Ratings based on 936 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Rude staff and gross room

Posted May 21, 2017
The hotel looks really nice at arrival. The lobby was nice and clean. The lobby was the end of the good experience. When we got to our floor, the carpet was disgusting and bleach stained. When we got to our room, it was worse. The bathroom had shampoo/conditioner dispensers on the shower wall that had (unknowingly to me) leaked conditioner into the tub. The tub itself looked dingy so I went to take my 12 month old son into the shower so he wouldn't have to sit in it. We both nearly died getting into the shower. Then the inside shower liner was covered in mold. At check out, they happily charged us $30/day for parking. (FYI, there are lots on either side that charge less than $2/day but we didn't park there because we were unaware of the parking charges as I have never had to pay parking at a hotel). When I asked about the additional charges, the guy at the front desk told me it was written on our valet ticket. I checked the ticket when I got back to my car and there was nothing written on it about charges so I called and spoke to a manager. She was horribly rude. She asked me "well what do you want ME to do about it?!" and told me that "it's Miami and everyone charges for parking so it's just the way it is". Had I known of the charges, I would have gladly paid! She finally agreed to credit a portion of the parking but nothing more and that if I chose to pursue any sort of refund, I'd have to "take it up with Expedia". Awful. I would NEVER stay at a Sonesta hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phil

Very nice and very clean. Great views of the bay.

Posted May 18, 2017
Nice views of the bay. The hotel was very clean and the rooms we also very clean. Front desk staff was very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Nice hotel if coconut grove is your destination

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: There is a bar/coffee shop on a roof with the pool. It is lovely at sunset.
Cons: The roof bar is the only food source in the hotel. So room service is very limited.
For family reasons coconut grove was our destination. It's okay, but not a place I would go to without specific need.
4 out of 5
by Russell

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Yomaira

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice location, lousy room

Posted May 12, 2017 on Orbitz
Before arriving, my plans changed so I went from a 3 night reservation to one night. I arrived late at night and left early the next morning so I couldn't take advantage of the good location in Cocnut Grove. The hotel lobby was nice, new and updated, but when I got off the elevator on my floor (18), I was terribly disappointed. The hallway carpet was old and dirty with many bleach type stains along the way to my room. My room itself wasn't any better. The kind I don't really want to walk barefoot in. It was old, outdated, and dirty. I was happy to only be staying there for one night. I paid far too much for that one night for the quality of that room (especially once you include overnight valet parking).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

dissapointing rooms

Posted May 12, 2017
Front of hotel and lobby were nice. Rooms however did not look like the pics. More like rooms with furniture and thermostat from the 60's. Liked the area but if I return I will look to stay somewhere else. Staff was really nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Good hotel close to Cocowalk

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: comfort of the bed and pillows, scenic view from balcony, whirl pool and pool on the roof.
Cons: 4 stains on carpet handled or carpet changed. In one corner of bathroom, possibly not fully clean. Sound proofing. Another room loud & distracting.
Location: Maria & park nearby, movie theater, small shopping area, and on weekends a farmers market close by. Plenty of restaurants.
The hotel is centrally located, a block from Cocowalk. If you want to stay in Coconut Grove, you can't be any more centrally located. It is also 1 1/2 blocks from the marina, 2 blocks from the weekend farmer's market, and plenty of restaurants. The staff at the hotel is exceptional and very helpful. Overall, the hotel was very comfortable. The bed and pillows were really comfy. Scenic view from a balcony. But were about 4 carpet stains in the room. One corner in the bathroom didn't seem completely clean. Also, the sound proofing was horrible. I could hear the bass of a stereo very loudly at night past 1am. The hotel staff said they would send security to get it turned down, but the volume didn't seem to change. In the morning, the stereo was again on with a banging bass. Things were dropped and people were arguing, door slammed and sounds got through. The ice machine in the frig would periodically go on and grind the ice. It attracted attention, but not an overwhelming sound. Aside from that, the exercise room looked in good condition, the pool & whirl pool on the roof inviting with extra towels that didn't run out until later at night. The only other comment was that the amount that I would be charged for incidentals was higher than I expected. There wasn't anything in the minibar/fridge or even travel size shampoo,etc. So a mystery what this charge might entail & were very cautious not to incur this mystery charge.
5 out of 5
by Chris

Beautiful, trendy hotel in perfect location

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
This is a beautiful, trendy hotel in the perfect location in Coconut Grove. The rooms were clean and comfortable with incredible views. Even though I had a "city view", I could see Biscayne Bay in the other direction. Kitchenette was a throw in that I didn't need which made for a smaller bathroom. Walking distance to lots and lots of restaurants and night life and lots of places to go for a run near the water. Pool on the 8th floor gives you views of the ocean and great food and drink service.
5 out of 5
by Alisia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels