Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was simple, clean and good value for money

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Not much colours but it was simple, clean and good value for money.
3 out of 5
by Scott from Cambria, California

It's the little things.

Posted May 11, 2015 on Hotels
We booked this hotel for a two night stay in Cologne. The advertising was right:very close to the chocolate museum. The kitchenette was great, but the overall impression of the place was poor. The shower was clogged, so I had to pull smelly, slimy hair out of it to gethe it to drain. The drapes in the living room were hanging off the track with only a few connections to the hooks. The sheets were coarse and the towels small and thin. At checkout, we were 9 minutes over time and some guy just walked in and told us we had to leave. Wow. If only he gave that much attention to the shower drain. We won't come back to this one.
4 out of 5
by nicholas g from cardiff

hotel stay

Posted Apr 13, 2015 on Hotels
Shower curtain should be enclosure and kettle not working otherwise fine. But value for money.
2 out of 5
by STEFANOS from Thessaloniki, Greece

Basic, clean, comfortable bed, pretty central

Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels
Not a bad place if someone is on a short holiday, but very basic and without any services if one stays for business as I was. Very expensive for what the apartment was due to the Cologne Fare.
4 out of 5
by Kevin from Edinburgh

Compact apartment in serviced accommodation

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed in the Black/White apartment on the ground floor which is very compact. It was suitable for a couple but the 2 small towels (each) provided for the whole week was not enough to cope with. We bought our own towels. The service team (not on site) were very efficient to fix interrupted wifi service and were easy to contact. Great location near the Rhine and close to Heumarkt.
2 out of 5
by Terry from Atlanta

Cologne Christmas

Posted Dec 2, 2014 on Hotels
The apartment was not on good condition. Window shades wore torn and fell down. Bathroom radiator leaked. The bed was very uncomfortable. Could have stayed at a 4 star hotel for same price. Cleaning crew came into 2 hrs before checkout.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

non recommendable for biz

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels
small toilet, just 1 towel, not for biz. good for family.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A-partment

Posted Oct 7, 2014
The bed linen was too small for the bed and was very worn. The wifi did not work and the contact person did not respond to any emails. Someone entered the apartment whilst we were out and did not let us know. The apartment was not as the photos described it to be. Overall it was a good location but I would not recommend anyone to stay here. Very disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

What a disappointing Encounter!

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Quiet and peaceful environment. Near to Subway, walking distance, 3 stops to South Entrance of Koelmesse.
Cons: Provide clean bath towels, basic housekeeping to tidy, clean the apartment, especially the bathroom, if not every day but at least alternate days.
With the above average apartment rate charged per night, we expect a decent basic housekeeping and fresh bath towels on alternate days. Toilet entrance door too narrow, not even a proper Queen size BED at all! It is a SOFA Bed that you have to make your own bed every night. Kettle is not clean, white residue when collecting water from the apartment taps. They told us to close tight all apartment windows due to safety reason and YET provide you with only 1 garbage bag and expect us to store rubbish for the entire 7 nights and caused room to have a foul smell. The overall hygiene of apartment was unsatisfactory. No sign of apartment personnel in-charge. They gave you an Access Key code to pick up apartment keys from their designated Key box. I tried calling them for certain enquiries and assistance while there in their apartment, unfortunately, no one seemed willing to answer phone except answering machine that doesn’t speak English. Late 3pm check-in and early off you out from apartment by 11am. I being an Exhibitor attending the Cologne Fair for 8 days/7 nights, was disappointed with the apartment hygiene conditions and no attendant service.Description of apartment very different from what Expedia stated. Expedia did not mention a-partment provide Sofa Bed. Totally VAST mis-match from nice photos shown on Expedia website of a-partment in Cologne! We would like Expedia customer relation personnel to contact us to settle this undesirable stay in a-partment. Thank you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location - but hugely overpriced

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Just about everything - except the location
Location: Close to the Dom, the river, and the centre of town.
More fool me to book a room so late for Gamescom when 300,000 people are due to descent on Cologne. Of course all prices are ramped up over these few days, but this was ridiculous. This apartment is in a good location but it is very, very basic and small - two people are really, really cramped. We got a small bar of soap and a towel (no shower mat or anything further). So to be charged the price of a top hotel, and arrive to find a tiny, pretty shabby, apartment was a shock. Shower didn't work well. The room wasn't cleaned. Perhaps the rest of the year this apartment is cheap - in which case it is worth considering.