Ratings based on 801 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Place to sleep if traveling.

Posted Apr 22, 2018
Had been traveling needed place to sleep. Hotel is fine for this. Hotel rooms slightly run down, but we weren't staying for the aesthetics. Room was clean. Other reviews said pool out of order still the case and they dont let you know. We were fine, but if stopping so kids could swim would be disappointed. Dont bother with the breakfast not much. Hot breakfast meant toast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and quiet

Posted Mar 25, 2018
Arrived at this motel a little later than I anticipated but it was ok because the front desk person was nice and made me feel welcomed. I would definitely recommend this place for staying.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

For a quick night stay to rest your head was perfe

Posted Mar 24, 2018
Perfect for a night stay to rest your head. Adequately clean and friendly staff. Gas station and mcds right across street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2018
the breakfast is just ok. the tv was fuzzy. but the staff is good and rooms are clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Nice hotel with friendly staff

Posted Mar 8, 2018
Pros: friendly staff, clean comfortable room
Cons: breakfast could be enhanced.
Location: Near Des Moines.
Nice, quiet room. Location is only 15 minutes from shooping and family activites.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Moderate issues.

Posted Mar 6, 2018
Loose tiles in the bathroom, visible hair in bath tub and on the sink, inside of the toilet was stained/scratched gray, ice machine and vending machine out of order. I only stayed 1 night was sufficient for my over night stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Savanna, IL

Colfax Inn

Posted Mar 5, 2018
Pros: Not much
Cons: Everything, except the service, the service was good.
Location: You can drive quickly to Altoona where there is a casino and many restaurants.
It is always a little concerning when practically no one was staying here. The hotel is unfortunately overall, is really rundown. The owners and front desk employee were nothing less than kind and gracious when I checked in and my room key did not work. It seems like they went to the second hand hotel/motel store to buy their beds, tables, chairs etc. At the end of the day, it was a room and it kept me warm and dry and safe. But, it needs some serious loving. Sorry Colfax Inn, I know you are trying and I appreciate the effort.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eddyville, IA

Building run down

Posted Mar 3, 2018
Building was Rundown the room was okay and the staff seemed okay. for the price I had a room with clean bedding so I guess it wasn't all bad
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington D.C.

Get what you pay for I guess

Posted Feb 18, 2018
Well; a cheap hotel is a cheap hotel. I checked in late rather than continuing on the last 35 minutes to Des Moines and the clerk took my name, phone number and address and after I noticed he was writing everything on a random pad of paper, I was happy I gave him a false address and false phone number as there is no telling where the paper went. Typical cheap hotel stuff- mold in the shower, damp smelling air, sheets and blankets feeling stiff and uncomfortable, breakfast was beyond disappointing. If you like cereal, you’re in for a treat when breakfast comes around. Won’t be coming back. Won’t bw recommending.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KRESS, Tx

3 rooms 1 night

Posted Feb 5, 2018
We had a grouip come in of 3 people. Fast easy check in. Rooms clean. Staff is very friendly, would stay here again. Price is very good