Ratings based on 219 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Quiet off the main drag

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Carpets in the rooms and halls are in need of replacement.
Location: A nice restaurant is within easy walking distance and Lake Couer d'Arlene is just a short distance away.
The motel is not directly on a main street, but just off from a main highway, and set back far enough from traffic to be very quiet. The front desk staff was very accommodating since my wife had a badly sprained ankle that had just occurred and we needed a room where she would not have to climb any stairs and the staff made it happen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by Ali K , Hotel Management
Hi Neil, Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent stay. Your feedback will help us to continue to improve. We hope you'll choose Quality Inn & Suites next time you're in CDA!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland OR

Great Stay

Posted Sep 19, 2017
In particular the staff was friendly, helpful & courteous. The food was good & room was comfortable. Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by Ali K, Hotel Management
Kathy, I appreciate you letting us and other travelers know about your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed it and we hope to see you again! Thank you!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Lack of an elevator can be inconvenient

Posted Sep 7, 2017
The breakfast was great and the staff also. The lobby was very upscale and hospitable....and the gardening and land scape was absolutely immaculate and gorgeous!!! The only thimbsdown would be the stairs and the inconvenience of getting luggage to rooms !
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Ali K , Hotel Management
Valued Guest, Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us! I'm glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. We do our best to let guests know that we don't have an elevator, but we realize it can be inconvenient. Please let us know in advance if you need main floor, or if we can assist with your luggage. We are happy to help!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

Absolutely would not recommend at this time.

Posted Sep 7, 2017
The bedroom and beds were clean and comfortable but the bathroom was disgusting with long dark hairs on the floor, dark dirt marks on the bath floor and a ball of dark hair covering the drain. Bathroom had clean towels but was obviously not cleaned. Breakfast waffles were nasty flat, sticky and pretty much inedible. Thank fully there were other choices. We stayed at another much cleaner hotel for our second night. Nice reception with a variety of available beverages when we were checking in and out. Pool area was also nice and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Ali K, Hotel Management
Hi Robyn, I am very sorry to hear about your recent stay with us. I can assure you that this is not the norm. I do hope that you notified the front desk immediately so we could address the issue. I'll be sure to pass your comments along to housekeeping so we can work to improve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

A good family Hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Close everything and lots of parking. Rooms are a little dated but clean and the beds are comfortable. Kids loved the pool and hot tub. Stayed there before and would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Ali K, Hotel Management
Hi Shaun, I'm glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We are continually updating the property and look forward making more improvements. We hope to see you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Wonderful place to stay. Staff was excellent, awesome cookies at night. The only complaint I have is the dryer didn't work and took all my change.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Ali K, Hotel Management
Valued guest, Thank you for your kind review, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will contact the company that provides the washers and dryers to ensure they service them. We hope to see you again soon!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bathroom was dirty, and I mean hair in the shower

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Asked to have sheets changed when we arrived, yep 20:20 show. Gal was very nice and said she would be happy to but that the hotel was very clean. Looked in the shower and there was hair on the tub snd a used bar of soap with hair on it in there as well. Need I say more?
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Ali K, Hotel Management
Valued guest, Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. I do apologize about any issues you had during your stay and I sincerely hope that you contacted the front desk about these so we could remedy the issue immediately. This is certainly not the norm for our hotel, and I assure you that we'll be working with the staff to continue to improve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place.

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: A/C mode. Off 10 mins. then on 12 seconds wakes us up and loud.
Location: Go to the Resort, eat at Dockside. Fabulous cheesecake and coconut cake, views are awesome. Do the lake drive loop. Stop in the park, feed squirrels.
Everyone was super friendly. Great bedding. Close to the Resort and downtown. Eat at Dockside.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Ali K, Hotel Management
Valued guest, Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay with us. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your time here in Coeur d'Alene! We hope to see you again next time!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Not what we expected

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: update/upgrade the rooms
Location: right off of the highway.
The hotel was a little run down and shabby. There was a nauseating "tropical pineapple" "air freshener" smell throughout the hotel halls/lobby. Breakfast was not really good at all and there was not enough room for the number of people that were there. The complimentary iced tea/lemonade in the lobby was a nice touch though, and the staff was very nice and friendly and helpful. Would not stay here again and would not recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Ali K, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I'm very sorry to hear that your stay was not what you'd expected. We will use your response to continue to improve, I hope you'd consider giving us another try again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder

Best beds!

Posted Jun 24, 2017
My husband wanted to purchase the mattress and sheets☺