Featured Image

Reviews of Hampton Inn St Louis/Fairview Heights

2.5 out of 5
Hampton Inn St Louis/Fairview Heights
150 Ludwig Dr, Fairview Heights, IL

COVID-19 alert: Travel requirements are changing rapidly, including need for pre-travel COVID-19 testing and quarantine on arrival.

Overall score and ratings

3.9

Good

Rating 5 - Excellent. 168 out of 397 reviews
5 - Excellent 42%
Rating 4 - Good. 104 out of 397 reviews
4 - Good 26%
Rating 3 - Okay. 76 out of 397 reviews
3 - Okay 19%
Rating 2 - Poor. 28 out of 397 reviews
2 - Poor 7%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 21 out of 397 reviews
1 - Terrible 5%

4.3/5

Cleanliness

4.3/5

Staff & service

3.5/5

Amenities

4.0/5

Property conditions & facilities

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, amenities
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
The hotel was in a nice location. The pool needs updated ( rust around the bottom that makes it look dirty) and the pool area was empty but not cleaned up ( candy on the floor, etc). Matress covers didnt fit properly and came half off on both beds during the night.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I didn’t like NOTHING about this place!!!
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
Location was good but motel was under renovation. There wasn’t a refrigerator in the room, ice machine didn’t work, coffee maker in the room but no coffee and of course breakfast was poor with no hot food
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

2/5 Poor

Business traveler
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
No drink vending machines, the ice maker was broken. Also the wi fi service wouldn't connect. I also got a 2 queen bedroom not a kings bedroom The phone in the room was broken so I had to go down to the front desk 2 different times because the remote to the TV wouldn't work and finally the beds themselves were lumpy and uncomfortable. Other than that it was okay
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from agm on Jul 8, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We will look into all issues and again we appreciate the feedback.

2/5 Poor

Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Did not like attitude of person that checked us in. Did not like attitude of person checking us out. Was told breakfast started at 6am. At 6:30 only cereal was available. Not up to Hampton standards.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from agm on Jul 8, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you staying with us and would like to hear more about your experience. Please contact the hotel so that we can have a better understanding of what happen on your stay.

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Trash in the room. Not clean at all. Refrigerator not cleaned. No soda machine on property. Ice machine out of order for days.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from ao on Jun 16, 2021
We're sorry you were unhappy - we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Staff was very nice but the facility is old and need of an update.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from AGM on Jun 12, 2021
Thank you for staying with us and for the feedback. We are currently in line for a refresh and we hope within the next year you will visit us again to see the changes. We wish you safe travels.

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I tripped over shop vac in the hallway where construction was taking place. Ice Machine was out of service and when i asked front desk for ice i was informed the gas station down the street had some. No fridge in a $160 per night room either. Dont stay here
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from agm on Jun 9, 2021
Sorry to hear about your experience. We apologize about the ice machine we are waiting for a tech to come out currently to get it up and running. We wish you safe travels. Thank you for your feedback and stay.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Amenities
There was no refrigerator in our room. The only ice machine was out of ice. The toilet seat was loose.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from agm on Jun 7, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. I will address with housekeeping and maintenance so that both issues are fixed. We appreciate your stay and wish you safe travels.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
Fine place to stay for a night!
Stayed 1 night in May 2021
Response from agm on Jun 7, 2021
Thank you for your feedback we appreciate it.

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Disliked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Visiting family nearby, all we really wanted was a place to sleep and shower. And for that, this hotel was great. The beds were soft, the shower had hot water, and the AC kept the room cool and dry. It was the other incidentals that impacted the rating of this hotel. Upon entering the hotel, we were greeted with what they called "unexpected construction". While this never impacted us, it should be known that the building is being worked on. When we got to our room, there was a seal on the door letting us know that the room was disinfected and ready for occupancy. When we decided to get ice, we were greeted with a decent lengthed hair in the bottom of the bucket. Since we were visiting family, the breakfast aspect wasn't too important to us, but I guess when the breakfast was even below your minimal expectations, you take notice. A few hard boiled eggs, small boxed cereals, individually wrapped bagels or muffins, and coffee. I do like to have a little OJ on the way out but that was not the case any of the 3 mornings we were there. It looked like there was a counter for hot meals but that was untouched. I understand with Covid and staffing that compromises have to be made, so I understand the situation. I am simply relaying my experience so if you are planning to stay there with some expectations, you might be disappointed.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021
Response from a on May 30, 2021
Thank you for letting us know about your experience. We will make sure to address each issue with all of our departments so that this may not happen again. Thank you for your helpful feedback.

1/5 Terrible

Liked: Staff & service
Stayed 1 night in May 2021
Response from agm on Jun 9, 2021
Thank you for your feedback.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from a on May 24, 2021
Thank you for your feedback.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
For the most part, it was fine. I guess they were short staffed for cleanings one night, but that's not their fault. I would use again.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from agmn on Apr 28, 2021
Thank you for your response. We appreciate your understanding and we can't wait to see you again on your trip to Fairview Heights, IL. safe travels

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Was ok but very older hotel. Smelled like cigarette smoke.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from AGM on Apr 28, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to getting remodel eventually. We are just waiting on our turn and appreciate the honest feedback.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from A on May 8, 2021
We see your stay was not that great. We would love to hear more about it to ensure it does not happen again. Thank you for your honest feedback.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from A on May 8, 2021
Thank you for your honest feedback. We appreciate your stay and wish you safe travels.

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Old hotel not kept up. Swimming pool was cloudy and smelled like pond water. There was trash in the hallways. Breakfast consisted of 6 bagels, one yogurt, 3 orange juices, 1 milk and some nutragrain bars. Our room was clean and comfortable.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from AGM on Apr 28, 2021
Thank you for your response. Unfortunately due to covid-19 we've had to start over with new staff and many of them are still in training we apologize about your experience. As far as the breakfast we only put limited items out during the week due to it being slow. We restock when items run out and due to the grab and go style it is not a buffet as it was before. We ask that each person take one item each, however, some times that is not the case and people take more so we do apologize but it is the only breakfast we are allowed to serve to abide by state regulations. I am glad to report we add new items weekly and it can only get better from here. We wish we could of assisted you while you were in house, but we hope you return and see the great changes we have in store. Thank you again.

2/5 Poor

Traveled with group, Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from agm on Apr 28, 2021
Thank you for your feedback

2/5 Poor

Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from a on May 8, 2021
Thank you for your honest feedback. We appreciate your stay and wish you safe travels. We would love to hear about what we could do better next time.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
The hotel room was clean. I was disappointed in the cleanliness of the swimming pool.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from agm on Apr 28, 2021
Thank you for your response. The pool had to get treated due to the busy weekend. We apologize for any inconvenience.

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family and small children
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The property didn’t have a room for me and the manager refuses to speak to me about it. Employee lied to me and told me they were trying to find me a room at another hotel and left for the night. I was traveling with 3 small children.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from AGM on Apr 7, 2021
Thank you for staying at our location. I have not been advised of such issue I would definitely like to discuss your stay. Please contact Expedia directly and they can update me on the issue. Have a good day.

3/5 Okay

Business traveler
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
Hotel is in need of remodeling. Room was comfortable and clean, but noisy, due to proximity to interstate. Not much in the way of amenities or complimentary breakfast, due to Covid 19 I imagine.
Stayed 8 nights in Mar 2021
Response from agm on Apr 7, 2021
Thank you for your helpful feedback. We look forward to upgrading in a couple years but until then we can accommodate away from the highway when requested. We wish you safe travels.

1/5 Terrible

Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities
My room wasn’t ready at check in time and once we got to the room we found food on the floor. Very disappointing. Informed the Asst. Manager she said to contact Expedia for a refund.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from AGM on Mar 20, 2021
Yes, after you contact Expedia for refund they will reach out to me and confirm that I offered you the refund. Again, I do apologize for any inconvenience and contact us with any other concerns thank you.

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Near a lot of food selections. Do not put a character restriction on this box.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from AGM on Mar 20, 2021
Thank you for your feedback

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from AGM on Mar 20, 2021
Thank you for your feedback

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Worst hotel experience ever!
I waited 10 minutes for somebody to come to the counter to check me in. I went to my reserved room and it had not been cleaned trash was everywhere, towels on the floor, and the bed wasn’t made. I went back down to the counter and she gave me a new room. This room was worst than the first. It was not cleaned just like the first with more trash and there were multiple seagram bottles everywhere. I went back down AGAIN and told her the second room wasn’t cleaned. She never apologized and said she can’t tell if the rooms are dirty or not which seems a little odd to me. She didn’t even offer a discount or a free night for our troubles. There were apparently only 2 king rooms so she ended up giving me a connected room with 2 queen beds which isn’ what I reserved. I thought since I’d reserved the room it should’ve been cleaned. I also got there at 4 and the checkout is 12; how were there not clean king beds? It was very inconvenient. I wanted a king room for the privacy and comfort. The room I was given was connected to the other room and it felt like the people next to us were going to come in. Room service also came around early at least three hours before check out. I’ve stayed at multiple hotels that were cheaper and haven’t ever had an experience close to this.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2021
Response from agm on Feb 25, 2021
Unfortunately, I do not see your reservation in our system to confirm the issues but I do apologize about the experience you had and will further look into it so that this does not happen anymore. Thank you for your feedback.

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Did not make the grade.
Mostly failing grades: F *Parking lot not plowed of snow *Front door snow not shoveled away *Desk clerk not wearing mask over nose *Ceiling in room coming down *No remote control for TV, did get one to replace it but it only partly worked D *Room very small *Room very noisy (yes, mostly my fault, show of looked at map closer) C *Minimal breakfast offerings B *Room was clean *Nice towels and sheets Would not stay here ever again, there are better options close by.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2021
Response from agm on Feb 22, 2021
Thank you for your helpful feedback. We do apologize about the inconvenience of the snow not being plowed we were having issues with our landscaping department. We wish we could of handle any issues directly at the hotel and send our deepest apology. Thank you again for the feedback.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Family travel
In general it was ok but the rooms didn’t have a microwave or refrigerator as the other Hamptons we stayed in. The room heater was loud. The front desk was absent for most of the time and you had to ring a bell to get them and wait. The breakfast was mediocre. I understand it’s a pandemic but we have had to travel during the pandemic a few times and had much better amenities and service. Perhaps they were understaffed. We did ask for a room change as the one we first had was close to the highway and truck noise. The staff person was very helpful and nice about that and moved us promptly.
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2021
Response from agm on Feb 15, 2021
Thank you for your helpful feedback. During this time front desk is also responsible for many other job duties such as laundry so we do apologize for not always being present at the desk but we do strive to fix any issue quickly and efficiently and I am glad to hear the front desk agent handled your issue in such way. Thank you for your stay. We appreciate you.

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2021
Response from agm on Feb 15, 2021
Thank you for your feedback!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2021
Response from agm on Feb 15, 2021
Thank you for your wonderful feedback!

1/5 Terrible

Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2021
Response from agm on Feb 15, 2021
Hello, it looks like you did not enjoy your stay. Please call the hotel directly. I would love to hear about what we could of done better during your stay. Thank you for your helpful feedback.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Amenities
It was near everything including the mall and any eating place u need
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2021
Response from gm on Feb 1, 2021
Thank you and we appreciate your feedback.

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, room comfort
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Bed bugs
We ended up bringing bed bugs home from this stay.
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020
Response from Gene O on Jan 12, 2021
Heavens did you say anything to anyone while you were here? We take this very seriously and the room is closed off and checked and then we have a service come in to eradicate. I apologize, I have not heard of any room to have this issue. I am not sure what room you were in, and if you didn't say anything while you were here, I am not sure how we can help you at this point. Again I apologize for any inconvenience that was ours.

2/5 Poor

Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020
Response from Gene O on Jan 11, 2021
Good morning, I see we scored 4 out of 10 but I am not sure of what if any of this if you would like to explain I would be happy to discuss with you. Thank you and safe travels.

3/5 Okay

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
The front desk clerk wasn't warm and welcoming and the property had a lot of trash on the parking lot.
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020
Response from Gene O on Dec 28, 2020
Let me apologize being on the front desk is like being on stage and sometimes you catch us between acts. I will talk to that clerk we always want to have a smile and make sure our guests are happy and welcomed. I am sorry about the trash, being near a highway sometimes it can get away from us. Thank you for staying with us.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020
Response from gm on Dec 27, 2020
Thank you for staying with us. Safe travels.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Disliked: Cleanliness
Cold and dirty room
There was a previous guests dirty clothes in my closet, candy scattered on the floor and the heat didnt work in my room.
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020
Response from GM on Dec 25, 2020
First I apologize, I don't know how you were checked into a room that hadn't been inspected. I do believe we moved you to a clean room immediately and we do appreciate you bringing it to our attention as fast as you did. We appreciate you staying with us.

3/5 Okay

Disliked: Cleanliness
Hotel was not very clean at all. Under the circumstances, I expected more. Our room was near the interstate so the noise level was very loud.
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020
Response from GM on Dec 25, 2020
First I apologize I have not had many complaints since we had the windows replaced over the summer. I know that our place is dated and has the older color palette but you can rest assured that our property has all the precautions Hilton has requested during these crazy times. I would hope that you would see that our rooms a much cleaner than others. Thank you for your imput.

3/5 Okay

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Eh will not bother again.
Well the pictures and the actual site very. On the first floor there is a wall torn apart near the fitness center. We didnt use the pool due to covid restriction but it was filthy and ignored. The grab and go breakfast bags with warm water un ripe oranges and a meager cereal bar and tiny yogurt we very underwhelming. The staff act3d as if i was imposing on the time to check in and out.
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2020
Response from gm on Dec 25, 2020
Wow, you must have caught us on a bad day. Yes, we had issues with the pool and it is now fixed, although with very limited usage. This is an older building and we had a leak of which we had to cut in the wall and pull up the carpet to fix, but it is being repaired. Our grab and go is determined by the Governor of IL and Hilton to try and make them interesting and nourishing. Maybe coming back through you will notice some changes.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Disliked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
We will not stay here again, the hotel smells moldy probably because of the mold growing in the pool, hotels are hurting because of Covid!
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2020
Response from gm on Dec 27, 2020
I apologize you caught us just as we were working on some property issues. When you travel through here again, it will all be fixed and things should be

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
The stay went well. I just had this weird concern in when I arrived. The man at the front desk took my information down and tried to charge me. At first I thought it was for another room. But when I looked closer it was for $25. I was wondering what it was for.
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2020
Response from GM on Dec 25, 2020
The $25 is an incidental fee that is imposed on all guests to utilized if something is broken or stolen in the room It is returned once you check out and the room is checked.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Me time
It was very comfortable and relaxing
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2020
Response from gm on Dec 25, 2020
I appreciate you had a comfortable and relaxing stay, we hope you will stay with us again.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2020
Response from gm on Dec 27, 2020
Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your business, Happy Holidays

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice and relaxing comfort even just to get away. Like a lil piece of peace.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Very clean, great price, comfortable, a d great service!
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2020

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
excellent stay during covid 19 pandemic
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2020