Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Waste of money, dont increase your BP by going

Posted Jan 7, 2013
Pros: EXIT door is always open, thats the first thing you should do if you go there by mistake
Cons: hotel itself
Location: bad, dont go by internet photos, they are misleading
Don't even try this, pathetic place , way far away, the staff pretends that they dont understand hindi and when you speak english they look at you in dumb fashion. I had to call Manager on last day and actually i took round of rooms to show him what is wrong, centralised AC Never worked, the fan was not provided in 3 days, we boked 2 rooms and in one room fan switch was made on with help of cable tie, Room service had to be called 11 times to get extra bed and it took 3.5 hrs to get extra bed. Most amasing is the tea cost is RS 50/cup. and they serve it in unclean & chipped off cups. Bath room they give bucket on demand ,( i dont know if all indian use only shower# but they dont provide stool to sit on during bathing, # i had asked manager to demonstrate me how he takes bath using bucket and mug but with out using the stool to sit. colour and illuminance in room is fading off and i dont think any senior managment has ever taken a walk in their own facility. The restaurant is equally bad with stinking table cloths. GOD bles who tkae chances to stay there
2 out of 5
by Archit

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2012 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mermaid Hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2012 on Hotels
Well they say they have wi-fi, but they did not and the hotel is falling apart, the pictures do not show the true condition of the hotel. The swimming pool water is greener than the river, would definately not of booked the hotel if i knew it was truely bad.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Mermaid Hotel in Kochi

Posted Mar 11, 2012 on Hotels
For the price this hotel is fine. The breakfast was very good. We had a buffet supper (only option) the night we arrived and it was so so and bit a pricey. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel could definitely use sprucing up (and possibly charge more). We thought WIFI was there but not so. One has to walk some distance to access internet. Public transport is not readily available. Hotel uses its tour operator for providing taxis etc. We were quoted a high price for backwaters trip. We took the trip from KTDC for less than half the price that was quoted by the hotel tour operator. Most of the tourist places are far far from this hotel in Cochin.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mumbai

Mermaid hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2012 on Hotels
Very poor hotel maintaince. Staff was friendly.Slowest service I have ever seen.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Mermaid in Vyttila ( Ernakulam)

Posted Feb 1, 2012 on Hotels
There were lizards in the lifts. The AC used to get switched off in the middle of the night. The food at this hotel sucked. They served just 1 bottle of water in the room while i stayed there for more than 3 days.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Mermaid in Kochi

Posted Dec 19, 2011 on Hotels
The hotel room was very good and the food was also good. I liked the privacy of the hotel the most. Over all its a vry good hotel for personal and official puposes
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC USA

THE BEST STAY I'VE HAD IN INDIA!

Posted Dec 6, 2009
This hotel far exceeds the rating class it is given. In three years of traveling in India I can say this has been my best hotel stay to date. The only downside was the food and the fact we were isolated from convenience to shopping or restaurants. So forced to eat buffet food that was not apetizing -- they need new Chief Chef. The Bell Captain was superior (Anthony) and the Manager personally helped with any small problems I had. The housekeeper for my room was A+ and she was professional. The only problem was the check-in staff -- they were not friendly, pre-occupied. The woman who did my check-in ignored me, took phone calls and acting like I was a 'problem' rather than a paying guest. She really needs to be reassigned to admin duties or accounting rather than dealing with public. Other front desk staff (males) had smiles, but were not very helpful. Check-out was the same. Also, the Tour desk was POOR, and I tried to book taxi or tour and never got call backs or help and had to walk to main road to get three-wheeler upon departure -- THAT WAS NOT ACCEPTABLE. Overall, though a great hotel and I certainly hope to return.