Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Expedia doesn't care

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: It was clean and conveniently located.
Cons: Not sure.
Location: Acceptable.
I reserved a room that turned out to be designed for a handicapped person, with all the fixtures, closet rods, ironing board, desks, etc., being much too low for my comfort. I was not made aware, in advance that the room was so designed. I am 6'4", so the accommodations were unusually uncomfortable for me. I was offered another room, but the hotel was unable to change my room due to it being reserved and paid via Expedia. I contacted Customer Service, and it is now 21 days, and I have yet to receive a response. I paid for 3 days, but only stayed for 2, as the accommodations were just unacceptable. I spent my last night at a competing hotel for about the same price, without issue. Of course I did not reserve that room via Expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christina from Chicago

Not getting fined but had a fine stay!

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
Everyone in the hotel was super nice. However, when I first checked in they made me sign a paper saying that if I smoked in the room that I would be charged a fine. Which is ok since I'm not a smoker at all but when I got to my room it REEKED of cigarettes. I had to open the window, I started unpacking and found a hotel ashtray and matches in the bathroom, they had put my in a smoking room. I had to tell them that it was a smoking room as well because i'm not getting fined for something I did not do and I mean it smelled like a cigarette in there, which messed my allergies up so bad. The hotel was completely booked so it was not a big deal but heads up.. If you don't smoke, make sure you ask for a non smoking room otherwise you will smell like you went through a pack of Pall Malls. Everyone there was super nice and it was nice stay aside from that. The staff was super helpful with directions and info. I would stay here again..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad, but not great??

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Hotel staff were very nice! Room appearance was nice, but I could tell that someone had smoked in the room. Other than that it's not a bad place to stay for a night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bryan from Ft. Branch

Best to avoid

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
Upon entering the room, a moldy stench greated us from the air conditioning unit. We shut it off and left for dinner. When we returned, it had pretty well cleared out. The local even stations would not come in. I told the girl at the desk about the issues the next morning. I barely received an acknowledgement from her. Extremely expensive hotel for the quality!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2016 by Sara Friedrich, Hotel Management
We would like to apologize for the smell and the lack of acknowledgement from our desk staff about the problems in your room. We work very hard to make sure all air conditioner filters are clean and do not put off any foul smells in the room. We also make sure all TVs work properly before exiting the room for it to be rented. We are sorry these got passed us, and will make sure to let the staff know and refresh their memories to make sure they are doing these steps to prevent any problems. We hope you return to our property on your next visit to the area to allow us to show you this was a fluke. Thank you again for your time, Sara Friedrich General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Much Better Than I expected.

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Super 8's are on the bottom of my preferred hotels. However, this one is one of the better ones. I stay at budget hotels every week to save money. Last week I stayed at one at a Motel 6 at Dorsett and 270. It was roach infested with pet stains all over the floor. This week, it was so much better and only $30 more. What a huge difference!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2015 by Sara Friedrich, Hotel Management
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your room and your stay. We work very hard as a team to make sure all areas of the hotels are clean and comfortable for each and every guest. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Alton, IL area. Thank you again, Sara Friedrich General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Great staff, good location

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, good breakfast.
Cons: Add an elevator?
Location: Mac's Restaurant in downtown was a very nice place to eat.
We stayed for two nights, and all that was available at the time was a smoking room. It smelled terrible, but that's not the hotel's fault. Only other complaint was that there is no elevator in the building, which made hauling luggage to the third floor a bit challenging. We enjoyed our stay overall and didn't have any major complaints that would prevent us from staying there again. Newspapers were provided in the morning and continental breakfast was nice and fresh. Staff was friendly and attentive. Wi-Fi worked well for streaming Netflix. Would recommend when in Alton.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2015 by Sara Friedrich, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the staff, Super Start Breakfast, the complimentary newspapers in the mornings, and the wifi. We are in the process of installing an elevator in the building, we are just having a hard time with the architect in trying to figure out where it would be most convenient. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Super 8 in Alton, Illinois. Sara Friedrich
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dee

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2015 by Sara Friedrich, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate it very much.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2015 by Sara Friedrich, Hotel Management
THank you so much for your review. We appreciate it very much.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Neil from OKC

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel with a friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2015 by Sara Friedrich, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a great encounter with our staff. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Super 8 in Alton, IL. Sara Friedrich General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mark

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2015 by Sara Friedrich, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate it very much and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.