Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and recently updated

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Hotel was clean but the ice machines were not functional on any floor. Also there was a wedding and it was noisy in the hallways . Sunday brunch was ok. Had to wait for food and selection was small at best. I would probably stay there again though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Privacy

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Staff was rude and very short with us. The room was very nice but the walls are paper thin could hear both guest on each side of us use bathroom and all conversations around us word for word. Absolutely NO privacy. Made us very uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Beautiful and well taken care of

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Clean, friendly staff, nice bar/restaurant
Cons: Sound proofing ;)
Location: About a 25 minute drive into St. Louis, there's also a mall, target, and grocery store about 5 minutes away.
The hotel was really nice, I know they're still under construction, but overall it's really very nice. The only downfall really was the first night was veryyy loud. I'm not sure what time the pool closes, but there were tons of people in it being pretty loud until what seemed like midnight (i'm all for pool hours being late, but maybe an 18 and over after -- time would be beneficial since the noise carries to the top floor). At the same time, the people in the ''connecting'' room were SCREAMING for an hour. Front desk did come up after 2 phone calls to tell them to quiet down. I know that's not the hotel's fault, but it was definitely not a good experience sleep-wise the first night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by Jacinda Dunlap, DOSM, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your review. Our pool closes at 10 p.m. Sun-Thurs and 11 p.m. on Fri/Sat. We apologize for the noise from the children. We hope you'll stay with us again in the future!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff was incompetent and pass the blame to others

Posted Feb 13, 2017
This is the 3rd time in 4 years that we have stayed at the Atrum for the Championship swim meet. Now, under new management. I made my reservations 9 months in advance (online). I selected a room not poolside. We were given I room directly over pool... staff told me, I had to specially request no poolside, which is not an option online. First night, no hot water, blamed it on the swimmers staying at hotel. Told water would be hot in 30 minutes. No hot water until over an hour on 2nd floor (after 10 pm) and much longer for 3rd floor. Finally, found out boiler broke. Three days later in morning, the swimmers were gone and we again had NO HOT WATER!!! More excuses!! And the breakfast was awful... watery, runny eggs.....I would suggest staying where the staff is courteous and honest about issues. And the "newly" renovated hotel is actually up to date!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by Hotel Representative, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We are very sorry for the inconveniences you seemed to have. We did have a boiler issue the first day of check in during the swim meet. These things do happen, just as they happen for instance to a homeowner. These are unexpected issues, as the boiler issue was. Since you've stayed with us 3 other times in the past then surely you would know that this is not an issue that is typical or goes unresolved and that it is isolated. We had the boiler serviced, due to the issue with it at first it was hard to diagnose, but was quickly fixed. I'm sorry that you were under the impression the staff were blaming the guests, and we do apologize. We are very sorry for the inconvenience and that you left feeling the way you did. That is never our intention.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portlanf

Nice facade. Questionable bones.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
The entrance to the hotel has been redone and looks very inviting. Then, I realized the 'fire place' is fake, the lobby is super loud, and upon entry there is a strong smell of chlorine because the pool is just on the other side of this partial wall. The room was darkly painted and clean. The bed was super comfortable. The bathroom looked nicely, recently redone. However, the second day of our stay included a toilet leak. The staff asked, "do you want us to send a maintenance person up?" We did and so they did. It was dealt with while we were out. Staff are nice at the front desk, but a little unprofessional. The hot tub wasn't working in the pool area, but the exercise room had brand new machines. There wasn't a tv in the room which was actually kind of nice. The place is clearly still working out some kinks. The cleaning staff was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Ross, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that there were some things you didn't enjoy. We appreciate hearing from our guests in order to grow and make changes when needed, so thank you for that. I'm glad that we were able to take care of your toilet leak in a timely fashion and that you found our beds and cleaning staff to be great. I hope you consider staying with us again in the future if you're ever in the area. Thanks again!
5 out of 5
by Patricia

Nice hotel...definitely recommend

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was very pleasing to the eye and the rooms was very clean and smelled wonderful. The bed was so comfortable too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your very nice comments concerning your stay last month. We really appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again in the future!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Elegant and relaxing

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
It was very relaxing. They were in the middle of renovating some areas of the hotel but construction was never in the way of the beauty of the place. It was very convenient with a full restaurant attached. Great food and relaxed night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are always happy to hear from guests that enjoyed their stay with us. Please come back and stay with us again if you're in the area!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for scoring your stay with us. We appreciate hearing from our guests.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, reasonable price

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
The room and hotel were really nice. Dinner and breakfast were really good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing feedback. We are happy that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our dining options.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall a good stay.

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
Overall a good visit. We stayed three days and had to change rooms due to a loud heater. The pool was very cold but my kids still enjoyed it. One day the hot tub was also cold but it was working the next day. we even experienced a fire alarm at 11:30pm. The rooms were nice and updated. The second day there, housekeeping came to our door and I asked her to give us 30 minutes to finish getting everyone ready to head out for the day. We were out within 20 minutes but housekeeping never returned to do our room that day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing feedback from your stay in November. I apologize that you found the pool and hot tub to be cold. And I apologize for the miscommunication with housekeeping as well. We appreciate getting feedback from guests in order to ensure we correct any problems that may have occurred. I invite you to come back and stay with us again if you're in the area.