Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from CHESHIRE

very convenient

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Convenient location for my place of work and cleanliness of the room
Cons: The mattress had a significant dip in the centre. Maybe the chef was off duty on the evening I was there the fishcakes were hard and fries undercooked
Location: I was only here for work so didn't get chance to look about
I stayed at this hotel which was just 2 miles from my meeting place. It was obvious that the hotel had been recently refurbished by the smell of new carpet! Sadly the mattress hadn't been changed and had a dip in the centre. The fire alarms worked -- as demonstrated when the alarms went off before 6am on the day I was there! I wouldn't recommend dining there as it wasn't the nicest meal I've eaten but Colchester wasn't that far away which I'm sure would give better choice..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Good reasonably-priced hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2017
Pros: Newly-renovated room & excellent service. Great value.
Cons: Renovations were under way, so things were a little chaotic. However, we were warned about this when we made our booking.
Location: Lovely country surroundings. A short drive to central Colchester.
Extremely courteous and helpful staff, from front-desk to housekeeping. We stayed for 9 nights, good service was consistent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Reception, Hotel Management
Thankyou for your feedback, and for putting up with the odd banging here or there, we're glad you enjoyed your stay in the new rooms and would love if you could join us now the hotel is completed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel lovely setting

Posted May 27, 2017
Lovely hotel in a nice setting but could be made better by the addition of a power shower. I would stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Reception, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback, and will pass on the message regarding the power shower. We are glad you enjoyed your stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex u k

Clean comfortable and pleasant

Posted May 3, 2017
Room was lovely generally, carpet worn out stained Which was a shame but there is a re vamp going on currently. Bed large and comfortable. Good linen and quiet clean room with new Windows. Good nights sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and friendly

Posted Apr 28, 2017
We only stayed for one evening but as soon as we arrived we were greeted with friendly staff. My first impression was how clean and well set out the hotel was. Our room was sufficient for our need and the bed was huge and very comfy, we slept very well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Well priced, good mid-range hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, privacy
Cons: Cleanliness
Friendly staff and good service. Some cleanliness issues with the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017
The staff were very pleasant and welcoming, the hotel was clean, the beds are amazing so comfortable the only let down was the carpet was marked and stained which was not nice and also they did not serve food until 6.30pm so had to go out to eat
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geneva

Handy hotel for Colchester area

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: A bed, shower and toilet - what more do you need?
Cons: Work was ongoing to improve facilities when I stayed so should be better in future.
Location: Lots.
Clean rooms, friendly staff. Fine for a stay to visit local area and people.
4 out of 5
by Gregory

Great value !

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
Our room had everything that you would want and was clean and spacious.