Ratings based on 326 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clearwater, FL

Convenient but lacking in some respects.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Convenience.
Cons: Parking charge too heavy for this scale hotel and city. Shopping areas fine during daytime, but may be dicey after dark. Shuttle bus use would help.
Location: Hard to access. Shopping, Metro to uptown and downtown. See answers above.
Staff was great. Homewood shares building and facilities with Hampton Inn, which I did not expect. They charge $20 per night for valet parking, which feels steep for Silver Spring. There is no lounge, and the hotel across the street charged $17.50 for a top shelf cocktail. It did serve as a good base for visiting SS and Wheaton, as well as being close to the Metro and not too far from College Park.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Just the best!

Posted May 12, 2016
Loved the room, the comp breakfast every morning,etc.Staff was friendly and very helpful. If ever in the area again, this is where i will stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Graduation Weekend

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
Second time staying in this Hotel and wasn't disappointed. Hotel was very clean. Room was modern and in excellent condition. Staff was very courteous. Breakfast was pretty good also. Will stay again.
3 out of 5
by Jeremiah from Palo Alto, California

Underwhelming

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
Overall a disappointing stay for a Hilton Homewood Suites. My wife, our two young daughters and I usually try to stay at this chain as they are great to family travel. This particular location in downtown Silver Springs was a little under our expectations with many very small negatives that added to a sum total of slightly disappointing. Our room had an unpleasant odor, something like a an old fish. We told the front desk as well as our cleaning staff without improvement. The mattress was dated and I felt the individual spring coils pressing through the thin mattress pad. Our curtains had three rips at eye level that although functional didn't feel very "Hilton-esque". The cleaning service knocked on the door when the "Shhhh" tag was on the door, which woke up the napping babies. The cleaning service made our bed and restocked the towels, but did not clean the surfaces or bathtub. Also on one day they took our dish soap and we washed our baby bottles with shampoo instead. The rooms are not very quiet and I was awoken from sleep when our neighbors ran the bath. I also heard every time our other neighbors spoke, and it did not seem as they were speaking loudly. Albeit not his job, I asked the valet person if there were any luggage carts, he promptly said "no" so I carried in my wife's, my daughters' and my luggage to find three luggage carts parked immediately next to the valet stand indoors. At $17 a day for valet, I thought they might be a tad more helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Westport

Fine hotel - nothing special

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: Not much to do. It's a few block walk to the Metro to get into the District.
The Homewood hotel shares a building and lobby with Hamden Inns. It appears to have a private breakfast room. Breakfast was OK. Room HVAC system was noisy. Bathroom was fine and well lit. I was in Silver Spring on business, but there seemed to be a number of families, presumably going to DC.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

homewood suites or just renamed hampton inn

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Our previous two experiences with Homewood Suites at Alexandria, VA & Anaheim, CA (Disneyland) led us to believe they were awesome; from the facilities, staff and amenities to overall feel. This hotel seems to be nothing more than the 'suites' side of a former Hampton Inn & Suites (with the other half still being an actual Hampton Inn). Simply renaming half of it cheapens the Homewood Suites brand. The room had ripped couch cushions, wallpaper tearing away at the window, toilet paper holder falling apart and tub/shower 'issues'; while the building itself had a very questionable elevator.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

some good/some could be better

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
Off to rough start at check-in was told our room was not available and we were being downgraded to the other hotel despite being a pre-paid. After talking w/ manager, we were given a room that had some minor problems but we dealt with it. Slept ok, tho pillows were softer than other HW suites we've stayed at. DH liked the breakfast. Having kitchenette was handy. Room was quiet from outside noise tho heard some nearby plumbing. Bit more than we'd like to pay for a room like this but it's the DC area... 50/50 on return depends on the available rate
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gurnee, IL

Great breakfast, nice room, 4 blocks to Metro

Posted Mar 30, 2016
Room was very nice, spacious, excellent condition - EXCEPT the sofa bed, which was AWFUL, with very thin mattress, very uncomfortable. Complimentary breakfast was AWESOME, great selections, open several hours. Staff very spotty- some of front desk very helpful, but others never came through with our requests for extra blankets & towels (they always left us 3 sets, even though our room reservation was for 4 people).
5 out of 5
by xiaohong from canada

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
It is great location to visit Washington D C. Just 20 minutes driving.
5 out of 5
by Kristie from Maryland

Lovely!

Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice room. Staff went above and beyond to be helpful. There were noisy guests in the rooms around us, but they couldn't even be heard once in our rooms .