Ratings based on 436 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midlands, UK

Quiet, well located hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: Our room was quiet and dark; two things I require for a good sleep.
Cons: Update of the decor and mattress was a little too soft . Still Comfortable but soft. Shower was fixed so if updated would have flexible hose.
Location: Good location Off A12. Easy access to Colchester city centre and surrounding areas. Big Sainsbury’s next exit off A12 should you need it.
Was apprehensive after reading some reviews but rooms were clean and quiet. Location was just off the A12 but no traffic noise. Good blackout curtains and decor, maybe a little dated but very pleasant. Well proportioned rooms and ensuites. Good lounge and dining area off reception. Would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Marks Tey Hotel colchester

Posted Dec 20, 2017
Pros: Clean, welcoming and not to expensive
Cons: No piped Xmas songs 24/7 when relaxing at meal ANNOYING
Location: Colchester
Fantastic hotel, Staff are very friendly and rooms are clean and warm, I love Christmas and all that goes with it, BUT whilst at evening dinner we were subjected to out dated piped Xmas songs which made us leave dinner Early, and breakfast yep piped outdated Xmas songs at 7.30 , other than that fantastic stay but lose the old music
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from freckaham

Nice hotel .

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Close to Colchester zoo .so was very conveignent for us .and lovely breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and dated

Posted Nov 27, 2017
The bed was fine but the hotel was very outdated, bathroom was dangerous had a warning to make sure you held on to grab bar you had no choice. No computer in common area.
5 out of 5
by patricia

A good all round hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2017 on Hotels
Visiting around the area. Pleased with our stay at this hotel. Warm ,Clean and a good breakfast. Staff excellent. Will stay again .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for business

Posted Nov 18, 2017 on Hotels
Really nice building and rooms are definitely above the average for a Beat Western. Other than that not much to report; the car park seemed a little bit small if in being really picky.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Convenient location but very tired hotel.

Posted Nov 13, 2017
We use this hotel when we find a very cheap deal as its’ location is convenient for us. The hotel is very tired as are some of the staff. The chairs in the bar are filthy, the decor in the restaurant is so old. The rooms are old and tired, the heating in the rooms is loud and antiquated. Some of the staff behave like they don’t want to be there. The breakfast is not worth £10...soggy undercooked bacon and soggy anaemic hash browns. If you can get a cheap deal then use it for what it is, a bed for the night but don’t have breakfast there...there’s a F&Bs and a McDs up the road.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

clean, tidy, comfotable - poor wifi.

Posted Nov 12, 2017 on Hotels
good pleasant service, gym facilities good and food very nice. Overall clean and tidy, no noise and comfortable. Wifi wasn't great, in end had to tether off phone to get work done on laptop, but overall not bad.
4 out of 5
by Andrew

Cheap and cheerful

Posted Nov 12, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was very clean and staff friendly. Didn’t use the spa facilities. Stayed 2 nights. Housekeeping staff came round early in the morning. Was still in the room. House keeping obviously didn’t come back to check the room on another occasion after their one attempt. However reception had spare coffee and we didn’t need new towels etc.
4 out of 5
by Graham

Comfortable hotel with friendly staff

Posted Nov 7, 2017 on Hotels
OK, this is certainly not the worst hotel I have stayed in. The people are friendly and look after you very well. The hotel food is good although as in most hotels I feel overpriced but there is little choice in the surrounding area. My real gripe is this is not the first hotel I have stayed in where the decor & furniture feel like they have been transported from the 19080's. Sorry just my opinion. The hotel also seems to get a lot of coach parties which seem to be aimed at retired people. In the main, for a one or two-night business stopover the hotel is adequate and comfortable.