Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

convenient location

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: very clean. I would recommend it for staff friendliness
Cons: laundry service could have been on one day delivery
Location: close to cruises and boats and restaurents
Very good breakfast. Very clean. Staff helped to carry our heavy luggage
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Aaron from K.L.

Good hotel with all the required amenities.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Everything was fine; perhaps only one complaint though, the WiFi doesn't reach the last room on the second floor fully. However, a very minor flaw in an otherwise superb hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal place to stay to visit Kochi and Ernakulam

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Senate is conveniently located from the Ernakulam staion and the famous MG Road shopping complex. We originally booked for one night, but due to our train ticket we were arriving early. The hotel receptionist accommodated us for two nights..at a discounted price than what expedia had listed. Although I don’t agree with the 3.5 star..(as usual with Expedia hotels in India..they all have a star or two more when compared to the international start ratings..especially the US)..so being said that.The hotel in itself is small, but the rooms were of usual hotel standards. They were clean, and well maintained. The extra bed was comfortable too. Restaurant food was delicious. They had good menu choices for dinner…Fish was really good. Breakfast buffet had both Indian and continental choices. Had freshly made food and juices as well. Our local tour of Kochi via the hotel car was ridiculously costly..like every freakin Taxi in Kerala (for a mere 7KM they charge Rs. 500, and they don’t use meter), I would not take that again. Rather take the local Rikshaw (or TukTuk). Hotel staff were very friendly..especially the Front office manager. He went an extra mile to arrange for our rental car from Kochi to Munnar and beyond. Would like to thank for that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sunjeev from Delhi

Great Hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: Small Room, but very neat and clean with good Air Conditioning, Hot water etc. Location is also good as was very near to the main road.Efficient Staff
Cons: Quality of food and its presentation needs to be improved.
Location: Hotel was located very near to main road and public conveyance / taxi were available very easily. Railway station and Steamer Boat Station was 5 minut
We stayed for 1 night with our family and found this hotel excellent in terms of location, cleanliness, staff, hot water etc. However, it will be batter if hotel could provide tea / coffee maker in hotel room. Surprisingly electronic locker was available in the room. Very comfortable stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by G G from Malasia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anthony from Goa

Well located hotel and the staff is very helpful.

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: The hotel is very clean and located in the heart of the city.
My experience was good on the whole stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Balaji from Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India

comfort and value for money

Posted May 6, 2013
Location: close to most of the attractions of ernakulam. an auto stand is close by and the office is able to arrange for cabs almost on call.
stayed for 1 night. the food choices are limited but good. The best part about the hotel is its proximity to shopping places in broadway, mg road as well as the marine drive and also the railway station. overall a comfortable place at an affordable price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vicky from Delhi

Good Hospitality

Posted Mar 30, 2013
Pros: Good Hospitality.. not so expensive :-)
Had a one night stay here.. great experience, good hospitality.. located in the main cochin city.. Nearby to chennai silk (for saree lovers :-) )..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

superb

Posted Mar 27, 2013
compimentry breakfast is good...rooms are very clean
1 out of 5
by Ronnie from Atlanta, GA, USA

Poor Service and Food

Posted Nov 11, 2012
Pros: Newness of it
Cons: Service and food
Location: Close to the city
The hotel is not terrible for comfort, and is maintained okay. However, there are many things that the hotel needs improvement on. First, the food is horrible. Second, the service people are not qualified. When asked to correct an issue, they seem courteous and polite, but never even attend to the issue. You can remind them ten times, but they always pretend they are going to attend to it, but never care about it. The wi-fi was not working. There were issues with soap/towel not present in the bathroom, and both of them were not attended to even after several hours of calling/reminding. You can get extremely frustrated with the service people's indifference. I'll never recommend this hotel