Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Good Location/Clean

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Hotel was much better then we had expected for a place as small as Cochrane.
Cons: We were on the front and found the logging trucks to be noisy all night. Proximity of the train station was not a problem.
Location: Hotel is immediately across from the train station (easy access to the Polar Bear Express) and is within walking distance of several good eateries.
Checkin went smoothly. Room was clean although it had not been set up for 2 guests - had to request more towels. Parking was included as was a good continental breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great location

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Cons: Eggs and sausage for breakfast...???
It was well run and well managed. Super friendly staff. Breakfast was very good. Glad we made the choice to stay there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only hotel available in town

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Only hotel in town.......
Cons: Ambiance
Location: Polar bear not available at time of visit
Room ok for one night stay, breakfast so so, no fresh bread.......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from beaverton, ont

Good hotel close to the Polar Bear Express

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Most things.
Cons: Hours of availability for hot tub.
Location: Location for train excellent.
All good things to say with one exception. Would suggest having the hot tub available earlier to guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Staff was excellent. For some reason we had loss of water pressure in the sink and it wss fixed in less than 10 minutes of reporting it. Rooms clean and comfortable. We went during the winter carnival to watch the Jr A hockey game and we're given a free ticket to the game. Although the hotel was full with snow mobilers we had a quiet stay which was nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: quiet
Cons: decor getting tired
Location: not much to do, small rural town, visiting family for holidays
location convenient to downtown, quiet for the most part, hotel seemed empty, parking lot in back very icy & not cleared/salted very well. view onto back of buildings/apts and all the garbage bins not great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Ok place to sleep.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The breakfast was very good with plenty of options... The guy at the front desk on the evening shift was very friendly and very helpful.
Cons: I don't understand why you'd have a pool table but no tips on the sticks..they cost like 1$. If you are not going to maintain it don't have it.
Location: Was told that the Chinese food place was excellent but it was one of the worst meals we ever had..polar bear place looked nice but was closed.
Needed a place to stay in Cochrane for the night before taking the train to Moosonee and we decided we would rather stay at a Best Western than at the train station or anywhere else based on the negative reviews about people staying elsewhere in town. I will say that it was a quiet room and a good nights sleep in an average/older hotel. The front desk was helpful and they did have a nice breakfast layout in the morning that was included with the room. I still feel it was not worth the money they charged to stay there but being in Cochrane (with the lack of things to do and places to stay) I suppose beggars cant really be choosers... On the way back home we had a 30 minute drive and stayed in Iroquois Falls at a place that had a nicer room for near half the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Don't book when hockey teams book

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Staff were friendly, continental breakfast was really good
Location: just a sleep stop on way to my final destination.
Noisy. Bantam hockey team in and even the adults were loud (drinking?)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel.

Posted Jul 27, 2013
Pros: Room was very well appointed.
Location: If you're taking the train to Moosonee, it is a very convenient location.
Excellent hotel right across the street from the train station. A bit pricey, but worth it considering that there are very few other options in Cochrane.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrew from Barrie, Ontario

Pretty good!

Posted Jun 12, 2013
Pros: The Picnic table at the back, exercise room with pool-table and hottub
Cons: The pool-cue needs to be replaced
Location: Cochrane - if you gotta be there, at least stay in a decent hotel.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The continental breakfast was decent.