Ratings based on 1,247 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern Highlands NSW

Disappointing accommodation

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: The restaurant and breakfast room
Cons: The room was very disappointing
Location: Beach is right in front of the restaurant
We booked this resort on the recommendation of friends. We paid top rate for a very small, ordinary room that looked out on to a walkway so we couldn't keep the blinds open. The room was so small we had to put the luggage rack behind the door which we then couldn't open all the way.The porch in from of our door was grubby as was some of the walkway. The lounge chairs were pushed into a corner behind the table and dining chairs so we could not watch TV except sitting on the bed. The bathroom could do with an update. The restaurant for dinner and the breakfast room were attractive and the food was fine. But the room made us feel ripped off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Tropical Beach Haven

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Wonderful tropical setting. Rooms are well appointed with nice indoor outdoor pool complex, facilities are well maintained ... pools, tennis courts, gym. Easy access to surf beach, ample grassed areas for ball sports. Food is excellent. Great spot for weddings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lots of things to do for everyone.

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Lastminute
Cons: We didn't have a allocated car park. We went out to have dinner and when we came back the car park was full so had to park car out on street.
We only had a short stay but we enjoyed the facilities. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Would like to come back for a longer stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place but booking through Wotif a nightmare.

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Liked the hotel but it was marred by poor customer bookings follow up.
Cons: Contact booked patrons who don't turn up, so as to sort out bookings in advance prior to arrival.
Location: Location nice.
Although the stay was fine, somehow via "Wotif" the dates of stay got mixed up. We booked for the 24th and 25th of Feb, but "Wotif" booked the stay for 22nd and 23rd Feb. No notification was sent from Wotif or Aanuka, asking where we were ? On arrival, of course, there was no booking. Thus the only room available was an upgrade to a more expensive room. So very disappointing when the our budgeted stay was blown out by the upgrade of an additional cost of nearly double the booked price.
5 out of 5
by Brian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Wotif
Very relaxing Great breakfast Great location Will go again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Quiet location, close to town & beach

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location to the beach
Cons: Parking could be an issue if you returned to the resort late, especially car park 1 & 2
Location: Close to shops, beach, learn to surf & the big banana amusement park. Lots of swimming pools on site, tennis & mini golf.
Good value for money. A short drive to a large shopping plaza, close to a lovely beach & several pools for those with children. Had a power issue with our room half way through our stay & had to relocate to another room. Even though an inconvenience, staff were very helpfull in assisting us to shift & our new room was an upgrade & closer to facilities. We were also given a complementary breakfast for two. A quiet location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Relaxing stay, great amenities

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Wotif
Stayed just overnight for a business trip is wish I had more time to enjoy my surroundings! Staff very nice and helpful. Beautiful views from the bar and while having the buffet breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, SA

Good place for a stopover on the drive through

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Wotif
The resort is nicely positioned out of town so you would need a car to do things unless you were planning just to stay within the resort. The resort itself is nice - though looking a little dated and the buffet breakfast whilst okay, a little pedestrian (the view makes up for it though) It's position on the beach is beautiful however be careful if you have kids as a climb on the rocks at the beach revealed another stunning beach - for nudists! All in all, a comfortable place to stay with nice amenities, pleasant staff, but not what I would call luxury.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Warwick Qld

Nice place for a stop over

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Cost - it was very reasonably priced and very comfortable. It was very good value for money
Location: Location was beautiful - so close to Diggers Beach if you enjoy a surf or even looked pretty good for wetting a line. Was a great beach for my mornin
Was visiting several Councils in the region and thought Coffs Harbour was a great location as a base. The Break Free Aanuka was perfect for my needs. My room was well insulated so that I could not hear any noise from outside and the bed was very comfortable. The bar and restaurant was lovely and the staff were excellent. Breakfast was also first rate.