Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Walnut Creek, CA

Stunning views; super comfy beds.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Very quiet and tranquil.
Cons: I recommend that they update their website; it doesn't do justice to the beauty of the Inn.
Location: Go shopping in Old Town Auburn; plus there are several lakes nearby for fishing, boating.
We visited in July and enjoyed a very relaxing stay even though it was incredibly hot. The inn is located at the top of a hill with stunning views and has beautiful grounds, and the rooms were super clean and comfortable (all of the rooms are wonderful, so you can't wrong). The owner and his staff went out of their way to make sure all of our needs were being met, and he spent some time conversing with us at breakfast (which was delicious!) and we felt very welcomed. We plan to return again next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Ideal Location

Posted Oct 27, 2016
We loved staying at the Sierra Sun Cloud Inn. The owner and staff are super nice, the inn and grounds are gorgeous, the food was delicious, bed comfortable, room and amenities great. It was the perfect location for us; it's in a wooded estate off quiet country roads so we had peace and tranquility yet within easy reach of Auburn for great dining. We'll definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lafayette, CA.

Great place on the hill

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Charming staff, great breakfast in the morning. The rooms are in great shape, very clean.
Cons: A little hard to fine as the signage leading to the hotel is not very good....we took a couple of wrong turns.
Location: Great views from on top of the hill, grounds look great. It was raining so we did not get out much but the game room was very comfortable.
5 out of 5
by David from Northern California

Room with a (Hilltop) View

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
This was a wonderful B&B, with a beautiful hilltop (360 degree) view of the surrounding country. Our host, Guy, was welcoming and accomodating. Breakfast, a three course affair, was fresh, healthy, and great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roseville, CA

First time at a B&B

Posted Jul 31, 2016
It was our 24th wedding anniversary and we didn't want to go very far. We always heard about B&Bs but were unsure of how they worked. The Sierra Sun Cloud was terrific! Our room , The Sundance , had its own full bath and sitting area. The grounds were beautiful and the area was quiet and peaceful. The breakfast was delicious and the conversation with the other guests was great. We enjoyed sitting on the lawn when the sprinklers weren't on.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Views

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
Great place with fantastic hosts. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by Daniel E. from Stockton, California

Romance is Alive

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was too short to appreciate all of the amenities. I want to return when we can take more time to enjoy. The big fluffy bed made me feel like a child. I wanted to read for a while, but the bed was too comfy. I slept comfortably until morning. I am going to recommend for my children and their spouses. I will babysit and they can romance!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Wonderful rooms and grounds.

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Pros: The setting and the rooms.
Cons: It is a ten to twenty minute trip to any restaurants.
Location: Auburn has a beautiful courthouse with an interesting little museum inside. Guy can recommend some excellent restaurants.
We wanted a charming place to stay near Auburn so we go antiquing, and Sierra Sun Cloud Inn fit the bill perfectly. It is about a 15 minute drive to Auburn, but we felt very much in the country. The property has a pond and spectacular views of the hills and mountains. The rooms are nicely furnished, and the public rooms include a pool table, big easy chairs in several different spots, and television and DVD player. Guy is an attentive host, and his breakfasts are delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, England.

Hide-away in the hills.

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Pros: Luxury
Cons: Second chair in the spring room maybe but believe me that is nit picking!
Location: Only one night but so recommend the local eatery, Christina's!
Luxurious bolt hole in the hills. We loved the comfort and the friendly staff, especially Guy!