Ratings based on 1,072 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA.

Loved the location right on River!

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Great hotel for being older. We couldn't hear anyone in other rooms, we only could hear people if they were in the hallway. The free breakfast wasnt anything special, and mostly over cooked. They have free bicycle rentals which was great to go explore the area. They also have paddleboards, kayak, and boat rental. So much to do right at the hotel. For the price I would stay again and a longer stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Fun in the summertime

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Nice accommodations in a serene atmosphere on the river, good restaurant/bar, and pleasant staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Happy with stay right on the water

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: We checked in on a Thursday, and there is BBQ and live music at the marina during the summer on Thursday nights! This was a great surprise!!
Cons: Building 3 could use an update. Our room wasn't clean when we arrived.
Location: The purpose of our stay was to take our family to Silverwood for 2 days, which was about 1/2 hour drive. This hotel had super easy freeway access.
I would definitely recommend a river view room. Our first night we stayed in Building 3, which was outdated and just didn't feel very clean / comfortable. Our room had an outdoor access door to the parking lot, which was deadbolted. We requested a river view room for the remaining 2 nights, and what a difference! Building 2 is much more updated and clean -- just a better all around feel. I would recommend NOT staying in Building 3. We did have a couple of issues with the room key not working, but was quickly resolved by hotel staff and not a huge deal. We were very happy with our 2nd room. We'd stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Very nice place to stay if visiting Coeur d'Alene

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Quiet and lots of green space to walk the dog
Cons: Door electronic locks - they are very tricky to get to open but I managed to find a way!!
Location: Lots of things to do in Post Falls and a very short drive into CDA, less than 10 miles!! River walk, historical sites....nice place!!
I stay frequently in CDA and this was my first time at the Red Lion, I will GO BACK. Excellent place, quiet, right on the Spokane River. I had a show dog with me so I got a room with an outside door so that we did not have to walk all through the hotel. Lots of green space. Nice walk down to the marina to the water. Trust me, this will be my hotel of choice in CDA from now out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, Or

Rode Hard, Put Away Wet...

Posted Jul 16, 2017
This room had gummy worms in every corner of the room. Slimy and old. Trash under the beds. Lots of Ear Wigs. The fridge was full of frost and the door wouldn't close. Carpet was worn through to the floor. It Took 3 hours to get towels because ours were missing. When I asked for another room, all they had were other rooms in the same condition and not overlooking the water. The free coffee in the lobby was never filled and the machine was broken. Front desk was under-staffed. The entry doors were a safety issue. One side would not open if you were trying to escape a fire. From the outside, they were supposed to require a room key for entry, but the lock had been taped open so the door would work. Never again. They need a facelift and some serious investment in maintenance. They also need to train their staff in how to clean a room and replenish it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A

if hotel doesn't have picture, don't trust it

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Overpriced hotel. If the main picture doesn't show the actual hotel and instead has a picture of boats on the river, there's a reason why. It is an old dilapidated hotel whose internal furnishings can only partly make up for this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. River view rooms are great.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Great hotel. River view rooms are awesome. Great view. Nice staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

MOLD!

Posted Jul 12, 2017
How this place had good reviews from anyone, I am unsure. First of all, we got to the lobby and there were two staff members working but only one was able to help with check in. The line was super long. We finally were checked in, got to the door to get into the building to get to our room, bags in hand, and our keys didn't work. We headed back over to the front desk/lobby where the line was still extremely long due to other people with keys that didn't work. We had our keys replaced and went back over. Our keys still didn't get us into the main building. Thankfully someone from inside let us in and after a few tries we could get into our room. First of all the room was very loud. If someone peed, you could hear it, full force, at all times of the day. There was mold growing all over in the shower and ceiling. The bathroom fan didn't work and the door wouldn't lock. Beds weren't bad, but I would never stay at this place again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Decent hotel with a great location

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: The best thing about the hotel is the location. The private beach area on the river and marina is awesome. The restaurant/deck view is great.
Cons: The hotel itself is showing some age but overall it is fine. The pool area is humid with lots of chlorine. The front desk staff needs improvement.
Location: The hotel is on the river with a marina and beach area. It is a great location. There is really nothing else nearby but Coeur d'Alene Lake is close.
We asked for adjacent rooms or rooms in close proximity and they were unable to do so. Not the end of the world. But the front desk staff made no mention of the hotel amenities other than the breakfast. We wandered around the hotel and grounds on our own and discovered a private beach with a bar/grill and a barbecue and live band. It was great. We asked a bartender if it was a private party or wedding reception and she advised it was a regular Thursday thing put on by the hotel for guests and I assume, the public. The following morning we went back down to the beach to swim and they had watercraft rentals as well as kayak and paddle board rentals. It was awesome. The breakfast staff and the beach/marina area staff were great. The front desk staff were anything but. They acted like they couldn't wait to get off work, there was no enthusiasm and I can't believe no mention of the beach area amenities and the Thursday beach party. Our room was fine. The bed was comfortable and the shower worked great. However, our remote would not work and you couldn't even change the channel manually. The tv was stuck on the Weather Station. We were too tired to notify them and try to get it fixed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Has the potential for so much more

Posted Jul 12, 2017
This hotel is in a great location, it's too bad the facility isn't better taken care of. The decor was outdated, carpets needed cleaning and it looked like every peice of glass in the building had not been wiped down in a week.