Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Incredible, charming castle hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Charming, beautiful castle atmosphere.
I'd highly recommend staying here! What a lovely castle hotel. Beautiful tower, and setting. Great view. Out of the way, but still close to some restaurants and shops in town. My wife loves visiting castles, so she was thrilled to stay in one! The setting in the halls was great - such a nice touch in a castle hotel. Breakfast was delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

An experience not to be missed.

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Location and historic charm.
A really great and fun place to stay, the castle is close to Rothenburg ob der Tauber and easily accessible. The historic rooms are beautifully and comfortably done, with all the amenities you can ask for, and the restaurant was very good as well. The family who run the hotel are welcoming and very nice. There are stairs to deal with in getting to your room, though, so keep that in mind if that's an issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Spent the night in a 13th century castle

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The history...
Cons: There's nothing to improve.
Location: 10 km from Rothenburg ob der Tauber (6 miles), made it an easy trip to the medieval city. In Colmberg itself is a lovely Altstadt, with info center.
What a fun experience, to stay in the beautiful Burg Colmberg! The castle's rooms have been retrofitted for modern comfort, while retaining the ambiance of the castle. Staff was lovely and accommodating. We wandered the castle & grounds freely, enjoying a close-up look at history. The castle was built in the 13th century overlooking a wide swath of valley below. The night we stayed, it was quite cold outside, but the castle was cozy with a roaring fire in the fireplace in the main hall. The restaurant was very nice, food excellent, and we saw locals who drove up the mountain to dine there. In the morning there was a typical German breakfast spread which more than met our expectations. It was included in the very reasonable price of the room. Overall it was an outstanding experience and was one of our trip highlights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

Fantastic trip!

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Excellent stay with friendly and accommodating staff. The restaurant had excellent food. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Will recommend to friends!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, IL

What a find; we enjoyed our stay immensely.

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Rothenburg
A great castle hotel. We would stay here again in a minute.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX

Burg Colmburg

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: Location, set up, food, staff.
Cons: Breakfast was average but not a big deal.
This is our 2nd stay here and we will stay here again next year. This is our favorite hotel in Germany that is not named Hilton. The food was excellent, the staff is great, the scenery is spectacular and as always the rooms were great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Castle in Germany

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: Very homey and warm atmosphere. Friendly staff and great rooms with wonderful views over the countryside.Nice atmosphere for visiting Christmas market
Cons: Nothing !!
Location: Close to Rothenburg/Tauber and Ansbach , also Nurnberg with wonderful Christmas markets
Beautifully kept old castle in the Franconian country side close to Rothenburg/Tauber an enchanting small medieval town. Room was on the third floor with no elevator but stairs passed various wonderfully decorated alcoves and floors. Hotel has several room options and also has a very nice restaurant with exceptional food. Service was excellent and we were very happy with our short stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Appleton, WI

Castle ambiance

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Room was updated. Beautiful views from windows.
Cons: All was well. Antiques galore1
Location: As you would expect, top of a hill location. Good restaurant within, and a few local places down the hill in the city center.
Very old, typical small castle. Well kept, fun to walk around and discover. Hold tight to the hand rails, old stairs can be slippery/slopey. Well worth the visit. Beautiful vistas. Staff speaks English, my German "nicht sehr gut." Parking available at the schloss.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Fit for a king!

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Pros: The setting was beautiful and historic and the staff were very professional without exception.
Location: nearby Rothenburg ob der Tauber which is well worth a day trip
We were very pleasantly surprised by our stay at Burg Colmberg. We had wanted a hotel with old world charm but were not expecting such modern amenities in the rooms, too! The setting itself is lovely and the castle is fun to wander through as there are interesting public rooms to explore. From the moment we pulled up, the staff was very welcoming and helpful. Parking was unexpectedly easy and they insisted on helping us carry our luggage up to our rooms which overlooked the inner courtyard and fountain. We had dinner at the hotel and the food and service were great. I'd recommend a stop here for anyone car tripping through the area. We only booked it for one night which was a decision I regretted later!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Tahoe, USA

Spectacular scenery and close to Rhotenburg.

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Staff, food, ambiance
Cons: Coffee maker in the rooms
Location: Hotel is close to TRhotenburg and Nurnberg. Two beautiful medieval cities in Germany.
Great to wander through the old castle halls and explore. Hope they renovate the tower and rest of burg wall.