Ratings based on 540 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicagoland

Warm Welcome, Great Location

Posted Dec 8, 2017
We received such a warm welcome from the Reception Staff, in particular a steely blue eyed young man (sorry, I should have gotten his name) who, in perfect English pulled out a map and showed us everything to see and do, where restaurants were located nearby. We followed his mapped out tour and in five wonderful hours, we saw this beautiful town. The rooms are small, but very clean. They honored our request for a quiet room and room 312 was just that. Breakfast buffet is adequate, rooftop bar was not open due to weather, but we did get some nice pictures. Best asset of this hotel is its location and it’s staff....everyone from the valet parking attendant to the breakfast staff had a smile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Above and beyond

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Paulo and staff were awesome. Very accommodating. We had a wonderful stay and wished we stayed longer. We had checked out and left for Porto. While at Porto, I realized a sweater missing. I left it at Hotel Oslo. I called and said they would check with the person who cleaned the room. Gave them our Porto hotel info and that afternoon Hotel Oslo called back to let me know they have my sweater and gifts from Fatima. I said we would pick them up the next day on our way back to Lisbon. Surely all that was taken care of. Thank you thank you! We're from California US. We certainly hope to be back again someday. Coimbra is a special place and the hotel staff certainly made it magical. Thank you! Josie & Maria Nov 15, 2017
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cosy and modern hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2017
The hotel was nice and modern with close proximity to a local train station. Breakfast was good with an excellent view but we loved going up to the rooftop to read the most. Only downside was the actual rooms are quite small - barely enough room to set down the suitcase and it definitely a tight fit in the standup shower. All in all, a lovely stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yerevan

Good value for money

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Close to the train station. Excellent view of the University. OK breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Great hotel location with a very helpful staff.

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Most everything. Breakfast and parking were included and that really was great.
Cons: Really nothing. We were charmed. And we loved the city.
Location: We literally followed Rick Steves guide and enjoyed everything about the city. The university was especially interesting, as were the Roman ruins.
We were delighted with Hotel Oslo. Our room was ready when we arrived a couple of hours prior to suggested arrival time. The staff made tour reservations for us and we hit the pavement immediately after stowing our luggage. Very close to all historic sites and quality restaurants.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tavira, Portugal

Nice, but small

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Nice location at foot of town, but the rooms are very small. Clean and modern (great shower), but barely room for 2 people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port of Spain, Trinidad

Great roof deck and friendly staff

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: They provided free valet service for our car.
Cons: The rooms could be spruced up a bit.
Location: The hotel was close to the river, which had a nice river walk. There was a nice bakery across the street and a good rooftop bar down the street.
We really enjoyed our two nights at the Hotel Oslo despite the fires that were raging not far from Coimbra while we were there. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful and always remembered what room we were in. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. The room was comfortable if not particularly attractive. The real star was the roof deck with its view of the university. The furniture was comfortable and they served drinks and snacks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Good choice for exploring center of Coimbra

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Excellent location
Cons: Breakfast could be better.
Location: The old cathedral (Se Velha), University of Coimbra, Igreja Santiago, Igreja Santa Cruz.
I chose Hotel Oslo for its ease of access to historic core of Coimbra on foot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Best view in town!

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Loved the rooms with the view, the roof top seating w/bar and the staff was very helpful.
Location: The University is wonderful with many different things to see.
We arrived at this hotel road weary after a long travel. The staff at the desk asked if we wanted an upgrade to a room with a view. We were stunned with the amazing view of the University and old town Coimbra up on the hill. How did we get so lucky? Rooftop with seating bar nearby. The hotel is within a block of the train station. You can walk to all the sights. Very soundproof. Only downside is that a few blocks away there were a number of shady characters consistently hanging around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, NM

Nice hotel close to restaurants and tour buses

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Hotel is a block away from train station. Lurdes at the front desk very knowledgeable and helpful.