Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great looking hotel with good facilities

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: complimentary sachets of hot chocolate in the bedrooms next to the tea and coffee.
Location: I was on a work visit so didn't have time to go anywhere.
I stayed at the Holiday Inn Colchester for the first time for one night only and had a good experience. I would definitely go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely place to stay

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Very pleasant staff, who were always happy to help. Room was clean and bright. Nice restaurant and bar.
4 out of 5
by Simon

OK, but slow check-in

Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
Check-in was very slow with only one person on the desk, otherwise it was clean and tidy and the food was OK
4 out of 5
by Graham

Thank you

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
It was good but disappointed we did not get adjoining rooms as requested as there for birthday celebrations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth, UK

Nice hotel and quiet setting

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Good decor, good size room, amazing bathroom/shower. Good selection of drinks behind the bar, good food.
Cons: May not be able to be improved but air con vent location above the head in the beds caused a restless nights sleep due to temperature.
Location: Location is very good, nice quiet setting. And even though close to the motorway, you couldn't hear any cars. Colchester Zoo is nearby.
I stayed at this hotel for my uncle's wedding. The hotel is very pretty, in a quiet setting. Bar area is quite tight but plenty of seating and a larger restaurant area to the side. Behind the bar there is plenty of options when it comes to drink (I was very please they had Guinness and the Strawberry Gin is lovely!) Also, the food during the wedding meal was amazing. The staff were okay, not amazing, but not terrible either. I think as this was a very busy day with a wedding taking place in the hotel, they may have been rushed off their feet as expected, but very helpful nonetheless. Special mention has to go to the young lad who was the wedding planner, he was all over the place and made everything run smoothly on the day. To the room, very clean, nice decor (girlfriend was surprised at the good size TV), bathroom and shower were amazing, bed very comfy. The only issue we had with the room was that the air con vent was directly above the pillows of the bed, so when it got a bit too hot and we needed the air con on, it was hard to sleep because of it blowing down onto your head and it got too cold, too quickly. This affected our nights sleep as we were waking up regularly due to the temperature and having to switch air con on/off. If the vent was placed elsewhere, it would have been fine. All in all, a very nice hotel, that if ever in the area again, would definitely stay in.
5 out of 5
by trevor

Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
Everything thought out well , great breakfast wanted for nothing and very peaceful
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and great facilities

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
room was not clean on arrival
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The resturant in this place is terrible. More like

Posted Aug 3, 2017 on Hotels
Resturant ambiance was terrible. The food wasn't bad ( expensive) , but it's like a glorified transport cafe. !!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My cleaning trip

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
I'm. This sure why a hotel should only offer housekeeping services every other day. Who does that in this day and age. We had to ask for our rooms to be cleaned and we had to remove wet towels and ask for fresh ones. Not great service not great value for money. Definitely not a 3 star
4 out of 5
by Glenn

Good Value for Money

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
Stay in the hotel was good, food was OK and service too. It's a budget hotel but is well equipped and a nice stay...