Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Under renivation

Posted Nov 26, 2016
The hotel is under renivation, so areas were being painted and work was incomplete. But the room we had was nice and clean and I slept good. The breakfast coupon wasnt for a free breakfast, it was for a discounted breakfast, so take money down with you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Crest Hill, United States of America

Newly Remodeled Upscale Hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Everything was brand new with the exception of the pool which will be upgraded this winter. Rooms were beautiful and big. Bed was huge and super comfortable. Restaurant bar had great food and drinks. Breakfast buffet was a steal at 6.99 per person. Even got 2 free drink coupons with our room. They were on the tail end of construction in the lobby and one exterior wall, but that being said it was still very quiet. Bartender was very sweet and informative on things to do in the area.
Cons: The first front desk lady could have been a little more helpful at check in. We wouldn't have even known about the breakfast and free drink vouchers had the bartender not told us that first night. They has no snack machines, just soda and some candy at the front desk and the bar/ restaurant closed very early on halloween. The construction guys had the pool door propped open to utilize a electrical outlet for a table saw so it was pretty cold in there, but maintenance man came and fixed the issue immediately and was super sweet. Sauna wasn't working, but the hot tub was great. We were told the whole pool area would be receiving an upgrade soon because they were turning into a premier best western. All of these little things didnt deter our trip whatsoever. All & all...Hotel was fantastic, for the price it was a steal!
Location: About 10 minutes from riverfront, casino, historical and haunted sites. We were there during Alton's 100th anniversary Halloween Parade.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Misleading and misinformation

Posted Oct 29, 2016
We had called and verified twice that the shuttle would take us to Grafton before we booked the hotel and were told both times that they would indeed take us to Grafton. When we showed up we were told that it does not go that far. The shuttle driver, Cody was very nice and said that some times they do take people to Grafton and he even tried to talk his manager into taking us but he still said no. We were so disappointed that when we got back at the end of the night we didn't even end up checking in and just drove the two hours home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by DOS, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear about your inconvenience. We do not shuttle guests to Grafton, we are sorry for the misinformation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Small issues but too many of them

Posted Oct 18, 2016
No one at front desk for several minutes and hotel under construction so my daughter kept saying I don't think they are open.TV in room didn't work after maintenance tried for several minutes had to switch rooms. Breakfast was spread out around restaurant like area half on bar behind seating half by front windows but not clear what available to consumer. Was not told I would need to bring breakfast tickets with me however server helped sort out cause tickets were in original room envelope.. Room was very comfortable and clean..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Remodeling, but will be very nice

Posted Oct 3, 2016
We stayed here in early October 2016. The whole hotel was undergoing a remodel. The rooms had already been completed, and were nice. The lobby and atrium area were still in progress, but looked like they would be very beautiful. The hotel staff was very kind and knowledgable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pinckneyville, IL

Nice hotel, friendly staff

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Easy access to hotel and in hotel: room, restaurant and lobby. New look very appealing. Rooms very roomy, clean and modern.
Cons: Pool needs a facelift, but area is nice. Patio lawn could be manicured a bit, fall is great to sit outside
Location: In town for son's White Coat Ceremony, convenient location for our needs. The next day we visited the Grafton wineries.
Great overnight stay. In town for son's White Coat Ceremony. Very conveniently located. Finishing up renovation and it will be beautiful when finished. Rooms are clean, nice, roomy and modern. Will say the outside rooms are quieter than the interior facing rooms. So depends on your preference - do you like to be able to see what's going on (pool and open lobby area are in the middle of the hotel so room facing interior look over them. Bar & Grill very casual-breakfast buffet, at least on Saturday mornings; good selection. Will definitely stay here again, when we need to visit Alton again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Highland, IN

Good Hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2016
The hotel is under construction as they are fixing it up. The staff was great and very welcoming. One elevator was out of service. The Breakfast Buffet was terrible in that I arrived around 10am, halfway through the 9 to 11am timespan and the hot foods were lukewarm at best and the trays of food were not filled and not really all that inviting. The coffee was lukewarm as well and not very tasty as well. I am sure that once the hotel is rehabbed, the lobby area and atrium will be beautiful. I wish I had known that it was under construction, it might have influenced my decision to stay there or not. I am usually not very critical but these are my thoughts.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016
This hotel was horrible. It smelled, it was loud, and the elevators didn't work. It's under renovation, the work crew was rude when I tried to get through the door (they were blocking it). I can talk all day about this horrible hotel. They kind of have a restaurant. They have pretty terrible food, and for some bizarre reason there's no room service, except for pizza. Also, you can't order the pizza the way you want, just as they come. No ingredient switching. There's no vending on the floor I stayed on, just empty holes in the hallway. So I went to a different floor. Those machines were empty. So, horrible, smelly, loud, and kind of weird. Thanks Alton Illinois. Did I mention it was really bad? Also, I took off my shoes in my room and the carpet seemed to be wet. Why would that be the case? I looked out my window and there was a weird old guy sitting shirtless by the indoor pool just staring at people. Was he the source of the smell? I don't know. I will not return. I'll likely just stay in St. Louis and commute for my long term work project in the area. The breakfast was also weird. I'm not sure how this hotel is still in business. It was so bad, that even if it was made into a four seasons, I wouldn't return. Oh - now I remember that there were pubes on my toilet seat too. It wasn't much different than a bus station bathroom. How much more do I need to write? Alton Illinois is home to the worlds tallest man and worst hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Falkner, MS

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
The Lobby was under construction and very loud.
4 out of 5
by Thomas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels