Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
Spent one night. Very expensive and breakfast was good. No air conditioning for this price
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

No running water!

Posted Sep 16, 2016
I was given room 67 on the 7th floor (the lift only goes up to 5!) There was a nice little roof terrace but the water pressure up there is so poor that I had no running water in the morning. Not recommended!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for a short business trip.

Posted Feb 20, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was good for a short business trip, but I was given a very basic room on a low floor facing the back of the building despite having requested a nice room on an upper floor.
4 out of 5
by Not Provided from Amsterdam

Family trip to Cologne

Posted Dec 11, 2015 on Hotels
Nice place to stay for the family - big room and breakfast was good. 15 minute walk to Cathedral...car park right outside hotel.
4 out of 5
by Thomas from Amsterdam

Perfect for a city trip

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel was a good value and a short walk to all the sites in Köln. Indeed some of the furnishings are dated but that is sort of the point in this Antik hotel. The desk staff was also very helpful in giving directions and making recommendations on the Christmas Markets. The breakfast was very good and better than most continental breakfasts in Europe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aylesbury

Unique Comfortable Hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Although I booked via Expedia, rather than just giving me a run-of-the-house room - as is often the case - I was given room 67, which is the sole room on the top 7th floor, complete with its own roof terrace, with spectacular views over the city and cathedral. Comfortable and uniquely furnished rooms and a very pleasant staff. A good breakfast spread with a range of recommended restaurants along the neighbouring streets. A good location on the inner ring road, a 10-15 minute straight line walk from the main train station.
3 out of 5
by Alex from hull

Decent if you get a good price

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
Decent enough, shower was hot-cold-hot-cold-hot-cold and the room was too hot, opening the window meant lots of noise from outside. Staff were great, shame about the actual hotel, the pictures do it more justice than it deserves, tired carpets and lack of minibar (even though it said was included)
4 out of 5
by Ernest Han Fai from Hong Kong

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is very antique, beautiful and comfortable. My only problem is the pictures on the wall. Looking at a portrait while lying on your bed is a bit scary.
5 out of 5
by Jim from Chicago

Great Stay for a Reasonable Price

Posted Feb 19, 2015 on Hotels
Overall a great stay for a reasonable price during Carneval. The breakfast was very good and the vintage style of the hotel very cool. Location is also good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better than expected!

Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels
We had two rooms at this hotel and were very happy with the stay. Rooms were very decent size and one of them was decorated in a really beautiful way with lots of details and taste. The second room was a little disappointing when it comes to the decor but otherwise it was nice - quiet, clean and the beds in both rooms were just amazing! All of us got a good sleep. We were not very happy with he fact that one room had minibar and the other one didn't. Also the bathroom was much bigger in the "better" room. Basically for the same price we seemed to get two rooms of different standard. We didn't complain about this since it wasn't a deal breaker for us but definitely something worth mentioning. Breakfast was good and plentiful, everything tasted very good! Service was warm and attentive. Hotel is located in a nice area, easy 10min walk from the cathedral and has some restaurants and bars nearby. There's no on-site parking but there is parking garage close by. No free street parking nearby except on Sundays. Was about to rate 4/5 but remembered the high price we had to pay during Christmas market period so rated it down to three. Might be worth four too!