Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amelia Island, Florida

The pinnacle of old world luxury!

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
The Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg is truly an iconic old world luxury palace. From the ride up the long cobbled drive to the peak of the hill where the old "hunting lodge" of the former ruling class of Germany was built in 1711. This is no hunting lodge. It is a veritable palace and extraordinary in every sense of the word. I was literally in awe from the moment I saw it and throughout my stay. I could imagine this as the estate of the uber wealthy at one time akin to the Biltmore Palace. But fortunately, these days even a peasant like me can afford a room here. The room itself was not large, but was exquisitely appointed in the finest detail. There was a free minibar, which was a nice touch. But one of my favorite things was the toiletries from my favorite fragrance company, Penhaligon's in London. That was a beautiful little surprise. The staff were professional and polite. I walked around the town of Bensberg and enjoyed the architecture and gardens. I go to Cologne for business once per year and now I know that I will be fortunate enough to visit this hotel again in the future and explore further. I give this hotel my highest recommendation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Kurt Wagner General Manger
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Restaurant Vendome is supurb.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
I'm not easily wowed but I've got to say this hotel and the associated restaurant Vendome are amazing. I was on a business trip to Cologne and arrived a day early due to my schedule and spent a Sunday here. A run in the nearby forest, lunch at Vendome and an afternoon in the spa were all perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review of Grand Hotel Schloss Bensberg. We are delighted that your dining experience at our Gourmet Restaurant Vendome, as well as our Spa was to your fullest satisfaction. I am excited to share you Feedback with our Team. Thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Kurt Wagner General Manager
5 out of 5
by Salah from Kuwait

Royal treatment

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
Royal
5 out of 5
by Anil from Edinburgh

Friends wedding in Bensberg

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel with excellent restaurants and great staff - really impressive grounds and far reaching views
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we hope you have enjoyed the wedding of your friends. Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. we are looking Forward to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards Kurt Wagner General Manager
5 out of 5
by Nathan from Australia

Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
Schloss Bensberg would by far be the best hotel myself or my partner have ever stayed in. The staff there are so attentive and helpful with any request or questions you may have. We were able to check in a lot earlier - not only this but we got a room upgrade also. They had bell service to take our luggage up to our room and we were personally shown around the hotel by one of the lovely staff members. We were shown where we could eat, shop and even relax. Personally, I was sold as soon as I saw the place. I mean, It's a castle after all! The treatment we received upon arrival was sensational, and only improved my impression. We were taken up to our room by the same staff member who was simply amazing, showing us things in our room and making sure we had no concerns. The room was simply breathtaking. I have never seen a hotel room so beautiful. The view from the window was something else. In the distance you saw Köln in all its beauty. The bed was simply heavenly, it felt like you were sleeping on clouds it was that perfect! The shower was perfect in every way possible. There's a lovely pool with an amazing temperature for any weather. There's also a spa/hot tub for anyone to use. I cannot rave about this hotel enough, or recommend it highly enough. It was perfect in every way possible and we were very sad to have to leave. I hope that in the future we can return to this amazing place and enjoy it's beauty more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Althoff Schloss Bensberg. I am delighted to hear that your entire experience was outstanding. I look forward to sharing your kind words with the team and hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards Kurt Wagner General Manger
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent place to relax

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Hotel and staff were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is extremely comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2016 by Kurt Wagner, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind words. We are looking forwards to welcome you back very soon! Kind regards Kurt Wagner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Russia

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Large spacious numbers! Excellent personnel! If it arrived to Cologne, then there is no need for stop in the city center. You live on nature and the center can reach in 15 min.
4 out of 5
by Jonny

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Hellmuth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Tonya from Fort Wayne

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is amazing! The staff was wonderful. Very friendly and helpful. We have friends that live in the area. The hotel drove us in their car to visit our friends. They picked us up in style when we're were finished. First class service. The breakfast buffet was very good. We will definitely return.