Ratings based on 607 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Hotel close to everywhere

Posted May 19, 2017
I love the location. Close to main train station and Cathedral, 3 min. And also to the information and city tour buses. Reception crew very nice. Luggage "room". Good incl. breakfast. Small elevator. Good size single room with big desk. WLAN good. I only missed a phone in the room for incoming calls. Restaurants close by.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto, canada

Good location, friendly staff, needs updating

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff Great location Comfy bed Cons: Bad Smell passing thru kitchen area Room was small and dated (minus bathroom) Had to leave key at front desk when leaving Only one electrical outlet in room Hotel is dated and needs upgrading Walls were paper thin and could hear Neighbours and doors slam often Expedia pics were misleading, it's an older hotel and not as nice as the pics. Rooms have no character and lack overall comfort (minus bed) felt more like a nice dorm.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Frau Nunez, Hotel Management
Hello. Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you found our staff friendly and that the location was good for you. Some of the rooms in the hotel are renovated but sadly the other ones are not. We are working on it and we are trying to renovate them all as soon as possible. Hopefully next time you will find our hotel a bit better. Thank you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Hotel was close to the Dom, had all we needed

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Being travelers from the US, we understood the room would likely be small... we were correct... That said, the beds were comfortable, bathroom, while small, was remodeled nicely, good water pressure and hot water. Breakfast in the hotel every morning was wonderful... great coffee, breads were outstanding. We didn't "want" for anything and enjoyed the international experience. The front desk staff was great, taking time to discuss whatever we asked at any time. The hotel location is great! Cabs were available just a block away, so was the train station. The cathedral is just around the corner and doesn't disappoint. We really enjoyed the local restaurants... like Papa Joe’s Biersalon Klimperkasten, Alter Markt 50-52,Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia Germany 50667 was a favorite... the later evening music and activities were a lot of fun!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Frau Nunez, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent position next to the cathedral.

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything, from the foundation to roof.
Location: It is excellent!
It was the worst hotel in my life experience. Bed smell from in the hallway from the kitchen...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Mar 20, 2017
No lift to 4 th floor, broken flooring, poor bed, duvet etc. Worst hotel ever in my life unfortunately.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chepstow,wales

superb to stay to see cologne

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: very relaxed attitude of the hotel but not detracting from the friendly,efficient service of the staff.bed was very comfortable and room nice warmth.
Cons: maybe a bet.ter sign outside the main door
Location: all main sites in cologne are easily walked to from the hotel including the cathedral,the riverside where great restaurants serve yummy food
staff were great.room very comfortable and warm.breakfast great.best location to get to/ from railway station.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Great Location

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Great location to explore city. Rooms clean & Tidy. Staff very nice and helpful. Terrible smell around kitchen area & Hall. Hotel advertised as having access to a pool & sauna 100m away but when asked staff - they didn't know anything about it. They said nearest swimming pool was in Deutz. Please change your advertising regarding this!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, USA

Amazing location, small but comfortable room

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Plug in refrigerator. Area rugs near the beds. Lamps near beds.
Location: Downtown Cologne.
The location is the best part about this hotel, about 2 minutes' walk from the train station or cathedral. The room itself was fine and clean, but very cozy. The floors were laminate, which is a little cold on the feet in the morning. Beds and bedding were comfortable. Bathroom clean and well equipped with soft towels. We had an unfortunate room assignment just at the top of the stairs from the lobby, so we heard nighttime conversations of other people. I don't think this would be a problem in other rooms. No lamps near the beds (because of small amount of floor space), so reading at night was difficult.
4 out of 5
by Steve

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

FALSE PHOTOS for advertising

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
My friend and I took a day to do some shopping all day and have a girls night. We booked this hotel because of the proximity to the train station and the stores we wanted to visit. We also booked this hotel thinking we were booking the room that was advertised in the photo. IT DEFINITELY was NOT what we were expecting. The lobby looks like the photos, but NOT AT ALL what the "Double or twin room" is in the ad. Although the location is good, the room was outdated and smaller than the size of my kitchen. The only thing updated was the bathroom. The keys to the room are still keys and not a modern card entry. The walls/door are thin and you can hear the other people coming in the hallway. I didn't think about the church being so close to the hotel, but it is right out the window and completely forgot that the bells will be ringing for what seems like every hour. We didn't change rooms as we accepted the fact that you get what you pay for and that we were only going to be in the room for a short amount of time to sleep. If you want to stay here, I recommend paying extra for a nicer room or staying somewhere else.