Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is under new ownership

Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels
We were not able to stay at this hotel because it was closed after we reserved it. It was very disappointing and disruptive to our trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent. Loved it all. Esp food

Posted Oct 14, 2014
A brilliant experience. Checking next deal there so can return
1 out of 5
by Stephen from Melbourne

Not 4 star

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels
I didn't stay, this isn't a 4 star hotel.I was disappointed from our experience at reception quality of room and had to buy wifi vouchers. Windows dirty furnishings out dated and dusty. I stayed an hour and checked out.
4 out of 5
by Glenn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Castle visit

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: The rooms were large. Plumbing worked well. Staff was great. There are lots of stairs, even if one is staying on the first floor.
Cons: The place needs a good cleaning, maintenance and updating. Landscaping is also needed.
Location: It was a perfect place to embark on a WB Yeats pilgrimage. All of the Sligo area is accessible and we did not have to fight for parking in Sligo town.
It was an interesting stay in one of the manor houses of Ireland. The Hotel is impressive, but can use some updating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Cool old castle!

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: History. Great venue for big wedding or anniversary party. Lovely grounds. Wish I had time for a horseback ride on the wonderful grounds.
Cons: My common & minor complaint about most Irish hotels...no face tissues, hair conditioner or body lotion in the rooms. Room lighting needs improvement.
It is a lovely old place. Staff was very helpful and fun to talk with. The room had a beautiful view of the grounds. Sadly, learned later from the newspaper that the property which has been in the family for centuries is up for sale. It's obvious that it is a maintenance nightmare but if you love history and antique homes.....you will understand and love this one. Had fun in the pub having a bit to eat when we arrived. Breakfast was great and the room was bright and opulent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique old castle!

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: uniqueness
Cons: updating cleaning up but I'm a designer
Location: outstanding
Unique old castle, needs some updating but that is part of the charm. The staff is incredible the food is great! The grounds are incredible like being in a movie!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Queen for a day.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: nohingt
Location: charming local village with friendly people
Bring your imagination and enjoy a day or two in a lovely pastoral setting.Be served a feast in the restaurant and retire to your royal bed chamber.
5 out of 5
by Fiona from Donegal

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels
such an incredible original building, food was lovely and the hotel staff were very attentive and friendly. we will definitely be staying again, highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels