Ratings based on 257 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida, USA

Nice hotel, with great location and views.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Look above comments.
Cons: Nothing really; glad I chose them.
Location: Some evenings, there are FADO shows around town; try to go to one of them, if you can. Coimbra is a University town on a hill; cobbled streets.
Did booking Online, good price; great location; rooms in back have great views of the city; clean rooms and friendly staff; nice breakfast included. They have a terrace, with great views and with a bar, open in evenings; nice place to sitdown at the end of the day and enjoy a drink.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Québec

Hotel très bien situé.

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: L'emplacement et l'accueil.
Cons: Enlever les tapis dans les chambres et prévoir un parasol pour la terrasse.
Location: Tout près de la rue piétonnière et de l'Université et des attraits principaux.
Le séjour à été agréable. Choix variés pour le petit déjeuner.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ideal location

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Only stayed one night but the hotel had everything we needed. Best bit was the roof terrace particularly at night for the view. Room comfortable but a bit small. Quiet and well-equipped. Excellent for a short stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sacramento, ca

outstanding hotel in a very cool city.

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Exceptional staff and very good facilities.
Cons: For the value, there is really not much improvement you can make.
Location: The hotel is very close to the university of Coimbra and most of the historical sites in the city. It's a great location.
We really loved this hotel and the city of Coimbra. We spent only one night and day here as we drove from Lisbon to Porto. It was totally worth the visit and Hotel Oslo far exceeded our expectations. We had a picnic on the terrace at the top of the hotel overlooking the entire city and it was one of the memorable experiences we had in Portugal. The staff at this hotel was truly exceptional. At some point we asked to have a picnic around 2 PM and they said, sure, we'll open the dining room and you can just use it. They were amazing. They spoke English well, were always very helpful and gave us excellent directions for things to see. The city of Coimbra itself it totally worth visiting. The university is a must see; one of the oldest universities in the world. Listening to Fado in Coimbra, is also a cultural experience that should be on your list.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montréal

Ne manquez pas la terrasse au coucher du soleil!

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Facile à trouver. Parking. Ascenseur. Décor récent et de bon goût. Petits déj. Proximité. La terrasse!
Location: Il faut se perdre dans le méandre des rues étroites. Toute la vieille ville est à distance à pied. La bibliothèque de l'université est à voir.
Très bien situé, valet de stationnement gratuit, terrasse au dernier étage avec une vue époustouflante sur la vieille ville (fauteuils, couvertures). La salle des petits déjeuners (bien décorée) est juste au dessous et offre la même vue. Notre chambre confortable donnait sur la rue mais nous n'avons pas été importuné par le bruit. Nous avons été charmé par la vieille ville et la proximité de l'hôtel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes

Good hotel for overnight stay

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: All the staff were friendly and helpful. The bar and restaurant are located on the top floor which provides a great view of the city..
Cons: Nothing
Location: It is close to the regional train station which means it's also near the city centre, so all sights are within walking distance.
Only had a 24-hour stay in Coimbra so needed an easily accessible, pleasant hotel which Hotel Oslo provided. The single room was quite cramped but fine for such a short period of stay. The buffet breakfast was fine too.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Fantastic Hotel in a Central Location

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Location: The city center and University are a short walk from the hotel.
The hotel location is fantastic, and the room was very comfortable. The roof deck has an gorgeous view, and we ate two picnics there while enjoying the view of the city and Coimbra University. The staff was exceptional. They allowed us to check in early. Anything we requested was handled quickly and graciously. The breakfast was excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami beach, FL

great hotel close to center of town, great rooftop

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: staff, rooms, cleanliness, location
Location: 10 minutes from center of town
wonderful hotel, more like a 4 star than 3 star! staff if great and helpful. location is wonderful as is breakfast buffet and rooftop terrace with view of old city. a must stay!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mumbai

Train station proximity, stunning university views

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: Hotel Location from the train station Hotel's courteous staff Stunning views of the cityscape from the Rooftop + Restaurant
Cons: Size of the rooms (were smaller if not similar sized of a typical Ibis Hotel). We could not open our suitcases and ran in to each other while walking
Location: Hotel is perfectly situated from Train station Few meters to the old town 20-30 mins to the Coimbra University (depending on fitness due to incline)
One of the best Hotels in Coimbra which are closest to the Train Station (barely a few meters). You must chose this if you wish to spend 1 night in the town. We stayed over in Coimbra while passing between Porto and Lisbon. The Hotel staff gave us an early check-in on request. We checked in to our room and headed for the visiting the city and came back in the hotel to explore the roof-top terrace granting us stunning views of the Coimbra town views (highly recommended). We again explored the town during the night. Followed by a hearty breakfast at another restaurant balcony with city views and had an early check-out. Great experience and no disappointments.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado, USA

Excellent Location and Good Value

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Pros: The location and the peaceful feeling generated by the sleeping rooms' decor.
Cons: Fresh orange juice instead of processed at breakfast. Larger rooms--but this would mean knocking out walls and having fewer rooms to produce revenue.
Location: It's an easy walk to restaurants, coffee shops, and stores. At Portagem Square, you can catch a trolley to take you up the city's steep, steep hills.
This hotel's best attribute is its location--a long block from Portagem Square and the Santa Clara Bridge and half a block from a very good restaurant (Solar de Bacalhau). Although the hotel's buffet breakfast is adequate and is served on the top floor with a wonderful view of the old city, a terrific coffee shop next door will satisfy your craving for an espresso and a pastel de nata.The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and a valet takes your car to an off-site parking lot, for which there is no charge. The rooms are tiny, even cramped, but the decor is contemporary Scandinavian and quite serene, and the price makes the hotel a good value.