Ratings based on 659 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warrington

Not all refurbished, noisy building site in front

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Pros: The staff were very attentive.
Cons: The building works need to be finished. Also the big restaurant could be made more intimate for the Italian meal in the evening.
Location: Ok location when metro building works are completed.
Put in a 5th floor unrefurbished room - very poor for a 5 star. . Complained and put in a nice refurbished 15th floor room. Awoken at 6.30am with loud banging noise from the long term metro train works in front of the hotel. The noise continued until 9:30 pm. Not pleasant at all. Staff very good, and did their best under difficult circumstances.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Hotel at present near a metro construction

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Initial check in was very disappointing. Mix up between Expedia booking I had and the one in their books. Unfortunate customer service around that was below par for at least 24 hours. Had to call Expedia myself as hotel just refused to honor what my booking said. Customer service of Expedia was excellent. They said they would refund any extra charges I would have from the hotel. However next day I asked to see the General manager of hotel. Was met by Tahseen who was one of the managers. She was excellent and displayed what one would expect from a Taj manager and resolved the issue immediately. Pooja at the front desk was wonderful and very helpful as well. Zamanjit made an effort to help and was very pleasant. Unfortunately Shivjit was very disagreeable even when Expedia called him. Overall the hotel was very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and had good variety. Staff was very courteous. Thai restaurant was excellent. Avoid konkan restaurant. Food was very spicy even when mild and caused a huge stomach upset. The hotel is close to Gateway of India and other sites. Very convenient. But ask for rooms facing in as city view rooms are very noisy due to metro construction.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London England

Great location and comfortable hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: Location, Room service, Pool
Cons: Breakfast spread and staff
I stayed in Vivanta by Taj President for 2 nights in November 2017. My room was held for a late checkin and a hotel driver came to meet me at the airport. The room was clean and the staff in general was quite friendly. The only slight let down was at breakfast, when the staff was seemingly too busy to care about whether I had eaten or not. Room was comfortable and clean. Room service was prompt and delicious. Overall, a 4.5/5. would definitely recommend to someone visiting Mumbai, especially on a business trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking out the time and sharing such a kind review of Vivanta by Taj – President! I am delighted to hear your stay with us was excellent, especially the facilities and our services. We are humbled & grateful for your feedback. As you discovered, our colleagues are the key to our success. I truly believe they do their best to ensure all of our guests are looked after with the true spirit of Taj hospitality. We have noted your feedback on the breakfast service and have taken appropriate amends so as to improvise the overall breakfast experience. I would very much like to meet you in person on your next stay with us, so please do let me know when you will be returning to Mumbai! Warm regards, Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager Vivanta by Taj, President Mumbai
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Excellence

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Of the three 5-star hotels I have enjoyed in Mumbai, The Vivantana had the top service, the top breakfast (wow), and the best Indian Restaurant that I found in the city; many locals go there for dinner. The room was luxurious and I truly enjoyed deep sleep in the comfortable bed. A gem. Enjoy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Karan Godhwani, Hotel Management
Dear Alan, I am delighted to hear your stay with us was especially our services, the buffet breakfast spread at Trattoria, the food & beverage selection at the Konkan cafe & the hand picked posturepedic bed. We are humbled & grateful for your feedback. As you discovered, our associates are really the key to our success. I truly believe they do their best to ensure all of our guests are looked after with the true spirit of Taj hospitality. Once again Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What is there to fault?

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: Breakfast buffet was amazing, bus station nearby. Family sense of being in a nice suburb. Public amenities such as banks in 5 mins walking distance.
Cons: Just having a moveable shower head as the bathroom had a fixed rainfall shower had.
Location: It is a 20 mins walk to Taj Palace hotel and Gateway of India. Bus right outside take you to the main train stations. Metro will soon be done.
Sorry for the late update! This hotel is right at the southern tip of Mumbai so beware the 90 mins journey or so at peak times in a taxi from the airport. A haven from the noise, chaos and pollution as soon as you walk into the scented lobby. I was treated very well as a non resident Indian. All service was quick and done as told - very surprised. Turn down service, needing electrical plugs and getting extra bottles of water were all promptly delivered. Front desk staff all very knowledgeable and sorted my phone wifi super quick and advised of all locations. Bus service right outside will take you to the two main rail way stations (CST and Churchgate) in 30 mins or so at 9 rupees or so no need for rip off taxis. A metro station is being built there so making it even easier to get there. It is in a very well off suburb making it a great place to see locals. Breakfast buffet was a dream every morning with excellent service and choice - my pictures made every one jealous with traditional Indian and European dishes! 3 restaurants on site and a kicking nightclub. I ate at the indian restaurant and it was a refined Indian delight. If you want to save money then a veggie restaurant is a 10 mins walk behind the hotel, it is cheap, clean and tasty - ask the front desk where 'Kamant's' is. They also take credit card. Generally a very nice experience and was very surprised with the service that made me feel welcome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Karan Godhwani, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking out the time and sharing such a kind review of Vivanta by Taj – President! I am delighted to hear your stay with us was fantastic, especially the buffet breakfast spread at Trattoria and our location. We are humbled & grateful for your feedback. As you discovered, our staff is really the key to our success. I truly believe they do their best to ensure all of our guests are looked after with the true spirit of Taj hospitality. We have also made note of the suggestions for change and would make the necessary changes. I would very much like to meet you in person on your next stay with us, so please do let me know when you will be returning to Mumbai! Warm regards, Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager Vivanta by Taj, President Mumbai
4 out of 5
by Stuti

The Mumbai Taj Experience

Posted Oct 13, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent service
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2017
Dear Guest, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Vivanta by Taj President! Our staff works diligently to anticipate guest needs, and I am thrilled you felt we met and perhaps exceeded your expectations. I would very much like to meet you in person on your next stay with us, so please do let me know when you will be returning to Mumbai! Warm regards, Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

First time at Taj

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, room clean and comfortable.
Location: Great location in SoBo
Taj President is in a great location, easy to reach with lots transport options. I got a great deal. The standard of service is truly amazing. Nothing is too much trouble, and all is done with professionalism and a friendly approach. The room is very comfortable and the staff truly welcoming. Great value and a lovely experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2017 by Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review. We truly appreciate your kind words and trust in us. I am happy to hear that our staff and services met your need and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Warm regards, Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager
5 out of 5
by Milind

Excellent

Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Hotels
It was amazing. The hospitality was excellent n worth. All the concern staff persued their services as desire. Always wish to have a stay in my visits in pipeline to Mumbai. Am thankful to all staff from Lower management to top management for tendering service as desire by me. Wishing all staff best. Thanks & regards Milind Bagaddeo
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review. We truly appreciate your kind words and trust in us. I am happy to hear that our staff and services met your need and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Warm regards, Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager
5 out of 5
by HUZEFA

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Warm regards, Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Orbitz
Good hotel, but with small rooms. Very good staff and food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your candid review on your stay with us. In order that you experience world class hospitality, we are currently under the process of renovating and restoring our rooms across categories. The look and feel of the rooms are being worked upon to suit the needs of discerning urban travelers like yourself. These rooms will be available to our guests over the next few months. We look forward to welcoming you back to experience them in their new avatar. Warm regards, Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager