Ratings based on 1,066 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

nice

Posted Jul 26, 2017
great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

An experience out of this world

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: everything including the room , cleanliness, food and above all a service with smile and a genuine desire by staff to help.
Cons: If they can bring down the hotel rate without compromising on anything.
Location: Ideal location with plenty of activities around, sea, Art Galleries, Museum, Business and more.
We did not expect the The hospitality and the quality of service could be this good. Our stay was so pleasant that we did not feel like leaving the hotel for sightseeing etc.could not find fault with anything. A guided tour of the Hotel is an added feature which can not be missed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

We felt like Royalty

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Pros: We felt like royalty staying here!
Location: Great location!
Amazing stay at this beautiful hotel. Nothing is to much trouble. Its a wonderful experience to stay here
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Eager to please

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Atmosphere, the way the staff treat you, quality of food, quality of services such as the spa, the location, having a pool.
Cons: Not to do renovation works in the middle of the night. And to ensure all rooms are completely soundproof.
Location: Mumbai is one of my favourite cities in India. So much to soak up.
I've been to India five times and treated myself this time to the Taj Palace in Mumbai. I got a great deal through Expedia and everything about the hotel up to the second night was amazing. The staff, comfort, facilities, breakfast. But then for the second, third and fourth nights there were renovation works taking place. Not only during the hours that the hotel said they would (9am to 7pm) but during the night all I could hear from neighbouring rooms / via the airconditiong vents was hammering and drilling. I complained several times to staff as this severely ruined my sleep. They first apologised with a free massage then moved me to a different room to sleep on the last night, then upon check-out advised I would get a refund for one night. So despite the issues and unfortunate experience I was, at least, happy that the staff bent over backwards trying to apologise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Munshi

Fabulous heritage property and great service

Posted May 29, 2017
We stayed at the club room in the heritage wing. Rooms have been designed with great care to preserve the history and ambience of the old. Although the size and layout is smaller than typical luxury properties but it is replete with amenities. Private butler, club facilities etc make it an extremely convenient option for short stay - whether you are ttkraveling for business or with family. Overall a great experience !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT and CA

Above and beyond expectations

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, food
Cons: Nothing
Location: Next to the India gate and ferries to Elephanta Caves and Colaba Market is very close by.
Great staff! We were given a room upgrade, and the staff couldn't have been more kind and helpful. The hotel provides lots of lovely little "extras." The floral arrangements were gorgeous, and the food delicious. Location couldn't be better, and stunning view of the India Gate from the Sea Lounge restaurant. Hope I get to go there again!
5 out of 5
by Krystyna

Could not fault it at all! Sheer perfection

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely fantastic experience staying at the Taj! I could not fault any of it; the staff were always on hand, room was cleaned twice a day to perfection. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming, we stayed in the palace wing which was just breathtaking. I look forward to visiting the Taj again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta ga

Posted May 12, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Beautiful hotel. Great service and staff.
Cons: Don't put people in rooms that you know have a problem.
I have stayed here in the past. I was not offered a room in the nice old original section. Instead I was put in a room in the newer tower. Not bad but not like the original. The part that was not good was the construction that was occurring on a floor above me from 10am to 10pm. All the staff could do was apologize and aske to move us.
5 out of 5
by RAM AMULMAL

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
Great Experience. a big MUST.
5 out of 5
by Paul

Service at its best

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing hotel, amazing service. Need to be aware that Taj Mahal Palace is the original hotel and the Taj Mahal Tower is a modern separate wing that doesn't give you the same feeling as being in the Palace.