Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Philip

Convenient and Clean Hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is located on a quiet street with an easy 5 minute walk to the main train station and cathedral, making it an ideal location for getting to and from, but not being noisy. The room was a good size, clean and with suitable facilities and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom has a shower and no bath, with the sink in the main room rather than in the bathroom. The room was pleasant and comfortable, although not the most luxorious, but it represented good value for money and I would definitely stay there again. We visited in order to go to the Christmas markets, and it was an excellent location for that.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay at Buchholz Downtown Hotel.

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
We are a family of three adults and we really enjoyed our stay at the Buchholz Downtown Hotel. Staff were very helpful. Breakfast was great and the breakfast ladies were really helpful and sweet. Room for three was spacious and very clean. All attractions eg. Dome and art museums and theatre are within a short walking distance as is the main train station. The fabulous Christmas markets were also all within a short walking distance. I highly recommend this hotel and would surly stay there again if I re visit Cologne.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, England

Close to station and cathedral, yet really quiet

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: I liked the fact that it was not a huge hotel, but not so small that I felt obvious.
Cons: I can't think of anything
Location: As the hotel is centrally situated, everything is close by - transport, the river, Christmas market, cathedral, restaurants.
I only stayed at this hotel for one night, but I would definitely stay there again. Everybody who worked at the hotel and I spoke to was really friendly and helpful. The hotel was really close to the river, station and cathedral, yet really quiet. For a light sleeper this was a definite bonus. It was also a safe area for a single woman to walk around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Wonderful hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: The service, friendly & helpful staff; fresh appearance of rooms and hotel throughout.
Location: Near to railway station and riverfront. A short walk from the cathedral and many restaurants.
A short walk from the railway station, this hotel was a delight. Our room was clean and fresh with a lounge area as well as a generous sized bedroom and very modern bathroom. A pleasure to saty at.
5 out of 5
by Judith from St Helens

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel close to the station, river and the city.
4 out of 5
by Claire Anne from Auckland

Great value

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable,quaint place. Fantastic continental breakfast. Very pleasant and helpful host. Only problem was the church bells waking us at 7am
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorchester, MA, USA

Quiet hotel near Dom and Hauptbahnhof

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Location, breakfast buffet and wifi excellent.
Cons: Window shades/blinds could be improved to block out morning light.
Location: This is in central Cologne, all museums and attractions are close by.
This is a quiet friendly hotel near the Hauptbahnhof. The staff was helpful. Breakfast buffet was excellent.
5 out of 5
by Sepp from Exeter, California

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
From the moment we arrived everyone was very friendly and helpful. It is a Sam boutique type hotel, which is the type we love. We highly recommend!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
We had a great stay at the Buchholz Hotel! Not only was the hotel clean and well-kept, the staff went above and beyond in accommodating our needs (printing boarding passes/directions/calling cab service). The owners (Sascha and Carol) were quite pleasant and personable. The breakfast was, by far, fabulous! The food was fresh and plentiful. We felt very safe and secure at the Buchholz Hotel and would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Cologne!!
5 out of 5
by Macario from New York, NY

Great and amazing budget hotel in Cologne

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
Fast checkin The hotel manager /owner was very helpful and friendly. Great breakfast