Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

1901 MANSION BEAUTIFULLY RESTORED; NOW GREAT B+B

Posted Oct 14, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING!!
Cons: Absolutely nothing
The Beall Mansion is absolutely wonderful. The woodwork, hand-woven Persian rugs, sculptures, ceramics, etc. etc. surround the guest with both luxury and comfort. The hosts are wonderfully hospitable, relaxed and friendly. One truly feels at home. Extremely highly recommended to anyone visiting the St. Louis area and definitely more than worth the trouble of staying in Alton, Ill. if you're visiting St. Louis. For those staying in Alton anyway, you'd be crazy to stay anywhere else. My highest possible recommendation and congratulations to Jim and Sandy and their wonderful staff.
5 out of 5
by David B.

Awesome weekend getaway

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Orbitz
The mansion has lots of history and is explained by the owner when you check in. 24 hr Chocolate bar is a nice touch, as is the complimentary beverages. Great location, close to shops and restaurants. Staff truly enjoy what they do, and it shows in the attention to detail. While it is an Mansion built in 1904, it has been updated with Central Air, and modern bathroom facilities. Will definitely be going back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Beautiful place. Nice town. Prepare to be spoiled!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2013
4 out of 5
by Jean from Decatur, Ill

comfortable bed and breakfast

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: The comfort and cleaniness of it all.
Cons: For the price I thought the breakfast could have been a little better.
Location: the location was easy to get to and not far from the main road to go to Grafton, the casino, shops, steak house or to see many historic homes
When we got there a couple had just gotten married. Seeing the groom and bride turned out to be someone that went to school and hung out with two of our children. It is a small world. Hadn't seen him in years. I thought the bed and breakfast was a great place for an event like that. The grounds and home were very pretty. Sandy and the staff just made you feel so comfortable. It was just so quiet and relaxing.
5 out of 5
by Don from Houston, TX, USA

A great place for a romantic getaway!

Posted Aug 4, 2012
Pros: The people who run it!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Historic, Romantic
This is an exceptional bed and breakfast offering a wide range of additional services that make it a romantic getaway you will not soon forget and will want to return to often. Jim and Sandy are wonderful people and they are very knowledgeable about the history of their house and the Alton area that made our time there more enjoyable! I highly recommend staying there and know you will not be disappointed.
5 out of 5
by Labgirl 30 from Affton, MO, USA

Excellent

Posted Jul 21, 2012
Pros: Love bed and jacuzzi tub
Cons: None
Location: Very nice, not too far from us will go back again
Great place, we loved it. Beautiful and lots of history too. Minutes from all places to eat
5 out of 5
by John from Michigan

Exceeded Expectations

Posted Sep 27, 2011
We were treated like royalty! The owner greeted us wearing a tux and pampered us throughout our stay. Extras we enjoyed included complementary brandy before bed and the chocolate "smorgasboard" available anytime. We really enjoyed the beauty of the mansion as well as the antique furnishings. We are frugal travelers, so we stayed in the least expensive room (servants' quarters on 3rd floor). Our room was still spaceous and comfortable -- an outstanding value for the price of a comparable room at a Holiday Inn. In summary, this facility was 5 star plus!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, Ar

Elegant Granduer

Posted Aug 19, 2011
We stayed in the 3rd floor servants quarters. It was nicely decorated authentically. The linens were bordered with lace and there were plenty of pillows. Very comfortable. The bathroom was large and the clawfoot tub was delightful with complimentary bath salts. The chocolate buffet and brandy was a wonderful plus. I will definitely go back. I already miss the beautiful gardens and porch! I highly recommend!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

"The best place to stay in Alton"

Posted Jun 9, 2010
My wife and I stayed at the Beall Mansion for our anniversary and it was exactly what we expected. We found our room to be comfortable and the whole experience to be very relaxing. We would certainly stay there again and I have recommended it to friends and family. On a side note, the gourmet chocolate bar was a great (and delicious) touch.