Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff went the extra mile

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
Front desk staff were fantastic - couldn't do enough for you. Confirmed our train ticket, arranged taxis, contacted onward destination. Excellent breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff but otherwise disappointing

Posted May 1, 2016
The hotel was not up to our expectations of a heritage hotel for the money we paid. The bed was not very comfortable, we thought we would get an inner spring mattress. You also had to let the shower run for 10mins before any warm water came through . The breakfast was also very average. The staff however were very friendly and welcoming and helpful with questions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bahrain

Excellent hotel, close to beach.

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Most things
Cons: Hot water could come quicker !
Location: Excellent location. Close to but not on top of historic old lanes with many shops
Old building renovated beautifully. Lovely pool. Staff seem to be still in training mode but very willing. Good experience - would definitely stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

lovely hotel, warm and friendly

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: accommodation, staff, food, everything.
Cons: nothing
Location: located close to anywhere you needed o be
An Oasis, it was lovely, the staff were delightful, warm and friendly, polite and just couldn't do enough for you. I will never forget their warm friendly smiles. we loved the place so much we spent the last day of our travels in the pool garden before our flight home. we met some fellow travellers here and they ranged from young lone travellers to older couples touring, everybody enjoyed and relaxed. sitting around the pool was the best place to listen to other travel stories. lovely.
4 out of 5
by Uwe from Bangalore

perfect place in Kochi

Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Hotels
We spent 2 wonderful days at this small hotel. Great location, fantastic rooms and friendly staff. The price was a bit high.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could have be "Great"!

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Hotels
The service staff for the most part was great. Warm, friendly with the exception of some staff at breakfast who clearly did not want to be there serving guests (female individual) and made for a less than good start to the day. Overall the cost and quality was as expected and again, general service was attentive and friendly. The ONLY very odd item is their "mandatory eat with us policy for New Year's Eve" which was wrong for two reasons: 1) It was not on the hotel.com site when we booked in July. 2) No hotel should make this a "mandatory" item. We are there on vacation, not at the whim of business requirements. This left a very sour taste in our mouth for the remainder of the trip. Finally, while the amenities were clean, I do no believe they properly sterilize and clean their pool filters. Each morning, I can see from my room that they add water and pick up leaves but no chemicals were measured. tested or added. In India, with water quality as risky as it is, this should be "mandatory"
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA/Singapore

Great heritage property

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Terrific sense of history well located to the venues of the Kochi Biennale!
Cons: The room on the ground floor just looked into a wall with no view and little natural light. The hotel has no liquor license.
Location: Very near the historic venues used for the Kochi Muziris Biennale.
Terrific sense of history well located to the venues of the Kochi Biennale! The room on the ground floor just looked into a wall with no view and little natural light. The hotel has no liquor license. It's best to request one of the rooms on the upper floor facing the Sea.
3 out of 5
by Kerri from Perth

Lovely hotel, but standard rooms are tiny.

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels
The building is lovely, but we were in a standard room and they are very small. To get to the bathroom required walking around the end of the bed and to do so required walking sideways, as the gap between the end of the bed and the wall is very narrow.
4 out of 5
by abraham from pune

great location in kochi

Posted Jun 16, 2013 on Hotels
good location, funny to be near to a heritage cemetery,good staff, but breakfast,food etc lot to be desired
2 out of 5
by J from Sweden

Nice but too expensive

Posted May 28, 2013 on Hotels
Nice location, but too expensive compare to what you get, There are several nice guesthouses in the area that will provide the same comfort included breakfast at a much lower rate.