Ratings based on 271 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

B&B with Sorority House feel

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Location, local feel, healthy breakfast.
Cons: Give a heads up to overnight guests about events happening in the hotel, if any. Ask first is something was consumed that carried a hard cost.
Location: Great town, great people. Nice running trails, boardwalk, walkways, restaurants, shops. Beautiful fall foliage (visited mid-Oct. 2017).
Beautiful period house. Awesome location. Nice breakfast. Many unexpected curves: bathroom is outside the room across the hall (reservation didn't say that), house doubles as event center so when you think you are coming home to rest, it is full of strangers who can see to the second floor (remember my bathroom is across the hall?) and no heads up from staff either about the event. Curtain rod in the room fell as I tried to close the curtains, it was never fixed (windows run high ceiling to floors). Had to open windows at night so it wasn't so hot in the room and there are no screens so I slept hoping no bird or bug would come inside. And finally, I got a call after checkout that a bottle of wine had disappeared from the kitchen (not even from my room) and they wanted to charge me for it. I don't want to make assumptions as to why they choose me to question my integrity. When I checked out I said goodbye to the 2 hostesses, but they were so busy talking to each other never bothered to say goodbye. I stayed 2 nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington

nice hotel walking distance from downtown shops

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Booked for a weekend get away. Perfect location and had extra money to spend since the room was a great price!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kirkland

Old World Charm

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Absolutely charming and beautiful. This hotel has lots of shared living room space with two fireplaces and is within walking distance to the lake and downtown Coeur d'Alene. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san ramon ca.

First class treatment and amenities

Posted Oct 9, 2017
The house was as charming and eclectic as can be. Wonderful ambiance and the breakfast was also spectacular!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Manakin Sabot, VA

Charming Boutique B&B

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Location
We had a great experience. Loved being able to walk to restaurants and to the water. Would certainly recommend to travelers. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Room 6

Posted Aug 21, 2017
If you book room six please note there is no shower in the room instead you walk down three flights of stairs to a shower in the basement. Not the best and not clear when we booked. Also, bed is on a very short platform with no box springs so if you have trouble getting up and down - this is not the room for you. Breakfast was good but a repeat or near repeat. The vegetable strata was good but homemade baked goods would be preferable to Costco rolls.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall a great experience

Posted Aug 4, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect location to experience this city. We went during heat spell and had the last room available, room 5. It was warm at night in our space. Although the twin beds were comfortable the room is very small. They are working on getting the router updated so it works at a reasonable speed in the upstairs. The staff was hospitable and helpful. The breakfast was wonderful as was everything else about this historic house, we loved our time in Couer d'Alene. I'd stay here again just in a larger room.
5 out of 5
by Elyssia

Beautiful place in walkable location

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed on the third floor and had a great view over Sherman road. Blackwell is very walkable to restaurants downtown and a little more of a walk to the lakefront beach. Breakfast always had an egg dish and fruit and was more substantial than we expected. We were the last ones to breakfast on Sunday and the egg frittata was already gone. Overall, this is a beautiful house, very comfortable beds and an easy location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Quaint B&B in an old house with modern touches

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Quaint B&B feel, not a corporate hotel. Although I stayed there with a buddy, this is more of a romantic place.
Cons: Shower curtain in the tub could be more spacious
Location: Right next to downtown area, walk to shops, restaurants, marina, park.
We stayed in Room 5, on the third floor, which I think is the only room with separate (twin) beds. The bathroom is across the hall, but it is only for Room 5, the other rooms have their own bathrooms. There is a clawfoot tub, which might be great for a bath, but the circular shower curtain did not batch the outline of the tub so it was pretty tight inside the curtain while taking a shower. The toilet had a modern elongated bowl, but had an old-style round toilet seat that defeated the modern design. Being on the top floor, the room had a lot of slanted walls/ceilings due to the roof line, and the closet had a door about 4 feet high. The hotel is an old house which has creaky floors and even creakier stairs. There is no elevator, and the main floor is up about 12 steps, so this is not a place for those who can't manage stairs, although there are some rooms in a separate building that do not seem to have stairs. Even so, you will need to climb the stairs to get to the breakfast area and the other amenities in the main house. Breakfast was nice, hot egg frittata, sausages, and a whole lot of other options for a satisfying breakfast. You can eat inside or out. Staff were all very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Great place to stay!! Central to everything downtown. Only downside is you dont have control of the temperature in your room ( at least in ours, room 7). They provide a fan which helped but room started off super hot snd then was chilly by the evening. Still would stay again though and highly recommend!