding from the main reception staff as to how to run a hotel. Of the 4 nights we stayed there our room was only cleaned once!! Absolutely unacceptable. After the first day when we came back after a day our we realised that the room had been left uncleaned and the housekeeping staff had left for the day. When we enquired as to why it was not cleaned we were laughed at! Apparently we should have left the keys with the reception if the room was to be cleaned although we were not told this even though we saw the reception staff that morning. So following that day we then left the keys every morning, however the room was still only cleaned on one occasion leaving us having to call for toilet roll, towels and soap. Basic things that a hotel we pay a fair amount for should provide. Having said that, the restaurant staff were very good and nice breakfasts. The hotel needs to be improved to meet some basic standards of service. And one more thing the services provided by the hotel included 'airport transfer' which usually indicates that this is part of the hotel service for guest. This actually turned out to be just a organisation of a taxi to the airport which we had to pay for. Not quite the same thing and I feel this to be misleading. I would not recommend this hotel until it addresses some of these issues.