Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Good price, right beside snowmobike trails

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Better then i expected, very clean. Was fair priced and surrounded by good amenities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to town.

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Pros: The room was clean,presentable, close to a nice restaurant and right on Hwy 11. Large parking lot for trailers. Fast check-in.
Cons: More non-smoking rooms.
Location: I arrived late at night and left early so no time to explore.
My GPS, which is typically accurate took me to an incorrect location so I had to call for directions. At the Thriftlodge the clerk said it happens all the time so they should get that straightened out. Unfortunately the only rooms available were smoking even though their parking lot was practically empty and I was told they couldn't accommodate a non smoker. The room was cold initially and took quite awhile to warm up.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Excellent value for the money. Friendly staff. Very convenient.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Greg from Barrie

Never again

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
NO HEAT! ALARM CLOCK SHORTED OUT! BED SHEETS HAD STAINS ON THEM! BED SHEETS HAD HAIR ON THEM!!! BATHROOM WAS DIRTY! STAYED IN THE TRUCK FROM MIDNIGHT ON TO SLEEP!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston, ON

Hotel close to Train Station.

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: Location and Price per night.
Cons: The on-location restaurant could extend it's hours to include breakfast.
Location: This is a half-price alternative to the Station Inn located at Ontario Northland's Cochrane Train station - home of the Polar Bear Express.
This is not a 4 or 5 star hotel. But it's in the perfect location for those simply needing a place to stay overnight at a reasonable price. Not fancy or posh but the room was clean, furniture was in decent shape so was perfect spot to stay over the night before travelling north on the Train (located less than 2 kms from the Train station) and upon our return with the train getting in very late in the evening. Everything that Cochrane has to offer as far as restaurants/shopping is within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel staff were very professional. If you find hotels such as Best Western "lacking" then this is not a place for you. But if you are looking for a "good", budget hotel this one is perfect.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Dennis from Renfrew

I would stay here again

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
Good value for the price and having the restaurant right next door was a bonus
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by John from Strathroy

Bad air

Posted Sep 5, 2015 on Hotels
ordered a smoke free room got a smoking room. wanted 10 more $'s for a smoke free room??? should be 10 more $'s for a smoking room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Bay ON

Close To Everything

Posted Sep 4, 2015
One storey motel, clean and excellent service. Room is spacious and clean. Friendly staff.