Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Nice, clean hotel. Definitely recommend!

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, location, staff and comfort.
Location: Cathedral, shopping and good restaurants.
This hotel was nice and clean and my husband and I really enjoyed our stay. The staff was helpful and friendly, and the location of the hotel is perfect. It is close to the cathedral, and close to shopping and good restaurants. Definitely recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Good hotel in inner city

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Hotel is located at the Alter Markt which is a nice picturesque square in the heart of the old city of Cologne with plenty of patios where food and drinks are served. Hotel is small but appears to have been updated fairly recently, the same applied to our room which was on the top floor and had a sloped ceiling. All in all nicely appointed, the only thing we found missing was a coffee maker. Bathroom smelled like a hint of stale smoke which seems fitting in a city (continent?) where it seems a large part of the population still smokes (I can't remember when I've last seen patio tables with ashtrays on it :) ). The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was good and quite assorted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redondo Beach, CA

Great location- walking distance to everything!!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Location!!! Metro nearby but walking is a must in this town!!
Cons: When we checked in, the front desk girl gave us a map, and a corresponding map with points of interest and was told to cross reference.
Location: The Cathedral is amazing and a great gelato and hot chocolate shop near by called Gelato 4D. Amazing thick, rich hot chocolate!!!
Staff was good, some more helpful than others, but all very courteous. The room is small but well spaced out for a quaint and cozy feel in the plaza. Beautiful views from the tall and large windows in the room!! Great location to everything in Cologne and 2-3 blocks to the magnificent Cologne Cathedral.
3 out of 5
by Timothy

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
small and cramped rooms. pillows were horrid.
5 out of 5
by Susan

cologne.

Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
Great shower, couldnt get heat on in room to go over 24 but didn't ask either.
4 out of 5
by Dong Hyun

Good hotel for lrice

Posted Feb 4, 2017 on Hotels
It is good for its price. If you would stay in Köln central area, I would recommend it.
5 out of 5
by Patrick

We highly recommend it

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
More than what we expected
4 out of 5
by Jacqueline

Wonderful location

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
Fabulous location, near station, concert halls, museums, Cathedral, great bars and restaurants. Interesting area to explore on foot. Hotel room very small - we couldn't both move around room at same time - but fine as we were out most of the time. Front desk staff unfriendly and unhelpful, but other staff fine. Would visit again
5 out of 5
by Dean

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
Great Price Great Location Great Place
5 out of 5
by Michael

Close to the cathedral and very reasonable

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
Prompt and attentive staff, everyone I dealt with had no problem with English. The room was great with a large bathroom, although the water pressure really dropped after only a minute or two in the shower, every time (this seemed to happen at almost all our hotels in Europe) which was frustrating when I was trying to enjoy my shower. The only real negative mark was when we visited the cafe, the waitress did not apparently get half our order (despite saying "yes" after we ordered each item... I didn't want to make her repeat it back to me like some monkey) and was unbelievably slow besides (like.... half an hour to get a Belgian waffle and some tea). She then brought us the check for the table next to us. I mean, I suppose she was just busy, and it was Christmas Eve (which is a big thing in Germany especially as I understand) so she was probably just stressed, but it was a little trying for us too. Food was not half-bad, though.