Ratings based on 294 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs refurbishment

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
This was supposed to be a luxury hotel. However, it is badly in need of refurbishment. The first room they gave us had scratched/damaged furniture and the bathroom sink was cracked. We complained and after a fuss, one of the directors gave us another room which was better (although inferior to the one booked) but also badly in need of an update. We were therefore very disappointed with this hotel. That said, the public rooms and gardens were lovely. Note that it is a 15 minute walk to the edge of the old town and then further walking uphill is necessary to get to the university (oldest, most historic) area.
5 out of 5
by Carol from Montrea

Perfect romatic getaway -

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent hotel for a romantic week end- Beautiful gardens and pool side. very quiet and slect - Had an excellent dinner - good wine selection -
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scottsdale,az

Totally under construction

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: The gardens are lovely
Cons: Everything
Location: Coimbra center is great. Dux is a fabulous restaurant, great small plates (petiscos) and wines. White wine sangria is awesome.
One day this will be a very lovely place to stay. At the moment, it is totally under construction. Our rooms were literally next to one of the construction sites. The noise was rediculous. We were even having lunch on the patio and they started cutting tile...the dust was everywhere. They were taking out beds down our hallway and rolled up the carpet in our hallway. It was absolutely absurd. Fortunately the hotel manager did right by us. If you are planning on a stay, either wait a month or two; or request a room in the main building, away from the garden rooms and make sure the construction above or next to you is done. We were not the only ones to complain, there was a line.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal canada

Hotel under serious renovations

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Very disappointed they should notify the extensive reservations on Expedia.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wait until construction is complete!

Posted May 13, 2016
There was no mention of major construction going on. Smell of paint and varnish. Main buildings closed off. Should have cost less due to this inconvenience. When completed will be nice but not until then. Internet was a big problem.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what we expected.

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Pros: The staff was lovely and the gardens are beautiful.
Cons: The hotel feels very tired. While the photos show a palace, that is not the part the current rooms are.
Location: Coimbra is a nice city and one should definitely see the University library. Nice city to just walk around.
The hotel was not what we expected. They are in the middle of a renovation. While the staff was wonderful and the gardens are lovely overall the hotel was a big disappointment. It is tired and a fifteen minute walk to the town. Had we known about the renovation and the distance from the town, we would have stayed elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Easy walk for us into town. Staff helpful especially booking Fado and dinner for us. Restaurant offerings very good, presentations Lots of offerings at breakfast buffet with view of the gardens. Be sure to get out and enjoy the gardens. Older part of hotel is having some renovations but it really didn't affect us. Enjoy!
4 out of 5
by Al

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Christopher from Washington, DC

Dated "luxury" hotel?

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
We decided to stop in Coimbra on the way back to Lisbon. The hotel was suffering a bit form recent unseasonably high rains and many of the amenities were closed because of that (including the spa). The room was a decent size (we were told we were upgraded...but...) but smelled of mildew unfortunately. They tried to disguise the smell with a type of fragrance which only made it worse. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was nice. The hotel is dated, absolutely, and I'm not sure how it is named a Small Luxury Hotel of the world, because it's certainly not been renovated recently.The area around the hotel is a neighborhood and you'll have to walk about 1.5km to get to the touristy area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Great palace hotel in Coimbra

Posted Jan 20, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: Luxury at an affordable price.
Cons: No complaints
Location: Close to the city without being in the cramped noisy narrow streets. We visited the University, Se Velha Cathedral and strolling the city streets.
We booked three rooms when we stayed in Coimbra. The hotel is across the river from the main town but takes only 10 minutes to walk there. Used to be a palace and still has some of the trappings; large and opulent bedrooms, luxury fittings, stately rooms and accoutrements and very quiet. Situated within lovely gardens although being winter, they were not at their best. Very helpful staff and we enjoyed a magnificent evening meal in the dining room. Very highly recommended and a good price for the rooms.