Ratings based on 346 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Beautiful, old hotel.

Posted Jul 21, 2017
This old hotel has such character. Our bathroom was renovated with clean & classic marble. We were supposed to get a nice sized room on 3rd floor but we were offered 2 twin beds & we requested 1 double bed. All they were able to offer was a very small room on 2nd floor which we accepted. It was fine for 1 nite stay. We had a river view which was beautiful & it made up for the need to change rooms. Breakfast was perfect & the staff very warm & friendly. Perfectly located on riverfront & close to cafes & restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Old school Art Deco right at the entrance to the old city. Definitely not a cookie cutter experience. Generous size room. Very accommodating staff and nice breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portugal

Art Deco gem in great location

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pristine Art Deco building. Friendly helpful staff. Generous breakfast. Internet only in common areas. Located on the Mondego river at the foot of the pedestrian shopping area. Close to restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is a grand old European hotel.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
This hotel maintains the atmosphere of the grand hotels of Europe built during the Belle Epoch. The dining room is a step back in time with original carved wood paneling, faux painted marble columns, etc. Other parts of the hotel also keep this original decor and is a treat for those who like antiques and period pieces. The air conditioning works great. There are problems however. We were are the fourth floor and there is very little water pressure making it almost impossible to wash and rinse your hair. Add to this the fact that you cannot control hot and cold water, it is scalding one moment and cold the next. We did complain, but all remained the same. They did offer to let us shower in a room on the first floor. The hotel advertises wi-fi don't count on this if you are on the fourth floor. The hotel is aware of the problem and simply said you cannot usually get wi-go on the fourth floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Retro hotel close to the sights.

Posted May 16, 2017
Rick Steves pick. Great elevator and decent breakfast.
3 out of 5
by Brian

Lovely location but not up to 2017 standards

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, friendly staff, satisfactory breakfast. Hotel is 2 star. No Wifi except lobby. No television reception. Single beds. Toilet right against the sink.
5 out of 5
by Lorie

Hope I can come back some day!!

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Everything about this hotel is perfect. We walked down the street from the train station- less than 5 min. Our room had a huge window that opened up to the river/street. Even though the building is "old", the important things were new, like a hot shower, good wifi, helpful front desk, fabulous breakfast. I look forward to sending friends to this hotel and to coming back some day!
4 out of 5
by Mark

Grande Damme of Coimbra

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
We loved this hotel. This was once the Grande Damme of Coimbra, but now she reflects better days long past. The hotel has undergone some renovations, but luckily many of the original fuxtures and appointments are intact, like the brass railings and seat in the wooden elevator. The old character is exactly what we liked about this place. The staff were also extremely helpful, and even let us park our motorcycle inside an off-street storage space.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good place to stay

Posted Apr 13, 2017
This hotel has lots of character and is well located.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Historical hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2017
The hotel architecture is amazing! Also is located in a very convenient area, walking distance to the university and all city tourist attractions. The best of this hotel is the breakfast dinning room, huge and beautiful.