Ratings based on 291 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk, England

contemporary hotel Perfect fit Xmss markets

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Comfortable, clean contemporary hotel very well placed to visit cathedral and Christmas markets - all walkable. Staff friendly and helpful. About 30 drive from airport. Nice separate shower cubicle and good size bath. My 93 year old Mother found the amenities very convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brussels

Nice hotel in reat location

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Breakfast and location.
Cons: Properly advertise the size of the beds as full.
Location: Great location. Near Christmas markets.
The hotel was very nice overall. The staff at check in were great. The hotel was clean and quiet. The rooms were above average in size; however, the bed is listed as a "king" size bed. It was not, even by European standards. It was not even a queen size bed. It was a full size bed. The hotel staff was nice when I pointed out this issue; however, they had no way to fix it. So, the beds are smaller than expected. That is why they didn't get a "5" rating, because I picked this hotel because they advertised this room to have a king sized bed...not correct. The breakfast was amazing! The location was perfect to walk to the many Christmas markets! Parking was very limited for the hotel. There is a medium sized garage next to the hotel which was ok.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Just off the centre

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Customer service, administration, integrity, attention to detail.
I chose to stay here based on the location. Which turned out to be fine for my needs. The hotel service was poor. Queued for 10 minutes to check in and 10 minutes to check out. Lifts of which there were 3 were insufficient for the number of people staying, more extreme waiting. Had an issue with breakfast being part of my booking but took more time for me to produce confirmation of it included in my rate. The bedroom wasn't very clean. Don't look under the bed, and there were two items (pen cap and drink bottle lid) left under the desk from a previous occupant. Very poor water pressure to fill the bath. My shower gel and shampoo were removed during the stay from the bathroom and nobody was able to explain why. I would not recommend this hotel at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nz

10 min to station and plenty of shops Cafes around

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: 8 to 10 mins to the cathedral and station. Easy walk, but better to get cab if you have luggage. Lots of good shopping and cafes around.
Room was fine, air con never seemed to work properly, room got very hot. Bed very comfortable and plenty of space in room to pack and unpack. Staff were pleasant, but vaguely uninterested. Seemed to be a business persons hotel.having said that we were comfortable and had no problems other than above.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel in a great location

Posted Oct 4, 2016
We booked this hotel as it showed it was very central. It was a great base with all attractions within easy walking distance. Lovely large rooms, great blackout curtains and no noise so you get a great nights sleep. We did not use any of the other facilities so I cannot comment. We were visiting Cologne for the marathon and this hotel was ideal for the start and finish. Overall a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Overall fantastic

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Really zero complaints. Room is comfortable, bar is great. Cabs regularly stop out front. Splurge for the breakfast included. Otherwise it's 29euro
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Excellent large, modern hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: comfortable and nicely designed
Location: Near main shopping street and restaurants. About 7 min walk to the Cathedral
Nothing more I can say really. Rooms are modern and nicely designed. Great bathrooms. Breakfast is pricey but very lavish.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Close to shops, Clean rooms and friendlz staff
Location: Right near the Cathedral, shopping and restaurants.
This hotel was located perfectly near all of the shopping and the Cathedral. Everything was within walking distance. I would definitely recommend this hotel .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well located hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2016
In the midst of an amazing number of restaurants and shopping. Great internet. Easy walk to museums, Dom and train.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Very quiet room

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: The room was very quiet. The elevators have see-through glass you can see the Koln cathedral every time I ride in it. Wifi was very fast.
Cons: The desk chair was not very upscale. There were two fabric chairs. They are hard to move to the desk.
Location: The hotel is in a very convenient location with walking distance to the cathedral and Rhine river.
When I travel, I put the room quietness as my first priority. In the end, if I cannot get a good night's sleep, nothing else can make it up. This hotel was very quiet. I stayed in 6th floor. There was hardly any noise. I could not hear the traffic. I could not even hear the nearby cathedral bells. One night, there was a motion sensor clicking sound for every 20 seconds. I had to call the front desk who took care of it immediately.