Ratings based on 349 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Worst hotel experience.

Posted Oct 23, 2017
The staff were the only positive part of the stay, minus the loud ladies who were doing laundry. There were people making noise all night slamming doors and banging/hard knocking on doors. We had to ask them to quiet down twice in one night. The hotel looks old and run down. The walls in the hall looked like the trim was missing from the bottom. Also both beds in my room squeaked when sitting/laying down. Also weren’t super soft like most hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2017 by Sarah - E-Commerce Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy our hotel and found the stay did not meet your expectations. We renovated the hotel last year in its entirety and sorry to hear this room was not at the standards we work hard to uphold everyday. It is unfortunate when that other guests behavior affected your stay, we did not have the opportunity to speak with you and would have been happy to assist you with this. We never want our guests to have an unpleasant stay but can't assist them if we do not know there is an issue. We could have checked for another room away from that area. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we will use your feedback to continue to improve upon our services.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach

Close to stadium but wouldn't stay again

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Sheets and blankets were dirty upon checkin. No others where available to switch out. Hotel was loud and sketchy. There was a man peeing outside in broad daylight in the parking lot. Lock didn't turn to lock. We were still able to secure the door some with the top lock but that doesn't really keep the door closed. There was still food left in the fridge from who knows when. Had to go up elevator to get to a hallway to take the steps to get to the room. The bathroom shower was moved to spray out of the shower with hard pressure and I didn't realize it. It soaked everything in the bathroom in a matter of seconds. Will never stay again. This isn't a matter of this hotel was not the right fit for me but rather a hotel that truly needs to fix some major issues.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by Sarah - E-Commerce Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for bringing this to our attention and sharing your concerns with us. In 2016 we completed a large renovation to bring our hotel a fresh new, modern look with great amenities. We have always done our best to maintain this and provide our valued guests with a comfortable and enjoyable stay. However, we see from your candid feedback that there were missed opportunities to provide you a more enjoyable and stress free stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for this experience. Rest assured, we will use your feedback to continue to improve as we work hard to make the changes we can moving forward. We are sorry once again for this experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fishkill ny

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Management took my things from my room on Wednesday when I already been there since Sunday and was due for check out Friday. If they wasn't so busy hanging out they would have known my name and know I had a team of 5 people there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Sarah - E-Commerce Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and certainly apologize for this and any necessary stress and inconvenience it may have caused you. We will review this further with the Manager to determine if there was a maintenance emergency affecting that room or what the cause was so we can help resolve this. And also ensure something like this doesn't happen again. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything we needed & nice staff.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Nice room, nice staff
Cons: A little hard to find. Needs a sign near the road
Location: N/A
Everything was fine. A little hard to find. Needs a sign near the road
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Sarah - E-Commerce Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing our hotel as your place to stay while in town. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We understand being on top of hill that our entrance is often missed. We have done all we can to ensure our directions and signage is noticeable and clear but will look into this further and see what more we can do.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I never got there to check in. So I don’t really p

Posted Oct 15, 2017
I never made it to check in. Even though I was charged. I got another night tonight. So, I did check in this time. When I finish the night I will let you know.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilmington, Delaware

Convenient access from the highway

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Couldn’t sleep due to excessive noise in the hallway. Walls are very thin. I even heard the cleaning staff because they were there past 5:00 which is after check in time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Sarah - E-Commerce Manager, Hotel Management
We understand the importance of a quiet environment to rest well in and wake refreshed. We do apologize that you did not rest well due to noise coming from the hallway. We do ask our staff and guests to please keep their voices down but appreciate that sound travels. We will address this again and do all we can to improve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Great place!

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Quick check in. Friendly staff. Huge room. Comfy bed. Shower had great water pressure. Would stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Sarah - E-Commerce Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind words for friendly staff and comfortable guestrooms. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel had everything you needed for a pleasant experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY area

Mixed review

Posted Oct 9, 2017
There is a bar near the registration desk that was so loud I could barely hear the clerk during check in (This was 7:00 pm on a Thursday). A patio area near the entrance was convenient to meet with friends but "professional " women haunted the edge of the area. While the room was kept clean by housekeeping and it appeared that the bathroom had recent updates, the management forgot to update the shower with non-scald valves. Taking a shower was an adventure. We stayed on the fourth floor and found having only one elevator for guests and staff to be inadequate. It only held four people comfortably and it was slow. The pool was closed for "maintenance " but there was no sign of any work being done. Unless we had to stay with friends for the convenience at this hotel, we wouldn't return. Too bad because the room itself wasn't bad and the breakfasts were sufficient to start the day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by Sarah - E-Commerce Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guests and taking the time to share what you did and did not enjoy about your stay. We are pleased to hear the spacious guestroom, breakfast, location met your needs. We appreciate you letting us know the shower valve needs adjusting, and apologize for the temperature variance. We will let maintenance know right away. The outdoor pool was renovated with the rest of our hotel last year and just recently closed for the season. With your valued feedback we can see the areas that we need to focus on and will do the best we can to continue to improve. Thank you again for your business and review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice hotel great pricing

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Nice bar and great rooms friendly staff that we got a chance to speak to large parking lot
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Sarah - E-Commerce Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you sharing this with us and pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable and pleasant stay. We hope to welcome you again next time you are in town. Thank you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2017
The exterior is bad but interior is good. Everything else was ok
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Sarah - E-Commerce Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your honest feedback. We are pleased to hear the newly updated interior met your expectations. However the entire hotel was updated a short time ago. We are working hard to maintain a beautiful exterior as well as the fresh and inviting interior. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a more welcoming impression that we try to provide every day.