Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Beautiful but not ready for their closeup...

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: staff rooms lobby public transportation
Cons: they need to get everything finished
Location: very close to National Harbor and public transport is right outside, so easy to access anything in the area.
The staff at this hotel were friendly, professional, knowledgeable and went above and beyond in the helpful department. Everything was brand new - but so new that some of the advertised facilities were not available. The bar and restaurant were not open, so no room service or food service of any kind. It is a half mile walk to anywhere food (or a glass of wine) is available. The rooms do not have coffee makers, and with no food service that means no coffee in the morning unless you can wait for when the breakfast starts. Once they have everything in place it should be a very nice place to stay. On the plus side - did I mention how great the staff is? And I was able to use a combination of UBER and city bus for my travels because there are convenient bus stops right in front of the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, Ontario

Great hotel within driving distance to DC

Posted Sep 14, 2016
The hotel is newly renovated, actually some parts were still being worked on. They had free wifi and breakfast. It was an easy drive to downtown DC as well as Nationals park and Fedex field. If you really wanted to you could drive to a subway location and take the metro into these places but there were not any really close stations that you could get to easily and leave the car.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny

Newly renovated hotel convenient to tanger outlets

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Location to tanger outlets, eager staff aiming to please. Will definitely revisit when renovation is complete. Loved the included hot breakfast.
Cons: Hotels going thru growing pains and needs to work out the kinks
Location: Tanger outlets down the road. Good location if you want to be near downtown but not in the hustle and bustle of downtown..
This newly remodeled hotel is still experiencing growing pains as the bar and elevators aren't completed. Although lobby,breakfast room and sleeping rooms will be absolutely beautiful when complete, amenities as coffee in rooms, paintings, etc haven't yet been placed. Hot breakfast was a treat and parking is free- a rarity in this area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Washington, MD

Good central location

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: New renovations.
Cons: Security seem very lazy.
Location: Good location. Outback and IHOP only a couple of blocks away.
The hotel has been renovated and the lobby is beautiful. The bar is still under construction, so it is not open currently. The rooms have been renovated as well and looks nice. The new mattress is high, but very comfortable. Enjoyed my stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maryland

Money before customer

Posted Apr 9, 2016
I wasn't informed that the hotel was under renovation until I got there and they said they wouldn't give me a refund and now I am disputing their decision if they had told me in the beginning that the hotel was under renovation I would have never ever stay there to be confined to the room. To me, their only concern was to make money. They could have posted that information on their website. Instead they posted no refunds because they knew no one would stay there under those conditions.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Not As Advertised

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Pros: Location to National Harbor and outlet mall. Comfy beds.
This stay was a big disappointment. We chose the hotel for its amenities. Specifically the free Wi-Fi and swimming pool. When we first arrived they tried to give us a king sized room when we ordered two doubles. Then we were told the pool hasn't past the health standards and was closed. Then when we tried to sign up for Wi-Fi it took us about an hour to try to get it to work. They attempted to reset the modem but it became clear they didn't have it at all and were just going through the motions. When we tried to shower in the morning the water was cold. We ran it for several minutes, turned the knobs every which way. What they never admitted to was they turned off the boilers overnight. By the time maintenance came in the afternoon the water was warm and they tried to blame it on us. We intended on staying two nights but due to the inconveniences and the fact that they had no intention of compensating us for them, we left and found another room for the second night. The GM hid in his office and would never address our problems. No customer service at all.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pa

Going through renovations

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Even though it's under renovations, it was very clean, quite and everyone was very helpful. Hopefully next time the pool will be open.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Everything went well but they were renovating so there was a bad odor throughout the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Posted Mar 15, 2016
It was advertised that it had a pool but it was under construction. It would have been nice if we were informed of this
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from La Plata MD

Good value close to Nat.Harbor--Excellent Staff

Posted Jan 9, 2016
Jenne and Abby were awesome! I stayed on 7th floor which had the last upgrade. Hotel was due for an overall upgrade which began on January 1st. Room was spacious and comfortable. I read several unflattering reviews prior to booking stay. Most were from 2014. Abby explained that the hotel had a new cleaning staff and had improved significantly. I was very pleased with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. I was quite pleased with the stay. I highly recommend trying the Harborside Hotel especially after the upgrade is completed in the next couple of months.