Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Right in the heart of Fort Kochi

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Pros: Right in the heart of Fort Kochi. It's not far to anything. Everything in the room was working as it should and it had a few unexpected touches.
Cons: I thought the upgrade from fan only to AC room was a little expensive.
Location: It's right in the center of most tourist interests in Fort Kochi. Good restaurants nearby, shopping, everything.
Aging, but well maintained and well appointed, quaint place right in the center of tourist interests in Fort Kochi.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel Staff

Posted Feb 25, 2016
I went to the hotel in the afternoon and the staff there help me booked a backwater cruise for tomorrow. The hotel is very close the the Chinese net and have a few nice restaurant nearby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Donosti, Euskadi

Muy buena localizacion

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Personal simpático mye resolvieron varias dudas para mi próximo destino...ambiente tranquilo. La habiacion muy correcta y confortable
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Robert from Montreal

On Princess street, great location

Posted Nov 30, 2015 on Hotels
Originally was going to stay only 1 night but decided to extend to 2. I usually only book my first night in a hotel until I can see the condition before deciding to stay any longer, but if you are like me and are considering staying a few days in Cochi, there's no need to hesitate to book multiple nights at the Sonnetta Residency. For me, the important things in accommodations are: a clean bed, good wifi, a good location, and if possible breakfast included and Sonnetta had all these things. Breakfast was a little simple, coffee, a few toad with jam and a banana, but that's pretty much what I eat on any weekday when I'm at home. Across the street from Sonnetta is a pretty good restaurant as well, with chairs laid out on a terrace. The manager, I didn't get his name, but he genuinely seemed concerned about my comfort/happiness more than turnover and the business aspect as is usually the case in India. A tip for getting there from Ernakulam junction station. Take the ferry to Fort Cochi. Ferry pier is about 15 minute walk from train station, or 40 rupee tuk-tuk, then a 6 rupee ferry ride to Fort Cochi, then another 15 minute walk from the jetty to the hotel. Just ask around for "princess" street, everyone knows where it is. I would not hesitate to stay at Sonnetta Residency again.
4 out of 5
by Robert from Montreal

Come for 1 day, stay 3

Posted Nov 27, 2015 on Hotels
At first I only booked one night in Cochi but I enjoyed the environment so much I stayed a little longer. I usually only book my first night in a hotel until I can see what it's like before deciding to stay longer but I can assure you, if you are like me and planning to stay 2 or 3 night, don't hesitate to book them all at once if you're staying at The Sonnetta Residency. Also, the gentleman at the reception, I didn't get his name but he seems to run the place, is genuinely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was simple, milk coffee, a few toast with jam and a fruit, in my case a banana. For me it was enough, that's usually all that I eat on weekdays when I'm at home. There's also a pretty good restaurant across the street with chairs outside. Good food, good portions, reasonable price. A tip for getting to Kochi, take the ferry. The ferry pier is about a 15 minute walk from Ernakulam junction. Then a 6-rupee ferry ride to Fort Kochi jetty. Then another 15 minute walk from the jetty to the hotel. After the ferry ride, when you get to fort Kochi jetty, just ask around for "Princess street", everyone knows where that is.
5 out of 5
by M H from Bangalore

Glad I chose to stay here !!

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
We went to Kochi on vacation and stayed at Sonnetta for 3 days. It is located just a couple minutes walk from the sea side (not a beach where you can get into water and play or swim). It is located on a charming street with old Portuguese style buildings. Sonnetta is also a heritage building, although the recent renovations have robbed it of the heritage feel inside. The rooms are clean and the service is very friendly. All tourist attractions in Fort Kochi are within walking distance (2-3 Kilometers). Breakfast was complimentary and was quite good. Eating joints nearby are plenty.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Very central in Fort Kochi.

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Felt safe and at home. Given good information for my interests. They provided bottled water daily.
Cons: They offer a simple breakfast, however I did not enjoy either the Indian or International options. I typically ate elsewhere. Their coffee was good.
Location: Absolutely central for all activities in Fort Kochi.
The proprietor and staff were very friendly and helpful. I am a return customer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sunny coast Australia

Very friendly people & like family after a daystay

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Comfortable & clean & friendly helpful staff.
Cons: Breakfast could be more natural with fresh fruit.
Location: Quiet & funky part of the world with most things nearby.
Good part of town close to beach ferry & restaurants.
4 out of 5
by Jean-François from Vincennes

Il faut s'habituer ! Mais trés bonne adresse

Posted Mar 28, 2015 on Hotels
Nous sommes restés 4 nuits, le premier jour était un peu pénible car au delà du fait que dans la chambre il y a des indications à plusieurs endroits pour indiquer d'utiliser le moins d'eau et le moins d'électricité possible, de fermer la porte de la salle de bain... Le patron et le personnel redouble de vigilance et remette la télé commande de la clim, sous haute surveillance !! C'est certes louable et bien évidemment respectable mais nous sommes clients à 32 euros lâ nuit, ce qui commence à faire cher en Inde, et lâ moindre des choses est d'éviter de nous culpabiliser quand on a envie de prendre 2 douches par jour et de climatiser surtout quand il fait plus de 35 degrés avec 60 pour cent de taux d'humidité ! Passez cela, l'hôtelier et son personnel sont plus que charmants et le service est impeccable. C'est une petite adresse proche du style pension de famille. Idéalement placé et fort calme. Nous recommandons.