Ratings based on 748 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from illinois

Disappointed

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness.
Cons: Fix elevator and pool and provide decent breakfast selections.
The pluses......check in was quick and easy. Hotel and room very clean, comfy bed, etc. Big minuses....good thing we were on first floor, elevator out of order. Good thing we didn't want to swim, pool out of order and closed. Biggest minus for us was the free "continental breakfast". There was coffee and orange juice. Two kinds of dry cereal with milk available, and plain bagels. That was it! No fruit, no breakfast rolls or donuts. It was the poorest breakfast we've ever had at a hotel. Seems like the owners are cutting corners on maintenance and breakfast. There were other guests just as disappointed with the breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Adequate room and AC but not much else

Posted Sep 28, 2017
The hotel pool, jacuzzi, ice machine and elevator were not working. No one mentioned that at check in. They advertise amenities that are not working which is not great. Room fridge did not work either. The beds were decent but the blankets and comforters had knife cuts and burn marks in them. The halls smelled like smoke too. This place is limping along but I felt like it would be closing soon. The morning breakfast consists of just toast and cereal. Really very sad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Just needed a place to stay

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Was on my way home from the west coast to the east coast and needed a place to crash and this place was perfect. The room was basic but clean and had a microwave and mini fridge. The office staff was very prompt and nice. Breakfast was minimal but the coffee was good. There was enough to make it through the morning. There were a few outdoor lights out upon my arrival which made the hotel look very dark but other than that it was a decent hotel at a great price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lakewood, Colorado

Not The Ritz, But It'll Do For A Night

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: The location - beds fairly comfortable, too.
Cons: Well, a little more attention to the cleaning of the room - found an empty beer bottle sitting on the floor in the bathroom.
Location: The Colfax Inn is located east of Des Moines, which is about all I can write about the location.
I've stayed here before, and the this experience was pretty much the same - right off I-80, so pretty easy to find, but the place is pretty much just a place to sleep and shower.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you don't mind bugs in the bathroom...

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Price
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Not applicable
Needed to stay for about 12 hours on a long trip, so didn't need much. Just wanted a clean and comfortable place to stay without paying an arm and a leg. Large room, with a king bed, couch, and chair seemed fine when walking in; probably was the 'accessible' room, but I would not want to maneuver a wheelchair in the bathroom, it would have been a tight fit. Upon, further inspection, and when we first went to use the shower, there was a roach scurrying out from under the towel rack. Each time we'd go into the bathroom, there would be a roach scurrying away from the light. Gross. We lasted about 8 hours there. Couldn't sleep, because once you see them Iike that, well, you just think they're everywhere. As we were packing up, we noticed a smudge of something on the wall by the head of the bed. I have no idea what it was, nor did I care at that point, the place needs a thorough steam cleaning...and I needed to get somewhere and take another shower. Pay the extra, go somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would have rates higher except....

Posted Sep 10, 2017
The room was clean, and comfortable. The staff were helpful and polite. Even the Refrigerator freezer was in good condition. My only negative was the lack of a hot option on the Breakfast bar. Cold cereal, orange juice, toast, peanut butter and jelly, and bagels. But no oatmeal or make yourself waffles. However I would STILL RECOMMEND this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Room had mold in bathroom. Was moved to another room. Big screen TV had not been hooked up. Had small old TV that was snowy. Motel did get big screen hocked up for second day of our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Excellent place to live in

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Breakfast, rooms
Cons: Its really good as it is.
Location: Hiking, plenty of places to eat nearby - subway, Macs etc.
The place was really nice to live in - no complaints at all. The breakfast was good, the staff could not have been nicer and for the price that I paid, it was more than worth it. Getting to Des Moines downtown for work was a breeze since the highways were not crowded at all. All in all, a very good experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

ok for a short stay

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: easy location and quiet
Cons: cleaner showers, landscaping better breakfast selection
check in was very quick. Continental breakfast was minimal to choose from. comfy king bed and large tv, shower head and faucets had mold on them so I didn't shower, outside needed weeded and trash picked up and new landscaping as most of the bushes were dead. Was a very quiet place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Price
Cons: everything
ok. Nothing special. Only McDonald near by for meals.